Can't understand why no creative mid in this generation

• Can't understand why no creative mid in this generation

Please don't tell me about Jermaine Hue because he is in his thirties ana have maybe one more year or two to go.

I can't understand how we haven't produced a creative mid in this generation. Kingston was the hotbed for creative mid well until Tappa but Jamaica usually produce some decent midfielder who could change a game, make a blind pass or a dummy or two. Now over the pass 10 years we fail to create one youngster who has been able to step up in this postion. From Keith Kelly to Akeem Priestly and all the others, Dada need to step up or he will also be seen in this light.

What are we doing wrong. Is it at the youth level? Is it the club level? are they not giving the players this kind of responsiblity? or is it the national team?
    Is it all of the above? or is it that modern football is saying we don't need this as most of the top teams including spain don't really use such a player?

I still think some creativity is needed as is not only big kick game is direct football.

"Kingston was the hotbed for creative mid "

Really?

yes Lazie, from Allan Skill Cole, To Lennie Hyde, to Freddie Butler, Paul Newman to name a few. Most Kingston team at the time used a center mid with good close skills, and many of the kingston midfielder used that style.

Lets see if i can play this game. Prior to Tappa? Hector Wright was what? Winston Anglin was what? Noah Sterling was what? Reno had one, cannot remember his name .... the question is, how many of them could dweet pon the int'l scene?

Hotbed for creative mid ... dude it too early to be under the influence.

Noah was maybe the best creative mid. Hector was a very good midfielder but I wouldn't class him as a creative mid. There we so many others I could call out of kingston. Anglin was also a very good midfielder on offense and defense but not a really a creative mid.

I am talking a midfielder who specialises in changing games. By the way there maybe others but Kingston produced a lot more of this kind of player than anywhere else I can think of.

Noah was maybe the best creative mid. Hector was a very good midfielder but I wouldn't class him as a creative mid. There we so many others I could call out of kingston. Anglin was also a very good midfielder on offense and defense but not a really a creative mid.

I am talking a midfielder who specialises in changing games. By the way there maybe others but Kingston produced a lot more of this kind of player than anywhere else I can think of.
            Can they deliver on the int'l scene?

Lazie you can also add Andy Williams to the list. The fact is we still have a few decent midfielders but we have nobody who can change a game, whether it is Cayman we playing or Brazil.

Maybe the federation, coaches and technical committee/scouts should look at how your youth players are being developed. Are those in charge of developing your youth players being too regimented, and thereby stifling the natural flair and creativity of these young players???....as I think is the case with our players.
                I remember a few years ago, I was watching a documentary on Brazilian football, and there was a young player trying to enter one of the top academies. He pretty much dominated the practice games with his dribbling, passing and scoring, outplaying others 2 and 3 years older than him, but the coaches and technical team didn't select him, they invited him back either a year or two later, because the feeling is that if you subject players too early to the more regimented and technical aspects of the game it stifles their natural flair and creativity.

Was Kingston really "the hotbed for creative mid" or were the players from Kingston given more exposure and opportunity represent Jamaica???

my little time playing in Jamaica, I find more kingston players were more concerned about their touch or it maybe because they played more scrimage ball game than most. I played a few summers in a few places in Kingston and they seemed more interesting in changing the game or slowing down the game at times than most other places I have seen.

I would like others opinion.

I am not sure why but it would be interesting to hear others opinion.

"SCRIMMAGE" football!!! When I lived in Jamaica there was a lot of that being played, and playing in that small area forced you to be creative, think fast, move constantly and quickly with & without the "ball", and make quick passes. The problem was that those in charge couldn't effectively transfer those positives to the "big" game.
                    How much scrimmage is still played in Jamaica, and how much is it encouraged???

yeah man currently my 6 and 5 year olds are playing and they are doing good but the TD want me to put my sons for additional training, he invited me to take a look but I don't think I am going to include them in that program but rather teach them a few step over, dummies and turns myself for now because I want them to understand that, not just kick, pass and run around players and score.

Is KELLY the answer ?

FOOTBALL should be the winner when the slick-moving Boys' Town host a free-flowing Sporting Central Academy (SCA) in one of five games in the Red Stripe Premier League today.

