V-League Discussion

• V-League Discussion

Needed to start a thread for this so I can participate when I have the time.

Thanks, Stoni!

Ok let me xplain this for you straight up nominal GDP per capita in usd, Vietnam is about $1.35k per person, Ja is $5.5k pp, with Ppp which considers cost of living on the ground in the country. Vietnam is roughly $3.3k and Ja is est $9.0k, bottom line rough averaging the two for balance Ja is 3.5 times Vietnam.

Alright my stance on the vliga is just based on my sense of fundamental numbers, my opinion, u do the math, here is the rough stuff.
    1. Vliga expected to get big money from tv rights, in reality they got a contract for $288k usd per year which it seems they are having issues with.
    2. Vliga hass 14 teams with wicked competition to get excellent foreign players, thus driving costs through the roof, some Top players getting on average over 200k USD, now each team must maintain five fully stocked teams From u15 to the top side some 450 player minimum estimated.
    3. The VPN is shooting for $1mill profit in 2013 however the main place they were hoping to really get money was the tv rights which they got only 288k per year, summing don't compute there.
    4. The president of the league said, and I quote" I am not an economist, I am not sure how many teams currently make a profit of $500k usd which is what is required to be a part of the league, but the main tv contract don't pay half of that for the whole league.???

Now back to country fundamentals most leagues and teams are not turning a profit in countries that have a per capita Of 20 times Vietnam with matching populations so how does Vliga survive if tv rights not paying out the big ones and your country population has little disposable income to pay for a ticket to a football match! Do the math and see what kind of demand per venue is necessary at what kind of price if the stands are on average 50% full which would be great across the board then look at the expense of operation, and each club is required to have a stadium of at least 10k which in itself is probably insufficient to drive a revenue stream for. 14 teams to cover the cost of operation plus the cost of importing players at the prices they are bringing them in for. I could build a model for this and I am sure you could too, it would say, un-sust-tain-able, yep. It probably could work as you say if per capita income double every 2-3 years but as you know that is some wicked growth.

Finally a little Latin for you since I cannot sleep,

Don Unus, Quo Vadis? Quae ad tu hoc? Tu caedo ego! Et tu Don Unus, are longa, vita brevity usurpo satis usus! Itaque de facto liga V est non vita. Arid terminus, "parturient montes nascetur ridiculus mus"
    Difficilis terra narro, veni, vidi, vici!

The clubs are funded based on the Chelsea/ManCity model.
    Benefactors with unlimited deep pockets...giant sucking hole!

Ha Noi T & T
    Sponsor's interests - Telecommunication...

SHB Da Nang
    Sponsor's interests - Saigon Hanoi Commercial Joint Stock Bank

Thanh Hoa
    Sponsor's interests - Telecommunication and electronics

Dong Thap
    Sponsor's interests - Commercial interests include rubber, plastics...Saigon Navibank
    Sponsor's interests - Banking services, financial services, money transfers...

Hoang Anh
    The only Vietamese club with a training program for young players in cooperation with Arsenal

Sponsor's interests - Commercial interest: rubber, exploiting and processing mineral, exploiting and processing wood, hotels, real estate, hydro-power...

Ninh Binh
    Sponsor's interests - Cement...

Hoa Phat Hanoi
    Sponsor's interests - Construction & developers, Steel, Drilling

Vicem Haiphong
    Sponsor's interests - Cement

etc.

---

It also appeared to me that there was unlying government input of captial (sponsorship money + ). ...as I said, giant sucking hole! ...but alive and kicking!

An article that might be of interest:
    http://www.lookatvietnam.com/2011/01...sionalism.html
    Last edited by Karl; September 11, 2012, 12:41 PM.

Average attendance in the V-League is 10,000. How does that compare to Jamaica? Should it be compared to Jamaica?

Not sure what point you are trying to make with this per capita thing and the unsustainability of the V-League. (Btw, it is now called the Super League.)

Have you considered the unsustainability of the RSPL?

Stoni, to compare the local league with the V-League is...well, sort of ludicrous. One has ridiculous money, one does not. From salaries, to stadia, to academies, to playing fields and surfaces, to transportation...one is a pro league, the other one is still semi-pro, at best.

Listen I am not comparing the super league to Rspl at all, not even close. I am just saying that the current Structure is not sustainable unless somebody is deeply subsidizing these teams. The average ticket price s between $1.50 and $5.00 usd from what I can see.

Run those numbers, let's take the mid point of say $3.00 with 10k attendance and 19 home matches, that is $600k revenue, each team has three foreigners averaging 150 to 250k, let's say it's 150 k, that is 450k leaving 150 k for all other expenses, you think 150k going to run a 10 k stadium for 20 matches, let's say another 50% of revenue ones from concessions aNd merchandizing for that team, it is sill a untenable situation to build a team that can even break even in such a maket woukd be a houdini type trick, an ncredible feat.

My main point in talking about Ja is that our average per capita is thre times Vietnam and we struggle to get people to pay for football matches. How does Vietnam make money from a population that is scratching out a meager existence to say the least.

that is the question you need to answer. maybe it could be as simple as the cost of living is lower and so there might be more disposable income..coupled with, they are more likely to spend on going to watch a football game...

I am not sure your numbers are correct.

Actually the is something to that as GDP adjusted for col narrows the gap from 4 times to 3 times Ja to Vietnam. But that still leaves them at 1/3 Ja per capita income. Bottom line on this is it is financed by deep pockets and actually literally enforced by the govt as all companies making more than a certain profit level are required to adopt a team, yes that is how it go! That works but we couldn't do that in Jamaica, that would be like digicel, sandals, grace Kennedy, super clubs all being the primary sponsor for a team.

Tell me which one, all numbers are pulled from articles from Vietnam sources, price of tickets, player salaries with me making a more conservative call on player salary of the foreigners in the league. It is just a model we can tweak the numbers to get closer to what you say is reality but bottom line any company sending such a high % of revenue on a few players salaries is tough to keep up in long run.

does the private sector sponsor teams in other leagues in various ways? fly emirates for example....

maybe i am missing what you are saying. granted it is a significantly larger population but factoring the GDP in, there is still a very good average attendance at games.

This is not voluntary sponsorship, this is if your company make x mount of profit then you need to sponsor a team.

The advantage Vietnam does have over Ja is the population size so at 100 million assuming the middle lass is at least 20% which is high for many poor countries that mean you have a good size population with relatively good income to come to the games. In Ja if our middle class is 20 %. I don't know what that number is just a number we are looking at 600k people a big difference in terms of supporting a 10 -14 team league? Now back in the day when I was in Ja it was definitely much more of a working man crowd at games, but in order to make a league sustainable you need to get the people with high disposable income into the stands and mek them feel nice, I don't think we have quite got there in Ja as yet. From that perspective super league may be doing that, but the prices are still very low suggesting that it needs that in order to keep the crowd count high. Again without the deep pockets on the sideline not sustainable how it is presently constructed with lots of foreign players with nice size salaries. Just an opinion.