• JA v USA ...and from the other side!

Jamaica setback raises serious concerns for USA

By Paul Kennedy Saturday, Sept. 8, 2012

The USA needed only 38 seconds to get down to business at The Office, but Clint Dempsey's goal, the fastest U.S. goal ever scored in World Cup qualifying history, raised false hope that Jurgen Klinsmann's depleted team could get a result against Jamaica.

The USA had no answer for Rodolph Austin, the best player on the field, and the 2-1 loss was inevitable. The result snapped the USA's 18-game unbeaten streak against Jamaica, and its manner also raised serious concerns about what lies ahead in Concacaf, where the USA's ability to get results on the road has been the key to its success in World Cup qualifying going back more than 20 years.

DEPLETED LINEUP. Not only were stars Landon Donovan and Michael Bradley unavailable, but veteran Steve Cherundolo, who earned his first cap against Jamaica way back in 1999, was a late scratch. (Also out was injured left back Edgar Castillo.)

The loss of Donovan and Bradley meant that the closest thing to a creative force in the U.S. lineup was Herculez Gomez, who was responsible for the U.S. goal. He evaded Adrian Mariappa at the corner of the goal area and had two shots on goal blocked before the ball bounced to Dempsey in front of goal with keeper Dwayne Miller out of position.

Donovan has not played in almost three months, but the chance he received was so easy that he probably would not have missed even if he had not played in three years. He pulled the trigger on a few other opportunities later in the game but otherwise wasn't yet sharp enough to help out much in his role as the third attacker underneath Gomez and Jozy Altidore.

But such were Klinsmann's lack of attacking options, or his lack of faith in the options he did have, that Dempsey was forced to play the entire 90 months.

Michael Parkhurst, a central defender by trade, has played some on the outside at FC Nordsjaelland in recent years and did an OK job at right back in place of the injured Cherundolo, but the situation begged for Timmy Chandler to return to the fold. Wishful thinking?

OVERRUN IN MIDFIELD. Klinsmann has placed tons of emphasis on fitness, but Jamaica beat the USA at his own game.

Despite employing three holding midfielders -- Kyle Beckerman, Jermaine Jones and Maurice Edu -- the USA could not Austin in midfield, and twice the Reggae Boyz converted on free kicks.

First, Beckerman fouled Austin, whose free kick deflected off Beckerman and wrong-footed keeper Brad Friedel to even the score, and then the recent Leeds United signing from Norway was dragged down again as he ran through midfield, setting the stage for Luke Shelton to beat Tim Howard with a brilliant free kick that he bent over the wall.

But the late charge that has been the hallmark of so many U.S. games on the road in Concacaf qualifying never materialized. Even when it was dominated on the road, the USA has almost always been good for one or two flurries.

That burst never came on Friday -- and the most worrying thing is that it never looked like coming either.

NO MLS PRESENCE. The USA looked in trouble when Beckerman, a Klinsmann favorite, left the game before the hour mark.

Of note, Beckerman's exit left the USA without a single MLS player on the field in a FIFA international match for the first time since the league's launch in 1996.

Brek Shea came on 13 minutes later to restore an MLS presence to the U.S. XI, but Klinsmann's inability to find help from the domestic league in a series that would require him to dig deep into his player pool is telling of the challenge that lies ahead,

Jamaica, of course, does not have that problem. MLS can take heart from the fact that the winning team finished the game with six MLS players on the field.

Source: SoccerAmerica.com

Poor US Midfield play costly

Poor U.S. midfield play costly
    by Paul Kennedy, September 8th, 2012 2:26AM

[JAMAICA-USA REPORT CARD] How much the USA depends on Michael Bradley was evident by its inability to take control of its World Cup 2014 qualifier against Jamaica without him in midfield. Poor play by the three starters playing in his role doomed the USA in its 2-1 loss. Soccer America's Paul Kennedy grades the U.S. players ...

