What is football coming to?

• What is football coming to?

A few weeks back I saw Barca's opponents beg the ref fi tell Ronaldinho fi stop mek dem look like fool. Now this?

Boateng warns Man Utd's Ronaldo: You're gonna get hurt
    tribalfooball.com - March 20, 2007

Middlesbrough captain George Boateng has fired a warning at showboating Manchester United dazzler Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ronaldo was the victim of a scything foul by the frustrated James Morrison, who was sent off near the end of United's ill-tempered FA Cup quarter-final replay win over Middlesbrough at Old Trafford on Monday night.

Boro captain George Boateng said: "A lot of players want to do what Morrison did. Why didn't Ronaldo do his tricks when it was 0-0 and people were fighting to get a goal? It annoys people."

As the debate over Ronaldo's alleged diving was rekindled by United's disputed penalty winner, Boateng added: "People have pride. No one likes to have the mickey taken out of them and if you're going to do that, one day someone will hurt him properly and he'll be out for a long time.

"We know he can do his tricks, but don't do it when you're winning 1-0 and there's only two minutes to go.

"When you're playing Sunday football with your mates it's great, but not at top level."

RE: What is football coming to?

<DIV>Boateng is an idiot! He should be Ronaldo's next salad victim. The only way to prevent showboating is by beating the other team. Of course, your team would then be able to showboat.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And the vicious cycle goes on. </DIV>

RE: What is football coming to?

Boateng's comments should not be taken lightly and it sadly reflects the reality of the game. While a dispassionate observer can quite easily see that these statements should be dismissed as nonsensical, I believe he is only stating what unfortunately may be true with regard to player sentiment. For example, if Ronaldo pulled some ofhis stunts in Brazil, he'd be a dead man. Can you imagine? Sad.