• Indiscipline players and the RSPL

Highgate goalie red-carded for hurling bottle at crowd

Published: Monday | September 10, 2012 0 Comments

Highate United's goalkeeper Maurice Evans - File

Team suffers in 2-0 loss against Sporting Central
    Richard Bryan, Gleaner Writer
    Sporting Central Academy shrugged off a lame first-half display to take advantage of a casualty-ridden Highgate to win 2-0 in their Red Stripe Premier League encounter at Brancourt yesterday.
    It was Sporting's second straight win, but one in which they mainly owe their two second-half goals by Levaughn Williams and Francois Swaby to an unfortunate red card to the visitors' goalkeeper, Maurice Evans. The Clarendon team now has six points
    The game was uneventful until the closing minutes of the first half when Evans decided to respond erratically in kind to a bottle thrown at him. Rather than calling for the referee's attention, he fetched the bottle from the ground, before taking aim and hurling it at the crowd behind him.
    Fortunately, no spectator seemed to have been hurt, but his action overshadowed the provocation he had been receiving from early in the game.
    Punished for violent display
    The game came to a halt, but Evans was punished by referee Cardella Samuels for violent display. André Thomas was sacrificed to let in another goalkeeper Dane Henry.
    The one-man disadvantage was to take its toll in the second half as coach Calvin Lewis was forced into making an early substitution for the injured Carlos Barrett.
    Lewis, in his post-match interview, did not hesitate to point out where his team lost the game.
    "Spectators need to control their behaviour," he said.
    "Our plan was to contain them in the first half and make a run at them in the second. I think we were doing that well, but when you get a red card at half-time, it's going to affect the team and it affected us."
    Williams, who had scored in Sporting's 2-1 away win against parishioners Humble Lion the previous week, began their second-half surge by hitting powerfully into the side netting. However, he made no mistake in the 60th minute when Dale Watson's pass found him on the edge of the six-yard area. He showed a lot of skill to dismiss Highgate's captain Anthowe Dawkins before toe-punching into the far corner for a 1-0 lead.
    To their credit, Highgate resisted for long periods and even came close to equalising when Severo Murphy hit a grounder from six yards just inches from the left upright.
    But the St Mary team's resistance was broken by the pace of Sporting's late attacking substitute, Dwight Dunk. Holes cropped up everywhere and Sporting could easily have scored three late goals. Williams again hit the side netting and was also denied at close range by Henry. However, Swaby later found it easy to move the ball around three players before slotting into an empty net for his and Sporting's second goal.

Sporting Central Academy 2
    Levaughn Williams 60th
    Francois Swaby 90th
    Highgate 0

Reid loses cool

Published: Monday | September 10, 2012 0 Comments

Portmore United's Andrew Christie (left) eludes a challenge from Cavalier's Norman Bailey (right) during their team's Red Stripe Premier League match yesterday at Stadium East, as Portmore's captain Adrian Reid looks on. Cavalier came from behind to win 2-1. - Ian Allen/Photographer

National player hits woman with stone after ejection
    Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter
    Portmore United captain Adrian Reid's ejection from his team's game against Cavalier in the 90th minute at Stadium East yesterday evening was just a prelude to the drama that would unfold.
    Reid was shown a straight red card in the 90th minute for violent conduct after elbowing Cavalier's Nigel Reid.
    Portmore, the defending Red Stripe Premier League champions, slumped to their second defeat in as many matches after Cavalier came from behind to defeat them 2-1, to secure their first points in the country's top flight after a 16-year absence.
    Adoah Nickles gave Portmore the lead in the 55th minute, but Cavalier rallied through goals from Girvan Brown (74th) and a beauty from Claudious Blackburn (79th).
    Subject of jeers
    Reid, a member of the national pool, was the subject of jeers from the crowd on his way to his locker room, but apparently that of one particular female patron was too much. The woman, who was in the stands, could be heard shouting: "You don't have any behaviour for a captain; you are not to behave like that. You are not setting any example, you don't have no behaviour."
    What happened next caught everyone off guard, as Reid aborted his walk to the changing room and picked up a stone which he hurled, hitting the woman in her chest.
    "I took my eyes off him and by time I turned I saw his head come back around and, the next thing I know, he threw the stone and hit me," Suzette Martin shared.
    When asked about the incident after the match, Portmore's assistant coach, Geoffrey Hewitt, pointed out that the issue would be looked into.
    "Honestly I did not see what took place, but we will discuss it afterwards," Hewitt said. "It is really bad to go down to 10 players when you are under pressure and I really didn't expect that from him, if he did what is being claimed," he added.
    Portmore United team manager was seen gathering all the players and staff, as a closed meeting was called to which Martin was invited.
    When quizzed, one of four police officers who had converged in the vicinity pointed out that a formal report was not made, but they are aware of the incident and were told that it is being settled between the team and Martin.
    When the parties emerged from the room, Hewitt refused to comment on what was discussed, but Martin provided The Gleaner with an update.
    "Him say him nuh lick mi, him nuh do nutten; a lot of people saw it and he said he did not hit me, he did not throw any stone," Martin related. "As for the team, they said that he should apologise on behalf of the team and Portmore management team."
    She added: "I accepted the apology because yu dun know a youth and yu can't stifle dem. I have my son, too, who is the same age, and he and my son are good, good friends.
    "He wants to go to some stress management class; that is my opinion," she added.

Yesterday's Results

Cavalier 2 Portmore 1
    Savannah 1 H View 0
    Waterhouse 3 B Town 0
    Arnett 1 H Lion 0
    MoBay 0 Tivoli 1
    Sporting 2 Highgate 0

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

Since when our players aren't able to cope with jeers from home fans. This is widely accepted in any sport, you play away you get abused verbally.

What if they had to play in Central America during the 98 world cup qualifying campaign?

He should get a significant ban for his behaviour. He has been doing that elbow/slap people in the faace thing for years. As a matter of fact, quite a few of our local defenders seem to think it is a requirement to "bad up a boy and make him know him place"
        Last edited by Me; September 10, 2012, 01:50 PM.

indiscipline and LIE!!!!!

A very strong message need to sent to players and team officials that indiscipline of that nature will not be tolerated. Many of our players are now being sought out from overseas club where these type of acts are a no-no. Jamaican players are always targetted by the opposition because we are known to be indisciplined and don't keep our emotions in check. I was pleased to see Rudy Austin keeping a lid on his emotions after the number of fouls that Bekkerman was putting on him. Two of those fouls against him led to goals. A message needs to be sent. A 1 year ban each.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015