Starters
    5 Tim Howard (Everton) 80/0
    Beaten twice on free kicks, the first a low drive by Rodolph Austin that deflected off Beckerman and wrong-footed him and the second on a golazo from Luke Shelton. Was lucky not to be seriously hurt when he raced out the area and tangled with Shelton minutes before the go-ahead goal.

5 Michael Parkhurst (FC Nordsjaelland/DEN) 14/0
    Not as enterprising as Steve Cherundolo, whom he replaced in the starting lineup, but steady nonetheless.

5 Clarence Goodson (Brondby/DEN) 32/3
    Started in place of longtime Carlos Bocanegra and had the job of bringing the ball out of the back but never looked entirely comfortable.

5 Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG) 7/0
    In first start in a World Cup qualifier had a decent game. Made one great play to poke the ball away with Ryan Johnson lurking behind him.

4 Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim/GER)
    The USA needed another attacking element but didn't get it from Johnson who has been so effective coming out of the back other times this year. Lacked of possession in midfield didn't help.

4 Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04/GER) 8/0
    Played with his usual abandon, got cautioned and looked to be on the verge of blowing his top about the 80-minute mark. Injured himself on awkward challenge and was off the field on the restart that resulted in Rodolph Austin earning the free kick that Luton Shelton converted for the winning goal.

3 Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake) 23/1
    Fouled Austin on play that led to free kick that deflected off his ankle for the first Jamaica. Couldn't keep up in midfield and was subbed out after only 57 minutes.

4 Maurice Edu (Stoke City/ENG) 39/1
    Through ball sprung Gomez in the early seconds on play that Dempsey finished off for U.S. goal. But reckless challenge resulted in foul that led to free kick Shelton put away.

5 Clint Dempsey (Tottenham/ENG) 88/28
    Give him credit: worked hard and played the entire 90 minutes despite his three-month layoff while his transfer from Fulham was negotiated. Goal after 38 seconds was the fastest ever by an American in World Cup qualifying.

4 Jozy Altidore (AZ/NED) 50/13
    Hardly saw the ball during his 70 minutes on the field. Like Johnson, suffered because of the midfield's inability to maintain possession.

5 Herculez Gomez (Santos/MEX) 15/4
    Great work earned first goal. Beat Adrian Mariappa in the goal area and had first shot with right foot deflected back to him by keeper Dwayne Miller. Then put second shot with left foot on target but it was blocked by Nyron Nosworthy.

Starters
    4 Danny Williams (Hoffenheim/GER) 7/0
    Provided more physical presence than Beckerman did after coming on.

4 Brek Shea (FC Dallas) 14/0
    Brought some energy and provided a few bursts down left wing but could not sustain effort.

3 Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna/AUT) 6/0
    Not a factor, like and for the same reasons as Altidore, the player he replaced.

(1-low; 5=average; 10=high.)

Last edited by Karl; September 8, 2012, 12:13 PM. Reason: Addition of title

What a horrible report!

Who was keeping, Friedel or Howard?

Klinsmann: 'They were hungrier and more determined'

September 8th, 2012 2:41AM

[REACTION: Jamaica-USA] Coach Jurgen Klinsmann says the reasons for the USA's 2-1 loss to Jamaica are simple. The Reggae Boyz were hungrier and more determined. Forget tactics. Conceding two free kicks just outside the area to a team dangerous on free kicks was the USA's downfall. For what Klinsmann and his players had to say after the game ...

U.S. coach JURGEN KLINSMANN
        On the match overall:
        “A couple of things went wrong. Having that lead maybe gave players the feeling they can play the complicated way. I told them at halftime this is not the way it works. You’ve got to keep things simple on the field. Every time we played simple passing and combined, we created chances. In between those moments we just made things far too complicated. Then we give away free kicks in an area where we knew the Jamaican team has their strength in set pieces. After that equalizer, they rose to the occasion, they had a tremendous amount of energy and they gave everything they had and at the end of the day they deserved that win. They were hungrier and more determined and that’s how they came off the field as the winning team. We have to fix it now. We have to fix it back in Columbus and I think it’s clear to the players that in certain moments you just need to be a little bit smarter.”

