• Forward - Raheem Sterling, Liverpool..bbc

FORWARD - RAHEEM STERLING, LIVERPOOL

This was one of the best performances I've seen from a 17-year old since I saw Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain at Southampton. To have been selected by Brendan Rodgers for such a high-profile fixture says everything you need to know about how Liverpool regard this lad. Jamaica or England, I think we might have another John Barnes.
    Did you know? Sterling created two chances on his first Premier League start.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rodgers hails wonderkid Sterling after brilliant home debut against champions
    By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
    PUBLISHED: 14:04, 27 August 2012 | UPDATED: 14:04, 27 August 2012
    Comments (1)

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers felt youngster Raheem Sterling responded with a 'fantastic' performance after being thrown into the action against Manchester City.
    New boss Rodgers had no qualms about handing the 17-year-old forward his first Barclays Premier League start as the champions visited Anfield and he repaid the faith with an eye-catching display.
    The pacy Sterling gave the City defence, particularly Kolo Toure, plenty to think about as part of a three-man attack with Luis Suarez and Fabio Borini during a pulsating 2-2 draw.

On the ball: Raheem Sterling thrilled Liverpool fans
    Rodgers said: 'It was an easy decision. I said when I first came in, I wouldn't judge people on their status, on what they are or what they have done, but on what I see in front of me.
    'He is a young player who has just improved every single day since I came in here.
    'He was a player that played on his own in the one v ones.

'And you look at him fighting for the team, his tactical understanding playing a really experienced player - he was blocking the lines of the pass, he was pressing at the right time, he was coming back to block the lines inside.
    'For a 17-year-old playing against the champions, I thought his performance was fantastic but he has a long way to go because you have got to be consistent and that is something I'll have to keep a close eye on.'
    Liverpool are still looking for their first win of the season but morale will be greatly enhanced after bouncing back from their opening day loss at West Brom with a fluid display.

Take-on king: Sterling is speedy and stealthy
    The Reds deservedly twice led through Martin Skrtel and Suarez but defensive errors allowed Yaya Toure and, 10 minutes from time, Carlos Tevez to equalise.
    Defender Jose Enrique, who came on as a second-half substitute, was also impressed by Sterling's display, which came after the teenager was given 90 minutes in last Thursday's Europa League qualifier against Hearts.
    The Spaniard said: 'I think he did well the last two games for us and he worked really hard in pre-season.
    'I don't have to tell you, everyone knows the qualities he has. He is amazing, one v one he is amazing.
    'He has everything but we have to be quiet with him.

Tussle: Sterling is tactically aware
    'He is still young, 17 years old. There are too many things to do yet but if he continues like this and listens to us, and of course to more from the manager, he can learn a lot, he has the qualities.'
    Enrique felt the overall performance of the team offered great encouragement for the rest of the season.
    He said: 'I think we did well. I think we deserved to win but we had two mistakes - that can happen in football.
    'But then we got a point against Manchester City and that is not a bad point, of course.
    'They were the best last year, that is why they won the league.
    'I think we did better than them and I think this is the way we have to play this year.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz24lRUHrht

they bodied him off the ball a little too easily but there is not much he can do about that at the minute

eat more yam! and hit th weight room!

he could consult with Mo... experience counts for a lot !

He will play fi England....as dem sey, trust mi.

wheh dat haffi duh wid Mo and his ability to empathize wid Sterling ??

Is this training ground barracking from Rodgers behind Sterling's stunning start to season at Liverpool?

By Adam Shergold
                PUBLISHED:09:41, 28 August 2012| UPDATED:11:21, 28 August 2012

He first caught the eye with a man-of-the-match performance in Liverpool’s Europa League tie with Hearts last week and then took it a level further by terrorising the Manchester City defence on Sunday.
                But could a pre-season dressing down from boss Brendan Rodgers be behind Raheem Sterling’s outstanding start to the season?
                A sneak preview of a behind-the-scenes documentary about Liverpool filmed by American broadcaster Fox shows the 17-year-old on the receiving end of a barracking from the new Liverpool manager on the club’s pre-season tour to America.

Scroll down to watch the video

Raheem Sterling gave Manchester City's Kolo Toure a torrid time at Anfield on Sunday

Rodgers singles Sterling out during a training debrief after the winger interrupts his team talk and tells him he’ll be on the ‘next plane home’ if he doesn’t listen.
                The manager says: 'Your attitude you need to improve and your work. You need to improve your attitude.'

Sterling clearly disagrees and says 'steady' to which Rodgers replies: 'You say 'steady' to me again when I say something to you and you'll be on the first plane back.'

Sterling's protestations of innocence aren't picked up by the microphone, but Rodgers continues: 'You know what you said, I know what you said. You'll be on the first plane back.'
                Pointing to some of the senior first teamers, he says: 'You should be like sponges here, learning off these guys here. You're very very fortunate to be here.'

Rodgers then singles out the Academy striker Adam Morgan for praise, adding: 'Make sure when you're here you show the attitude of this kid here who works his socks off, who listens, who learns, and will get his rewards.'