Defending champion Portmore United and Waterhouse will usher in the first Monday Night Football spectacle of the season at the Ferdie Neita Park; hence, they won't be in action.

In other games, Arnett Gardens play Highgate; Cavalier entertain Savannah FC; Humble Lion tackle Montego Bay; and Tivoli Gardens host Harbour View.

SCA have started well with wins over Humble Lion and Highgate and are joint leaders with six points. Boys' Town, who defeated Cavalier before crashing to Waterhouse 1-3, are fifth on three points.

Sporting, who have promised much of over the seasons with their style of football, especially when Jevaughn Watson was pulling the strings and now having found an equally impressive playmaker in the rejuvenated Keith Kelly, will have to be contained if the Red Brigades intend to emerge victorious.

Kelly, along with LeVaughn Williams — who should be eyeing a national call-up — on the right flank; Kadian Wynter and Francois Swaby are the main attackers for the Clarendon team.

But they will be severely tested at Collie Smith Drive by a slick-moving Boys' Town aggregation with the likes of Romeo Parkes, Michael Campbell, Xavean Virgo, Robert Scarlett, Marvin Morgan, and Daemion Benjamin.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz26f8zTtIU

We have them !

Box-to-box midfielder

Attacking midfielder

Two possible positions for an attacking midfielder are indicated in the blue oval.
                          An attacking midfielder is any midfielder who is stationed in a more advanced midfield position to assist goalscoring.[3] The attacking midfielder is an influential position and requires the player to possess good technical abilities, an eye for a pass, running and dribbling skills.

Attacking midfielders are generally required to have:
                          Excellent technical ability, including close control, passing, shooting and dribbling.
                          Creativity, to anticipate passing opportunities for their fellow forwards.
                          Off-the-ball intelligence, to anticipate passes from the midfield which create opportunities to score or to pass on to a forward.
                          An understanding of the winger role. Due to tactical changes, central attacking midfielders are sometimes played on the wing, to accommodate other strikers or forwards.
                          A secondary ability is finishing technique and composure.

Playing in a very advanced central midfield role just behind the strikers is sometimes known as "playing in the hole", although this term can also be used to describe a deep lying forward, traditionally he is called a Number 10 or Trequartista [trekwarˈtista]. This specialist midfielder's main role is to act as the offensive pivot of the team, to create goal-scoring opportunities for his team mates, and perhaps to score himself. This position is also known as playmaker.[2]

The attacking midfielder position is also referred to in Brazilian Portuguese as "meia" or "meia-atacante" ("attacking midfielder" in English). And also as "enganche" ("connection" or "connector" in english, for his job linking the midfield to the forwards) or "armador" ("playmaker" in english). However, in English football, the terms "playmaker" or "enganche" overlap somewhat with "attacking midfielder", but the two types of midfielders are not necessarily the same. Several playmakers operate in a more central midfield role, alternating between attacking and playing in the midfield.

The term "box-to-box" is often used to refer to the most dynamic all-round/complete midfielders, who provide both defensive and attacking prowess.[4] The most versatile of players, they typically possess exceptional stamina and are usually skilled at tackling, passing, shooting and also good at keeping possession.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder

The either or iether arguement shows our immaturity,ever heard of Yaya toure,Cesc,Alonso,Sneijder,Hazard,Lampard ,Silva ,Nasri ,Pirlo,Inesta ..The man u man (naah call im name )the foolishness that the midfield will be ceeded is just that...foolishness...even Ferraud tackles
                          Last edited by Sir X; September 16, 2012, 04:28 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Box to Box player is different. Rudi is more of a Box to Box player.

WE have no midfielder who can actually make a blind pass consistently. Who can change a game from left to right in an instance. Send defender the wrong way. We have a few who can run at people and may pass it but our game is too straight forward and need some disguise at time.

Your opinion, Tappa had one on in the Gold Cup that changed a game,Wendell believed & Laza believed in Hue ,why Tappa refuses to have at least two in his set up is beyound me ,ok Dadda a sort out im contract ,so why doesnt he call another to try and mold them if he has no faith in hue ?

The excuses wont fly this time around,we have them, he (Tappa) needs to answer and if its the same as yours he will have to pay a heavy penalty after the wagon has crashed.

Make no mistake about it we cannot advance in the next round launching bombs from the 18.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.