On what the U.S. can take away from the loss:
        “In the moment of a defeat you learn a lot. You probably learn more when you get beaten than when you win games. So, we learned a lot. We take that with us to Columbus, certain things that we did wrong tonight we will avoid on Tuesday and you’ve got to continue to build. The next game is always the most difficult one. We expected a very difficult game, we were aware of the Jamaican team, we respected them and we have to take it the way it is now. There are not only good moments like there were in Mexico and Italy, but now there are more difficult moments and so you’ve got to adjust to it and the good thing about the situation now is that we can repair things in four days.”

On whether there will be changes made heading into Tuesday’s rematch:
        “Obviously, we’re going to analyze things and see on the tape how things went. When you have a little more distance you can see things a little bit better than you can on the sideline. The key to that game was really that we made things far too complicated in the first half. We allowed them to come back into the game. Instead of keeping the ball and moving it around simply, we gave them opportunities and opportunities to get free kicks and they scored off of a free kick in the first half and the second half. I think the team has the opportunity on Tuesday to fix it.”

On potential roster moves for the next match:
        “We have a big enough roster to discuss certain things within the coaching staff and if we’re going to make changes, we will make changes. That’s not the point. Overall we have to give Jamaica a compliment at how they rose to the occasion. They were hungry and so determined. They wanted it so badly. They were very physical and we had problems with that. There is a lot to take from the game even if the result for us is a negative one.”

On playing again on Tuesday in Columbus:
        “A return match within four days is something that everyone is used to. You play in Europe, there you play games every four or five days. It’s no big deal. We travel back to Columbus and we have another match and it starts 0-0 on Tuesday night and we will try everything to turn it around.”

On leaving more veteran players off the roster and out of the lineup:
        “The guys that stepped on the field are in charge. They are responsible to give everything they have. They are responsible for the outcome. They have to match the Jamaican team and overmatch them in a certain way. I don’t complain about players that are not here because there are reasons why they’re not here. Michael [Bradley] is injured, obviously. We take it the way it is. We have a good group here that is able to beat Jamaica and we were just making too many mistakes. It is what it is. Now we will prepare properly for the return match and try to get our points there.”

On not having Steve Cherundolo or Carlos Bocanegra dress for the match:
        “We knew yesterday that Steve wasn’t 100 percent and we didn’t want to take risks. We both agreed that it was smarter to bring Michael Parkhurst on to start. On Carlos, he had some problems to get in a rhythm and there were some transfer things and we had a very good experience in Mexico with Geoff Cameron in the middle and Maurice Edu in the middle and Clarence for weeks has been playing consistent in Europe. They are ahead of him in that moment. That was the decision basically, very simple.”

On the pressure to perform on Tuesday:
        “Pressure is always there in World Cup qualifiers which is a wonderful thing because it’s important. We have no problem with that so we know we have to bounce back and prove everybody wrong in Columbus.”

On footing the blame for Friday’s loss:
        “You can blame me, no problem. There was no overconfidence. There was excitement coming out of Mexico City, but we expected a very difficult match tonight. We watched Jamaica a couple times on tape, we had scouts come down here. They have a good side. They were physical and prepared and hungry. They got back in the game with a free kick and they won the game with another free kick. You don’t even have to talk about tactics. It has nothing to do with whether you play a 4-4-2 or a 4-3-3, you lost the game because of two free kicks and that’s what you have to accept and you’ve got to turn it around in a couple of days.”

U.S. forward HERCULEZ GOMEZ
        On the match:
        “We were happy that we went up early on. I thought the tempo was controlled and then we started losing a little bit of the midfield. The conditions didn’t help us. We lacked creativity and gave up bad fouls. When you do that, it’s not a good sign and bad things can happen and they did.”

