• Fergie: Strike options now as good as '99

Fergie: Strike options now as good as '99

Sir Alex Ferguson believes the signing of Robin van Persie will give him a strikeforce to compare with the prolific quartet who helped fire Manchester United to Champions League glory in 1999.
    United have had a £24 million bid accepted for Arsenal captain Van Persie, who is likely to complete his move to Old Trafford on Thursday.
    Ferguson expects the Dutchman to make his debut in Monday's match at Everton, where he could join Wayne Rooney in a partnership comprising the two top scorers in the Premier League last season.
    "They are two fantastic players and it's great to have the both of them," Ferguson said. "It's great to have a player of Van Persie's qualities coming into the squad. He is on his way up from London, he will have a medical later this afternoon and we hope that goes according to plan.
    "His agent is in talks with David [Gill]. Hopefully everything will be tied up by the end of the day. I am sure he will be available for Monday's game."
    Together with Danny Welbeck and Javier Hernandez, plus Shinji Kagawa, Ferguson feels he has a group of forwards to rival the class of 1999.
    Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke started the Champions League final win over Bayern Munich, while Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer came off the bench to score the goals.
    Ferguson added: "If you go back to 1999 season and we had Dwight and Andy and Teddy and Ole Gunnar - the four best strikers in Europe - and we are getting back towards that now.
    "We have got Chicharito, we have got Wayne, we have got Robin, we have got Danny Welbeck and we have got Kagawa. That is a fantastic combination of players. Hopefully I pick the right combinations."
    Ferguson was speaking as Manchester United announced a three-year partnership with bwin, now the club's official gaming partner.

Sir Alex Ferguson believes the signing of Robin van Persie will give him a strikeforce to compare with the prolific quartet who helped fire Manchester United to Champions League glory in 1999.
    United have had a £24 million bid accepted for Arsenal captain Van Persie, who is likely to complete his move to Old Trafford on Thursday.
    Ferguson expects the Dutchman to make his debut in Monday's match at Everton, where he could join Wayne Rooney in a partnership comprising the two top scorers in the Premier League last season.
    "They are two fantastic players and it's great to have the both of them," Ferguson said. "It's great to have a player of Van Persie's qualities coming into the squad. He is on his way up from London, he will have a medical later this afternoon and we hope that goes according to plan.
    "His agent is in talks with David [Gill]. Hopefully everything will be tied up by the end of the day. I am sure he will be available for Monday's game."
    Together with Danny Welbeck and Javier Hernandez, plus Shinji Kagawa, Ferguson feels he has a group of forwards to rival the class of 1999.
    Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke started the Champions League final win over Bayern Munich, while Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer came off the bench to score the goals.
    Ferguson added: "If you go back to 1999 season and we had Dwight and Andy and Teddy and Ole Gunnar - the four best strikers in Europe - and we are getting back towards that now.
    "We have got Chicharito, we have got Wayne, we have got Robin, we have got Danny Welbeck and we have got Kagawa. That is a fantastic combination of players. Hopefully I pick the right combinations."
    Ferguson was speaking as Manchester United announced a three-year partnership with bwin, now the club's official gaming partner.
    Welbeck must wonder when him will get to play as the starting front two must be Rooney & RVP.

Originally posted by GazX View Post
      Welbeck must wonder when him will get to play as the starting front two must be Rooney & RVP.
      He will get his chance. As Fergie has shown over the years ... he isn't afraid to bench anybody.

We need a very good core of defenders more than we need anything else.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
          We need a very good core of defenders more than we need anything else.
          I think the only a Left Back is needed. Yuh forget Vidic is back? He needs to add to the midfield.

No question that Kagawa, RVP and Rooney are a strong strike force and I would argue better than 1999. All unu haffi do now is jus keep the Glazer dem happy till them can fin' one oil-soaked Arab fi buy unu.

Vidic is back and Phil or Smalling year to break it or make it. I think you going to see Valencia a lot a the right back this season.

The midfield is fine with the Japanese and expect big things from Cleverly this year. Can't say mi never warn you. Them two going to hot it up.

Ferguson added: "If you go back to 1999 season and we had Dwight and Andy and Teddy and Ole Gunnar - the four best strikers in Europe - and we are getting back towards that now."
                Fergie loves to exaggerate, doesn't he?

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                  Fergie loves to exaggerate, doesn't he?
                  LOL!! Among other things (like tief They were the best strike force in England though, no question.

Whenever Valencia has to play at right back or rotate to the position, his play is often disastrous. And he does more ball watching from his defensive spots than most other people Ive seen. Then there is Evra. His best years have passed. Rio needs to find a good nursing home.

We need new blood coming into the D.

I have been following Man U longer thanyone else on this site (no, Im not as old as the dinosaur named Karl).

Whenever Valencia has to play at right back or rotate to the position, his play is often disastrous. And he does more ball watching from his defensive spots than most other people Ive seen. Then there is Evra. His best years have passed. Rio needs to find a good nursing home.

I have been following Man U longer thanyone else on this site (no, Im not as old as the dinosaur named Karl).
                      Since when you following them? Jus' curious. Karl is a recent fan of Arsenal...as is Jangle of Manu** but him still have him JB9 Liverpool shirt below him pillow...him draw it out when him a suck him thumb before him go a bed a' night time

You are too funny.

I have been following them since they were banned from playing home games. I was so naive and didnt realize it was because of rowdy, strike that, I mean evil fans. I have been a fan ever since. I think it was 1970 or 1971.

You are too funny.

I have been following them since they were banned from playing home games. I was so naive and didnt realize it was because of rowdy, strike that, I mean evil fans. I have been a fan ever since. I think it was 1970 or 1971.
                          Wait a minute!!! If that is true, the answer to this pop quiz will reveal your true allegiance: On what ground did Manu** play their home games when they were banned in 1971?

You started following d-evil around same time I started following Liverpool. Everybody in Jamaica was Leeds them times, a few West Ham, Arsenal and the odd Chelsea and Manu** fan. When I went to school and told people I was a Liverpool man, dem did laff after me. My daughter going through that now. But good always prevails I tell her. I held my ground then and she will now.

Answer the quiz!!

Westman, don't be ungrateful bossman. After Vidic went out last season ...who anchored the defense for MU? Show some appreciation man ... without Rio we may not have finished in the top 4.

Do not insult my intelligence nor my legitimacy. They played on the home ground of an old worthless dinosaur - the kop.