We won last night because we SAID we could!

• We won last night because we SAID we could!

Yes, we have probably said that on other occasions, but I can't remember any other time when the coach and players spoke the way we did this time around. We were not afraid to think it, and we were not afraid to say it out loud. Every interview given by Tappa, and by Burrell, the message was hammered in - we can beat the US and the time is now!

Looking back, I think we have always been a little shy to say it. How are you going to do it if you can't say it!? Eventually, the jitters when you first say it will give way to confidence, and you will begin to say it with meaning, with conviction.

For some strange reason, I don't think there was any panic in the Office last night when the Americans scored in the first minute. Better then than the last!

Thanks, Tappa, for showing us how to do it!

agreed !!

there was an air of confidence about winning this game, that was not felt before. A spin off from the Olympics vibes ?
    when the USA scored, I knew they would come back. Actually, it was the ideal moment for them to score so early, as it gave us time to get back. Unlike the last time that they scored in the last minute to draw 1-1....

Yes! We came out to be a part of history. And chuss mi, with bleachers costing a whopping $1500, it shows people sacrificed to be a part of history.

Listen, let's not overplay this. At the end of it all goals win games and to let the us score that goal at 38 seconds was exactly the discipline issue that we always talk about, our historic tendency against this side is that we are not as disciplined as they are, they are not as skilled as we are or as fast, however when two sides are overall roughly equal the one with the least mistakes wins. We made the first mistake and then sored two goals off free kicks, a very rare thing for us, besides that. Never came close to really scoring, that was the same on both sides really.

We must develop a more disciplined approach for the full 90 minutes, start to finish, at the end of the day the score could have been 1-0 a loss that would have been defined by one lapse in defensive cohesion.

If we could get in a proper cross that would help also...

You don't take good freekicks if you don't believe. This is is the Reggae Boyz. The last time we took freekicks that looked so good, one Jermaine Hue was on the field, ad we were playing against some eastern Caribbean minnow!

So, yes, I understand what you are saying and agree to some degree, but let's not diss the freekicks and what it took to do them!

And further, let's understand this, if the Americans are going to foul you every time you get into scoring positions, then you got to do what you got to do! I bet they don't foul our players in similar positions on the 11th! Let's not apologise for scoring two freekicks! They got a gift too! Another ref could have blown for a foul against Mariappa!

Agree not dissing the free kicks they were excellent,can't complain there at all, but still I would take breaking down the defense with skill and speed and those chances over free kicks, not yesterday of course, that was excellent.

that is where I differ from you Stoni. You take the win how you can. Free kick is a big part of the game and at the end of it, it is just the goals that really count. While I believe in breaking down defense, putting the free kick in, is just as important. You could have the ball for 90 and don't score or break down the defense.

I agree with Stoni. Not that we won't take the freekicks, but how many times yuh going to score freekicks against American goalkeepers, that's the first thing. Second thing, Stoni and I would like to see our football buildups rise to the quality where you can finish a 15 pass move with a good shot on goal.

You said, "While I believe in breaking down defense, putting the free kick in, is just as important." I agree, but how much of the first part did you see in the game? That's our point!

Please understand what we are saying before you respond with something completely different from what we said.

Thanks!

Please understand what we are saying before you respond with something completely different from what we said.

Thanks!
                    Dats an occupational hazard

Yes! We came out to be a part of history. And chuss mi, with bleachers costing a whopping $1500, it shows people sacrificed to be a part of history.
                      Don't take this the wrong way, and a win "is a win" but it disturbs me that we didn't score from open play especially because so many promising attacks should have developed from our dominant midfield play. That should be cause for concern. Our wing play was woeful...but as I said "a win is a win" mi wi tek i

I agree completely! Yes, we are happy to score freekicks but we are concerned about the creation of goal-scoring opportunities from open play. And there some occasions when we did not pounce on some goal opportunities to finish off the Yanks!

sigh

Also, we had two closed-door sessions leading up to this game, not even media was welcome. Tappa meant business!

Build up is good but not every game it is going to work into. Only teams like Spain and Mexico can do it consistently. Jamaica will never be able to do it consistently against all the top team they play so we have to try and win at all cost which includes free kicks.

The fact is if we didn't score any free kick we wouldn't have scored at all regardless of how many touches we made.