On the U.S. trying to score the equalizer:
        “We needed to start taking advantage of the lack of width that we had in the first half. Maybe occupy some of those spaces on the outside, more 1-v-1 duels, try to combine things we couldn’t do because we were playing sloppy in the first half. We threw numbers forward, but I thought we did a better job of occupying those spaces and getting guys involved. It was just too little, too late.”

On the quick turnaround:
        “I wish we could play them tomorrow. It’s good that we get to play them on Tuesday and we’re going to go from there. We let one slip today and we’re chomping at the bit to get our opportunity again.”

U.S. midfielder CLINT DEMPSEY
        On his quick goal and the rest of the match:
        “We were moving the ball well and got the ball wide and then I think it was a deflection that came to me right in front of the goal. It was an ideal start, but it was frustrating because we struggled on set pieces. We gave away too many free kicks around the box and they punished us for it. It’s always difficult when you have these qualifiers away from home, but you’ve got to make sure you take advantage of your home games, and now we’ve got a game against them again so hopefully we can give them some payback.”

On the quick trip back to the U.S. for Tuesday’s rematch:
        “It’s always good to try to bounce back. We’ve got to get a win. It hurt us not getting any points tonight. We’ll get this taste out of our mouths because it’s not a good feeling.”

On what the U.S. needs to do to improve on Tuesday:
        “The pitch will be better so it’ll move a little bit quicker. Tonight it felt like we were almost fighting with the ball, it kept bouncing up. It’ll be good to get back to normality using Nike balls on the pitches we play on, I think we can show our strengths. It makes for a difficult game when you come down here and the ball bounces up and bobbles the way it does. Both teams have to deal with it and I’m not making excuses, but I don’t think it makes for the best football being played for the fans to watch.”

U.S. goalkeeper TIM HOWARD
        On the quick start to the match:
        “The first passing sequence really seemed to hurt them and that was always going to be the key to this game and to our success. We got away from that a little bit, but in the beginning they found it difficult to cope with that.”

On Jamaica’s two goals:
        “I think we gave away too many fouls in really dangerous areas. At this level, if you do that you’re going to get punished. We gave them six or seven, granted one was a deflection and the other one more times than not he probably puts it over or puts it wide but he got it right. When you give away free kicks in dangerous spots, that’s what you risk.”

On a quick turnaround for the second match on Tuesday:
        “It’s good. It’s not a lot of time to dwell on a loss. We didn’t play well tonight. The game on Tuesday has more significance than ever because we need to get back into rhythm and a positive mind frame. We have to come away with three points, that’s a necessity now.”

Jamaican rematch is massive

By Ridge Mahoney Saturday, Sept. 8, 2012

In the wake of that disappointing 2-1 loss to Jamaica Friday night, a very good friend of mine repeated the phrase, "If they win Tuesday, all will be fine" several times.

This might apply to the qualification process, since a victory in the Jamaica rematch would give both teams seven points and a share of first place in the group. The USA would then qualify with sufficient points in its last two games regardless of other results.

But it doesn't apply to the team itself, as seldom in the past two decades has an American team looked so confused and error-prone in a CONCACAF qualifier.

(This reference deliberately excludes the run-up to the 1990 World Cup, which included an amazingly stagnant 0-0 tie with El Salvador at the St. Louis Soccer Park in the penultimate game of the final round. That one still takes the cake.)

"The Office," Jamaica's national stadium, isn't a pleasant place to do business even if a visitor is at full strength, which the Americans certainly weren't. The late scratch of right back Steve Cherundolo deprived the Americans of one of their most experienced players, and though Michael Parkhurst did a credible job in his place, a team already missing Landon Donovan, Michael Bradley and Carlos Bocanegra could have used a steady head on the field regardless of his position. A little wide play out of the back would have cleared up some of the congestion.

