Dane Richards last night ... started a response but figured I was being emotional and went to bed. Woke up this morning feeling the same way. No Dane Richards didn't cause us to lose the game. However, whats his purpose on the field? If its just to run, then him need fi join Racers Track Club. Di man cyaan pass? Di man cyaan cross a ball fi save him life. Seeing him play fi the Red Bulls caused me to pull out mi hair ... and all now him nuh improve.
Saw a post from Mosiah on
Every once in a while he will play a game that makes you think he has turned the corner and then he will just go back to being a sprinter who is technically poor. Will be interesting to see how he does in the English Championship given that he can't cross well.
I was fuming after seeing him, on three consecutive occasions, try to cross the ball when an opponent was standing directly in front of him. I see that a lot in the NPL, didn't care to see it at this level.
Don't know he has been doing for the Red Bulls, but I would have preferred if he tried running or dribbling pass the defence and then try squaring the ball.
No, he didn't cause us to lose, but he sure did little to help us get a point.
Fast but not good at defending...and (Gamma) yes, as I said in the past gives away (does not challenge for balls played to his head)!!!
...btw - Stonigut: I saw Luton Shelton and surprisingly Ryan Johnson do that self same thing of not challenging for high balls...repeatedly!
Any half fool-fool coach/trainer explains and then emphasises that high balls must be attacked. On way is getting to the position where the ball will fall 'on you'! If nothing else the player must strive to position self exactly where the ball can hit/land on/be played before it reaches opponent!!!
It was appalling to note the number of times our forwards 'gave' away high balls!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI thought that was Ryan Johnson's strength as he seemed to have done nothing but that, esp. in the first match, i.e. fight for headers.
Luton Shelton's and Dane Richard's doing same is par for the course - They are consistently poor/a liability in this area."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
why you choose to pick out Dane? That could have been anyone of our players last night. At least he was picking up a few ball wide and try to run with it. Before Dane came on you could actually count the amount of ball our forwards won last night.
There were so many balls that our players were not under pressure but they gave the ball away easily. Where was the winger before Dane to dribble or cross?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postwhy you choose to pick out Dane? That could have been anyone of our players last night. At least he was picking up a few ball wide and try to run with it. Before Dane came on you could actually count the amount of ball our forwards won last night.
There were so many balls that our players were not under pressure but they gave the ball away easily. Where was the winger before Dane to dribble or cross?
Just asking!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
the only people I think had a good game was Mapp, Nusgby and the Keeper. Before Dane came on, nobody was going wide to even win a ball in the attacking third so go figure.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthe only people I think had a good game was Mapp, Nusgby and the Keeper. Before Dane came on, nobody was going wide to even win a ball in the attacking third so go figure.
...however, Dane's lack of good movement and passing plus failure to win high balls will quickly come to bite him whenever he moves to the club in England. ...there is a thing about rising to level of competence and then quickly being discarded!!!
Dane needs now more than ever to raise his level of play in those particular areas!!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
We will see when he moves there. For now at least he moved into spaces to collect the ball lastnight. Somethings some of our other forwards could learn too. Like most of our players lastnight he gave away the balls too.
I don't see how we can be taking it out on him alone when he only played 20 or so minutes.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.