Sterling not in the England team vs Ukraine
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
Originally posted by X View PostCorrect me if i am wrong.
England head coach Roy Hodgson denied that he deliberately picked one of the Premier League’s most promising players, to make sure that they did not get lured away by another country.
Liverpool winger Raheem Sterling was called into the Three Lions squad, following the withdrawal of Arsenal’s Theo Walcott through illness.
Sterling, 17, was born in Kingston, Jamaica and the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Reggae [COLOR=blue !important]Boyz[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] national team manager Theodore Whitmore recently declared that he would like the teenager to play for the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Caribbean [COLOR=blue !important]island[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].
However, Hodgson insisted that Sterling was chosen due to his form and not because of any other factor.
"Raheem might have Jamaican roots but he has been born and brought up in England and has got the ability to play for the England national team," said Hodgson.
"I'd like to think he would prefer that and would choose us over Jamaica but if that is his desire, we would have to accept that.
"I've not invited him here because I'm worried about overtures from other countries but because he is a potential England player of the near future, not distant future."
Realising that Sterling’s selection has created plenty of media attention for the youngster, Hodgson commented: "When you bring in a young player who has only burst on to the scene in the last couple of games, I'm causing headlines to be written. I understand and take that responsibility.
"I've spoken to Brendan Rodgers and explained the thinking behind him coming in. I'll also make it clear to Raheem.
"He will be pretty lucky to get close to the field because there were plenty of players who were chosen in front of him.
"I can only hope he takes it in the right way. He mustn't think he's become part of the set-up and has made it.”
He added: "He has to try, next time, to make sure he is one of the original 23."The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
That's just messing around with a 17 year old's head. His mother and handlers need to step in. He has a more realistic chance of playing in Jamaica's starting team or even being on the bench than England.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
"Raheem might have Jamaican roots but he has been born and brought up in England
is that true? hodgson doesn't even know the facts about the young man he is calling up! whereas every jamaican probably knows that he is from maverley.
what of zavon hines, btw?
mek them gwaan. It is very hard for a youth like Sterling to come and play for Ja. when at a club like Liverpool all the coaches must be telling him England, he is with the England under 19. Even if he loves Jamaica it is, what it is. Big up to the youth but if it every happen I will say more credit to him but I am not looking and was never looking to see him in any Jamaican shirt anytime soon.
On that note big up to Nosworthy who from day one said only one team he wanted to play for and that is Jamaica, not England.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
When Sterling chooses Jamaica, liverpool will be behind him.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postnot gonna happen
Victor Moses:-
Victor Moses' agent says the Wigan winger is finally ready to commit his international future to Nigeria.
Moses is part of the Super Eagles squad to face Rwanda in a qualifier for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations.
The 21-year-old was born in Nigeria but moved to the UK when he was 11 and played for England at youth level.
He snubbed a call-up to the Super Eagles squad back in November despite being given international clearance by Fifa to play for the land of his birth.
Continue reading the main story
“Now he knows it's time for the next generation and wants to be a part of that”
Tony Finnigan
Victor Moses' agent
But he has now decided to shelve his ambitions of playing for England and help Nigeria make it to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.
"He's been thinking about it a lot over the last few months but Victor knows 100% that this is what he wants to do," his agent Tony Finnigan told the BBC.
"He's probably been looking at the England team and thinking 'What's the chances I'm going to play in the next World Cup?'
"He's also been getting a few phone calls from people back home and feels he is ready to make the right choice."
The Super Eagles play in Kigali on 29 February in the first leg of their tie with Rwanda's Amavubi, with the winner going through to the last round of qualifying for South Africa 2013 .
"It's going to be a big time for Nigerian football because they didn't qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time in a long while and they have always produced so many talented players.
"Now he knows it's time for the next generation to come through and Victor wants to be a part of that."
Moses is currently still free to choose which country to play for but an appearance in a competitive match for Nigeria would make him ineligible for England.
Born in Kaduna, he represented England at U16, U17, U19 and U21, levels after coming through the youth system at Crystal Palace.
Emanuel Frimpong:-
Arsenal midfielder Emmanuel Frimpong has opted to play his international football for Ghnana rather than England according to the GFA president.
Frimpong was rumoured to have met with Ghana Football Association president Kwesi Nyantaki on Monday night in a London hotel to discuss the possibility of playing for his native country.
On Tuesday Frimpong tweeted "I have Done My Part For the Love of The country Now Lets Wait and See The Outcome……". And also earlier this year Frimpong was quoted as saying "If Ghana call me, I will ride my own bicycle from England to Ghana."
Frimpong recently made a very impressive debut for Arsenal, despite a silly sending off, and his decision to choose to play for Ghana is likely disappoint the senior England staff. Frimpong has represented England at youth level since he was 16 and was recently called up to Stuart Pearce's latest England Under-21 squad.
Frimpong or Moses ever rejected an English call?
Ghana at the moment is a riding high so one would say that is not such a hard choice. It is not like he is getting a call from England anytime soon.
If Moses was at a big club in the last two years I bet it would have been harder for him. Why did he not go when first called last year?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Your train of thought is ridiculous ,,if,,if,,,if,,,they are , they are , they are.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostFrimpong or Moses ever rejected an English call?
Ghana at the moment is a riding high so one would say that is not such a hard choice. It is not like he is getting a call from England anytime soon.
If Moses was at a big club in the last two years I bet it would have been harder for him. Why did he not go when first called last year?
Dunny you know in many cases English agents/managers/coaches and media going to pressure "the next best English balla" that is why Roy force and called Sterling. You see how Brandon Rodgers trying to shield him by not making him play for the under 21? What do you think Rodgers would tell the youth if he plays for Jamaica? knowing how he has been on the youth back since summer?
At 16 there was no way to pressure Sterling.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostDunny you know in many cases English agents/managers/coaches and media going to pressure "the next best English balla" that is why Roy force and called Sterling. You see how Brandon Rodgers trying to shield him by not making him play for the under 21? What do you think Rodgers would tell the youth if he plays for Jamaica? knowing how he has been on the youth back since summer?
At 16 there was no way to pressure Sterling.
dunny having invited him, what more do you think the JFF can do to entice him to play for the reggae boyz, or is it a question of where he feels he should place his loyalty as this is not about club but about country, prode patriotism..all of that.