Simply put, the Americans played poorly after they shockingly took the lead on a Clint Dempsey goal after just 36 seconds. Clogging the middle with three holding mids isn't a terrible tactic, IF those three players can move with and without the ball while also shutting down attacks.

The triumvirate of Maurice Edu, Jermaine Jones and Kyle Beckerman has played together enough to expect cohesion and communication on both sides of the ball, but only seldom did one of them get wide enough to stretch the Jamaicans, and neither outside back seemed confident enough to work the flank. They couldn't win balls with double-teams and committed fouls in relatively straightforward situations.

If Jurgen Klinsmann expected Jamaica to attack through the center of the field, he was correct, but implementing the means to thwart that strategy failed. The speedy Dane Richards stayed on the bench, and Omar Cummings and Darren Mattocks made only late cameo appearances, and still the Americans were scrambling most of the time.

Jermaine Taylor, one of four MLS players to start for Jamaica, captained the team while marshaling his midfield mates Jevaughn Watson, Rodolph Austin and Jason Morrison. With brazen runs and quick flicks they rendered their American counterparts nearly invisible, and they feasted on numerous errors, many of them unforced, and twice exploited free kicks to score.

The first free kick driven low by Austin glanced off the inside right ankle of Beckerman, one of several players in the defensive wall who jumped. Luton Sheldon curved the second one over the ball and off the inside of the post.

The run-up to the rematch is sure to trigger countless suggestions for changes in personnel, tactics and formation. Mindset will be just as important, In these desperate situations, the Americans usually respond well yet Jamaica's victory has exponentially raised its spirits. Game two will be a test of will for both teams.

Before, Jamaicans may have hoped they can advance to the Hexagonal, but now they believe. "Dare to be Massive" is a Crew marketing slogan, and in its stadium the Americans must do just that.

SoccerAmerica.com

Thought our goals were excellent ones.
            It appeared Shelton's was by far the better.

Aside: Being greedy - Hey! It is not now about going to the World Cup Finals but attending (been there done that) and creating waves (time to do this)! - I am looking for a far more dominating performance in Ohio! - Greater fluency on passing and movement and 'setting-up' bredrin on goal!

Aah! My take on the press conference was on point, as usual!

If you listen to Klinsmann, you would think the freekicks just happened, so-suh-suh! The Americans fouled us when Austin was ready to fire, on several occasions. Can they stop that in Columbus? Will they allow him to get his shots off then?!? It could spell death!

They got back in the game with a free kick and they won the game with another free kick. You don’t even have to talk about tactics. It has nothing to do with whether you play a 4-4-2 or a 4-3-3, you lost the game because of two free kicks and that’s what you have to accept and you’ve got to turn it around in a couple of days.

how did he explain their goal?

I guess quality play from his players resulted in their goal. 9 times out of 8, the ref would have blown against Gomez (?) for that tackle against Mariappa in the area.

Fact is, the ref allowed little trips on players right through the match. But no one knew his style 38 seconds in!

The formica dread lucky he did no get a red card for the many fouls on Rudi Austin.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I heard the commentators saying that if the goal scored by Shelton was done by a Brazilian or Argentinean, it would make news worldwide. The goal was simply superb, and this is coming from a Shelton "hayter".
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl that point on us using fitness as a weapon in midfield is great thinking back on the point I was making recently about playing a lot and effectiveness. Well our midfield had Austin and Morrison both regular first 11 starters that were nonstop involved, Watson less so on this point as he is more of a sub in the Houston lineup, I personally would replace Watson in ja line up he is not Being very effective is creating goals, scoring goals and seems to hold the ball too long.

I heard the commentators saying that if the goal scored by Shelton was done by a Brazilian or Argentinean, it would make news worldwide. The goal was simply superb, and this is coming from a Shelton "hayter".
                          The commentator was not just any commentator, it was Robbie Earle. You could hear in his voice a sense of pride when he was talking about the Jamaican players and team...