• mi proud an' mi chess swell suh til

anedda jamaica 50 present!!!

my family and i were at stadium last night to be a part of history and my 2 boys felt the required awe of the occasion.

anecdote: likkle gamma started school in jamaica this week. during summer school i asked the coach when will be tryouts for the team. he looked at me with some derision and said we do not have tryouts, if the child is good enough he will be invited. so how and when is this determined, i asked and he said, we watch them in PE over time.

Well he had PE on thursday and when i went to pick him up i could not find him....searching searching until i went to the football field there he was. coach saw him in PE and "invited" him one time although he did not have his cleats......

another proud moment in the gamma household

Yuh tink yuh can juss walk on di pitch at Hillel juss suh ?!

:-)

Stadium did CORK.. mi frighten ! Back to school alone coulda put a wrench in dat works...

yuh gat jokes ... ...

Good... Good luck to him.

thanks sass.

it is going to be far more competitive than it was previously so we'll see ...

Good for the youth...so how much yu give the coach? Just asking....

enough

Him promise to be the best ball boy and chief motivator. LOL

Congrats star a star. Isn't that a wierd way to determine a team though? Suppose your son didn't shine in PE?

Great! ...and GREAT!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      Congrats star a star. Isn't that a wierd way to determine a team though? Suppose your son didn't shine in PE?
                      if he cant shine inna PE where else him going to shine ?

Hahahahaahaa!!!!

Good luck Gamma. I see apossible Reggae Boy on the horizon.

Personally I think tryouts pressure the child. Let the natural talent reveal itself.

True! The boy has PE every week. That's how the coach will see the talent.

Indeed, I remember scoring two goals during a PE session back in the day. Next thing, and to the surprise of those who did not witness my sterling PE performance, I was selected (invited?) to Munro's big side for a tournament in Frome, while only in 3rd form. Okay, so I never actually played in the tournament...so what?!?

Big up, PE!!!

coach should use both method. Sometimes there is a kid who don't have the confidence or parents don't want him or her to play and if is a new transfer he may not go to tryouts.

I remember my brother having PE and after they play Ketchy shubby cricket and my brother hit Titchfield best pace bowler for six. He said I bet you couldn't do it again, by now the coach and everybody was watching and my brother did it again. He then became the open batsman for Titchfield in one lunchtime session. He was a club star at 14 but not in Port Antonio at the time so the coach never know him.