Put up or shut up SAF

• Put up or shut up SAF

RVP price is not right for Fergie... but United boss reveals interest and vows to fight on

By IAN LADYMAN
    PUBLISHED: 22:49, 8 August 2012 | UPDATED: 08:47, 9 August 2012

Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that Arsenal are refusing to budge on a £15million Manchester United bid for Robin van Persie as he lost out on another transfer target, teenage Brazilian Lucas Moura, to big-spending Paris St Germain.

United drew 0-0 against Barcelona in normal time, with Wayne Rooney missing from 12 yards, before losing an odd three-kick shootout. Nani and Ashley Young missed for United while Xavi and Gerard Pique scored to give the Spanish side victory.

But it was events off the field that dominated the evening as Moura moved to France for 45m euros and Ferguson admitted for the first time that United are in the hunt for Van Persie.

No laughing matter: Fergie has revealed details of his attempts to sign Van Persie

Asked if there was any progress with the Dutch international, Ferguson said: ‘We have made a bid but Arsenal are trying to negotiate with other clubs. We just have to persevere and hope things come our way.

'We have made a bid and they've been trying to negotiate with other clubs. We are trying our best but there is no progress at this moment in time. It’s difficult to say why they are operating in this way or know what their thoughts are because they are not giving anything away. We are not getting any breakthrough.
    'I can't give you any more information. We just have to persevere. We are trying our best and hopefully it will come our way but there's no progress at this moment in time.'
    Waiting game: Van Persie has hooked up with his Arsenal team-mates at their training camp

Van Persie’s other main suitors, Juventus and Manchester City, feel that United are ahead of them in the race to sign the 29-year-old.

However, it appears Arsenal are doing all they can not to sell their star player to a rival.

Meanwhile, Ferguson will be privately disappointed to have lost out on 19-year-old Moura and called on UEFA to clamp down on the mammoth summer spending of PSG.

Red alert: United lost out in a penalty shoot-out to Barcelona on Wednesday night

Fuelled by money from Qatar owners, the French club do not appear to be concerned by the Financial Fair Play rules introduced by UEFA president Michel Platini.

Ferguson said: ‘I find it amazing that a club can pay 45m euros for a 19-year-old boy. I think they have spent over ¤150m Euros in the last couple of months or so.They are trying to tell people they are here.

‘The only deterrent to that is UEFA. I am sure Michel Platini will be concerned. It doesn’t matter which country you are from, I’m sure he will be concerned by what’s happened recently.’

On the friendly match, Ferguson added: It was a good game. It’s all about preparation at this time.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz233POkEyV

What you think? Isn't the same game Wenger woulda play?

The price is £20m - to you, £25m: Arsenal want extra to sell RvP to United

Striker has reportedly said no to Juve and City and Wenger still hopes he'll stay - but Gunners will add on a £5m premium if he picks Old Trafford

Red leaders: United are in pole position for RvP - but face paying £5m extra

Sir Alex Ferguson has been warned it will take an “unbelievable” offer to persuade Arsenal to sell Robin van Persie to him.
      Gunners manager Arsene Wenger will not sell for less than £20m - and will demand a premium fee of more than £25m from Fergie and Manchester United because Arsenal do not want to do business with a direct Premier League rival.
      Meanwhile, Juventus, who have also been chasing the Dutch striker, have claimed van Persie has told them he will not move to Italy, but was signing for another club.
      Wenger still believes he can persuade van Persie to stay, even though United are expected to make an improved offer for him before the end of the week.

Wednesday workout: Robin van Persie at Arsenal training earlier today
      Getty

Van Persie trained with his team-mates at Arsenal’s pre-season camp in Germany on Wednesday night, ahead of their away friendly against Cologne on Sunday, and the club insist nothing has been agreed with United.
      "We have made a bid and they've been trying to negotiate with other clubs," said Ferguson after United's friendly against Barcelona on Wednesday night.
      "I don't have a gut feeling on it at the moment, I must admit.
      "We're not getting any breakthrough with Arsenal. It's difficult to say why they're operating this way.
      "I don't know what their thoughts are, because they're not giving anything away."
      Even though van Persie has been training hard and is understood to be impressed with Arsenal's summer spending spree, his statement that he will not sign a new contract to replace the one that expires at the end of the coming season still leaves them with a major dilemma.
      Arsenal do not want to risk losing van Persie on a free transfer next summer, which may tempt them to sell even if the signs are encouraging that the striker is having a change of heart.

The Mirror understands that van Persie has told Manchester City that he does not want to join them.
      Now Juventus are out of the running, United are likely to test Arsenal's, and van Persie’s, resolve with another bid.
      But Wenger and the club’s hierarchy are determined to hold out for a much bigger price if they end up selling to a rival.
      Arsenal are not convinced United will meet their asking price because of van Persie’s age - he turned 29 at the start of this week - and the fact he is only one year away from leaving the Emirates on a Bosman.
      Elsewhere, Wenger may consider a big offer from Barcelona for Alex Song, but is under no pressure to sell as the midfielder's contract does not expire until 2015.
      Arsenal would also want a ready-made replacement to be lined up before doing business with Barca.
      They have been tracking Real Madrid’s Turkish midfielder Nuri Sahi, who's also been linked with Liverpool, for a one-year loan deal.
      Rennes and France midfielder Yann M’Vila has also been a long-term target.
      Now read John Cross on why it's become a point of principle for Arsene Wenger NOT to sell van Persie to Man United

at a matta a fak £30m

ahh bwoy...unu should be trying to get RVP a psychologist if him really want fi go manu**...

Brendan Rodgers slapped a big number on Agger as well since City came calling. I think that City might have to put out a little extra to get Agger to remove this tattoo. My kind of player dat!!! RVP needs a bit of Agger loyalty in him.

http://www.kopsource.com/daniel-agger-gets-ynwa-tattoo/

him coulda have 20 Tattoo, the price is right and him and him Tattoo have fi walk. You nuh hear wha the bass say?

Yes. Ah suh it go...but...it's good to see player loyalty in this day and age. Wenger woulda love RVP to be like Agger (doh if summady come wid £40m you wouda see how fas' Wenger sell him!! Loyalty me ra-ss!!! LOL!!)

Good. I want wegner toask for 30m because I don't agree with that purchase. Van Persie is valuable to Arsenal but it would be bad business to pay more than the 15m that's on the table.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015