Liverpool chairman speaks- not the words.....

• Liverpool chairman speaks- not the words.....

X , Paul and Peter want to hear or is it?

We won’t blow cash again
    COSTLY GAMBLE ... Liverpool striker Andy Carroll

From PHIL THOMAS in Boston

Published: Today at 00:02

KOP chairman Tom Werner has had a dig at Kenny Dalglish’s transfer clangers and warned: The days of spending stupid money are over.

Dalglish splashed out more than £100million on players during 18 months, with Andy Carroll alone costing around a third of that.
    Yet the giant Geordie has rarely come close to justifying his £35m price tag and Dalglish paid the price for his flops when he was axed at the end of the season.
    Now Werner has delivered a scathing verdict on the Anfield legend’s reign — and says the Reds have the ideal man to bring back the glory days in Brendan Rodgers.
    Werner insisted: “LFC is a financially strong organisation. In the past, I believe — not just in the previous season, but in the past — we have overspent for players and the results were not what we have expected.
    “We do have the resources to be competitive, but at the same time, we are going to operate in a way that will be a self-sustaining model.
    “I don’t think anyone could have been happy with our performance on the pitch last year, no disrespect to Kenny. But Brendan brings a modern, attacking philosophy and hopefully we will see improvement.”
    Carroll has been such a flop that Rodgers will let him go, as long as anyone coughs up £20m. Newcastle and West Ham have been knocked back in bids to take him on loan — Rodgers will only listen if there is a permanent move as part of the agreement.
    Rodgers will talk to Carroll this week, and Werner has admitted the Kop boss will have the final say on where he plays this season.
    He added: “Brendan is the leader here, and hopefully the question will be answered shortly. The only thing I can say is we will do what’s best for the club.

but is a good talk .... suh mi nuh si how dem coulda bex!?

The best kept secret is Rodgers hasnt sold any of the Big name singings.Carrrol , Henderson,Enrique,Coates, Saurez & Downing are here (KD) signings, Skertel,Lucas,Glen Johnson,Agger,Aqualani,Spearing, the whole bloody youth acacademy (Rafa) signings are here.

Thats indicative of success to me , i havent heard the dead wood speech like his predecessor the aloof, inflated Hodgson.Granted Adam must go , KD worst signing ,when we get our men Dempsey and Allen we are ready to go, Dempsey competes directly with Gerrad for that attacking role ,midfielder or striker.

I understand the vision of these guys , young progressive coach with a modern tactical approach to football, like Barcelona, Rijkard & Pep.Will he be succesful? It looks promising our (Rafa) youth academy held toronto to a 1-1 tie.

My verdict is out until I see how this team reacts under pressure, meaning how does that defence hold up.I have no doubt goals will come this season.
      Last edited by Sir X; July 25, 2012, 10:44 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        X , Paul and Peter want to hear or is it?
        Dunny, as you know, I am a fan of Arsene Wenger's approach at Arsenal and don't buy into the trophy-at-any-cost mentality like much of your fellow Arsenal fans. All these clubs that are loading up on debt to buy trophies only need to take a look at Rangers and Portsmouth to understand what can happen. You are seeing Manure floating stock on the NYSE and doing other things to reduce what is an unsustainable practice.

This approach by FSG is music to my ears. I was very put off last year by them allowing Carroll to be bought at that outrageous price and was even more frustrated by the lack of value we got for our money across all of KD's signings. So I am not out of sync with FSG's approach and would rather support a self-sustaining club than a debt ridden ("wait for the other shoe to drop") club that if things go against them, could end up like Rangers.

The only one among them (EPL) that can take the risk in my opinion is Manure due to the size of their fan base globally. Chelsea and City are at the mercy of two men. We will see.

bwoy you change your mind quick sa.

Xplain how ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You are put off on the money spent to buy Carrol when they sold Torres for 50 million and bought Saurez and Caroll combined for 57 million and sold babel for 11 mill ?

Money well spent , i make no apologies for that , check yuhself Petta,Carroll will come good like Lucas.

You are put off on the money spent to buy Carrol when they sold Torres for 50 million and bought Saurez and Caroll combined for 57 million and sold babel for 11 mill ?

Money well spent , i make no apologies for that , check yuhself Petta,Carroll will come good like Lucas.
                I agree not to sell Carroll, and I am not arguing with the net spend...that part is fine. However, I don't advocate selling my car for $40K then going out and buying a bicycle for $25K. I think that Carroll was more a victim of a system that was set up to get him the ball too much in the air than on the ground. He showed what he's capable of in that goal against Chelski in the FA Cup final when we get him the ball on the ground...which is Rodgers system. I truly hope he is not sold.

You sold your car which was an ageing benz with a fuel pump problem and bought two new benzes ,1 had a fuel pump problem.

The thing is which one has resolved the fuel pump problem and who has aged more since you bought it.

Keep it in perspective.

You sold your car which was an ageing benz with a fuel pump problem and bought two new benzes ,1 had a fuel pump problem.

The thing is which one has resolved the fuel pump problem and who has aged more since you bought it.

Keep it in perspective.
                    hmmmm....you think that Torres was an "aging Benz"? You think Carroll was a Benz? KD could have gotten Carroll from Newcastle for 20-25m if he had not been so erratic.

Torres is 28 , Caroll is 23 , Torres hasnt been the same since Rafa left , Carroll needs to develop his running at defenders game, he is perfect at everything else,perfect control & pass, a classic one touch balla, that makes him look limited i.e good in the air and good one touch control.

I saw Carrol running at defenders under K.D & that alone was bringing back his confidence, no doubt Rodgers will develop that part of his game.

Torres has 3 more years on his contract before they sell him back to Athelitco madrid.

Memba mi tell yuh bout Carroll.

Torres is 28 , Caroll is 23 , Torres hasnt been the same since Rafa left , Carroll needs to develop his running at defenders game, he is perfect at everything else,perfect control & pass, a classic one touch balla, that makes him look limited i.e good in the air and good one touch control.

I saw Carrol running at defenders under K.D & that alone was bringing back his confidence, no doubt Rodgers will develop that part of his game.

Torres has 3 more years on his contract before they sell him back to Athelitco madrid.

Memba mi tell yuh bout Carroll.
                        X - I have no argument with keeping Carroll - I really don't want him to go. The good news on that front is that Rodgers has drawn a line in the sand at 20m. None of the Prem clubs that have that kind of money will spend it on him, so we should see him in red at least until the next transfer window...when depending on his performance...the banter will start all over again.