Manchester United agree a fee to sign Arsenal's Robin van

• Manchester United agree a fee to sign Arsenal's Robin van

Manchester United have agreed a £24m deal to sign Arsenal striker Robin van Persie on a four-year deal.

The 29-year-old will meet with United in the next 48 hours to discuss personal terms and have a medical.

Arsenal captain Van Persie announced in July he would not extend his current deal, which expires in June 2013.

The Netherlands international scored 44 goals in 57 games for club and country last season, including two against United.

Wednesday Thursday Friday!!!!!???!!!

will sell TH14 to barca and the beat us in CL final; wi sell nasri and clichy to city and they beat us to the premiership and now rvp to man u???!!!!!

it is bad enough arsenal would consider that, but that is such a slap in the face for your captain one year to sign with your biggest rival, bettah dem tek him as a free agent, at least we would not have to contributed to our potential demise ....... wi shoulda loan him out fi di season with stipulation that he cannot play against us!

good business economically maybe but bad football decision imho!

As a MU fan I'm not certain this was necessary. We do need more steel in midfield. How about a natural left footed player to play on the wing?

Secondly, 24 million fi a man than could be out for most of the season?

why you crying??? you coulda pay 35 Million fi a man whe....LOL

True that I wouldn't sell him to Manu if I was Arsenal. We know him want to leave so tell him it has to be somewhere else in Europe.

I will believe...when all is sealed and signed. RVP is not a good fit for ManU (in my opinion). Yes, the economics is good but bad football decision.

I think this is about sellin' newspapers Assasin.

Nuh worry yusef Lazie!

He will be a good fit for Manu. He can play one touch with Rooney and he can score. Unlike Beritov he doesn't have to carry the bal. He doesn't have to play every game for the season which will him stay fit. Rooney on the inside right and him on the inside left. Don't look for Gigs getting much game.

why you crying??? you coulda pay 35 Million fi a man whe....LOL
                  mine a give you a Ba-X!!

Wednesday Thursday Friday!!!!!???!!!

will sell TH14 to barca and the beat us in CL final; wi sell nasri and clichy to city and they beat us to the premiership and now rvp to man u???!!!!!

it is bad enough arsenal would consider that, but that is such a slap in the face for your captain one year to sign with your biggest rival, bettah dem tek him as a free agent, at least we would not have to contributed to our potential demise ....... wi shoulda loan him out fi di season with stipulation that he cannot play against us!

good business economically maybe but bad football decision imho!
                    Gamma - this was good business for Arsenal. They pocket a good chunk of change for a player who is entering the last phase of his career. This is especially good business because Arsenal knows how to spend money wisely.

On the other side of the transaction, this deal makes me more convinced that Manu** is in a desperate situation to maintain a high club valuation. The deal gives them some comfort that they will have the personnel to help keep them in the mix at the top while the Glazers are trying to dump the club...presumably on some (poor) Russian or Arab.

Wenger must go! Something is wrong when your best ballers are consistently sold to your enemies.

You don't think this is good business for Manu? Get a player who can play 3 more years getting 15-20 goals a season for 24 million dollars?

Manu have enough youth players already, they don't really need a lot more. Now they can sell Berbetov, they got rid of Owen, Gigs gonna go and so to Scholes.

You don't think this is good business for Manu? Get a player who can play 3 more years getting 15-20 goals a season for 24 million dollars?

Manu have enough youth players already, they don't really need a lot more. Now they can sell Berbetov, they got rid of Owen, Gigs gonna go and so to Scholes.
                          See with PM ... he will have nothing good to say about the Empire.

As a MU fan I'm not certain this was necessary. We do need more steel in midfield. How about a natural left footed player to play on the wing?

Secondly, 24 million fi a man than could be out for most of the season?
                            I STRONGLY disagree wid you ! Deal of the season...

and he is naturally lef FOOTED too !

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              Wenger must go! Something is wrong when your best ballers are consistently sold to your enemies.
                              go where ? why keep him when him seh him waan lef ?

would you prefer to lose him for nothing next year ?

tek the 24m and wish him good luck with that....