And as the players walk back to the changing rooms following the session in Boston a month ago, Rodgers makes a bee-line to Sterling to get an apology.
                The fly-on-the-wall footage offers an insight into the strict Rodgers regime as he tries to bring a new brand of attractive, attacking football to Anfield.
                And the manager was quick to recognise how far Sterling has progressed after the 2-2 draw with City on Sunday, in which the youngster gave Kolo Toure a nightmare afternoon.

The documentary is an insight into the authoritarian regime of Brendan Rodgers at Anfield

In an indication of how things have turned full circle, Rodgers said: ‘I have seen a lot of development in him in a short time. He takes on a lot of the concepts and he is very good with instructions.
                ‘Normally wingers want to do their own thing but he is tactically improving every day. I said when I first came in, I wouldn’t judge people on their status, on what they are or what they have done, but on what I see in front of me.
                ‘He is a young player who has just improved every single day since I came in here. For a 17-year-old playing against the champions, I thought his performance was fantastic.’
                Liverpool are still searching for their first win of the Premier League season after losing 3-0 at West Bromwich on the opening day, but the breakthrough performances of Sterling present Rodgers with a very pleasant selection dilemma.
                The Fox documentary, called ‘Being Liverpool’, will air in six parts this autumn and promises viewers unique and ‘unprecedented access to the club, the players and the management team.’ It will be shown by Channel Five in the UK.

Now watch the video of Sterling's training ground barracking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0FkLHhJHw8

More...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz24qfOBAp4
                Last edited by Dunny; August 28, 2012, 09:56 AM.

is a likkle off putting di way him run like him carrying a clutch purse though .... even the fall in the picture...

Kop flop Downing ousted by a kid

By PHIL THOMAS

Published: 15 hrs ago

STEWART DOWNING may have to reinvent himself as a left-back to save his Anfield career.

And that is because of the emergence of Raheem Sterling as the latest Kop wonderkid.

Sterling, 17, was a shock starter in Sunday’s 2-2 draw with Manchester City after an outstanding first start in the Europa League win at Hearts three days earlier.

His selection ahead of Downing for the visit of the champions was a huge vote of confidence from Liverpool chief Brendan Rodgers and another blow to Downing’s chances of regular action.

It came after Downing, 28, was thrown on as a replacement for defender Jack Robinson in last week’s win in Scotland, while Sterling played the full 90 minutes on the left wing. The England wide boy was an unused substitute against City, while Sterling was running riot.

And the way the teenage sensation has stepped up to the mark has seen Rodgers warn Downing he may have to get used to dropping deeper, if he wants to remain part of his plans for a new-look Reds.

The Kop boss insisted: “I think it’s a big possibility that he can play there. If you look at the modern day full-backs, like Jordi Alba and Ashley Cole, Ashley was a centre forward.

“When I bring young players through, I will always bring attackers because they can move back.

“When Middlesbrough reached the UEFA Cup final against Sevilla, Stewart played left-back on that run, and sometimes that can release pressure on players.

“His job at the top end of the pitch is to create and score goals.

“But you looked at him in the half hour against Hearts, and he served the ball well, he got forward and defended a couple of times. That’s important. I think he’s good enough for that.”

Although Downing — a £20million buy from Villa a year ago — was not up against the toughest opposition he will ever face last week, Rodgers sees no reason why he cannot cut it as a Premier League left-back. He said: “I don’t like to just give up on players, I always look at different ways you can play them.

“Stewart has a future as an attacking player but I have had a good chat with him on the role and he’s excited about it.

“That’s the biggest thing, because there is no point putting a player into a position he doesn’t want to play.

“But when you speak to someone and tell them what the future could be, along with the qualities that he has, there is no doubt that in the modern game, he could play that role.”

Midfield new-boy Nuri Sahin admitted the chance of leading the Reds back into the Champions League, plus a few words of advice from Xabi Alonso, tempted him to Merseyside.

The Turkish ace opted for Anfield ahead of Arsenal and a host of European interest, moving from Real Madrid on a season loan.

And after signing on, Sahin, 23, revealed how ex-Kop hero Alonso, who left for the Bernabeu three years ago, played a key role in his decision.

He admitted: “Xabi played a long time here and only ever said good things about the club.”

Yet it was the prospect of helping them back to Europe’s top table after a three-season absence which also saw him snub Arsenal.

He added: “A big club like Liverpool has to play every year in the Champions League. We’ll do everything to get into the top four.”

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...#ixzz24wrhn8V7

Have to respect this new coach for doing what Kenny couldn't do.

Dunny memba wha mi did tell unnuh. Unnuh eers too haaad. Mi tell unnuh say him ah go play fi England. It would have been sooner had Capello stayed on.

Have to respect this new coach for doing what Kenny couldn't do.

Dunny memba wha mi did tell unnuh. Unnuh eers too haaad. Mi tell unnuh say him ah go play fi England. It would have been sooner had Capello stayed on.
                        He will play for England because England make him feel wanted and probably that is the only choice he has!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                          He will play for England because England make him feel wanted and probably that is the only choice he has!
                          The JFF needs a overall from top to bottom since, they clearly, don't have JA's best interest at heart.