• Spurs' King announces retirement

July 19, 2012By ESPN staff

Tottenham Hotspur captain Ledley King has announced his retirement from football after 17 years at White Hart Lane.

PA PhotosLedley King has been plagued by knee problems

King, 31, had suffered severe knee problems in recent years and, with his Tottenham contract up this summer, has decided to end his playing career. He will now take up an ambassadorial role with the North London club.
    The former England international came through the youth ranks at Spurs and made his debut for the first team in 1998. He played 23 times last season but revealed in June that he was considering retirement.
    The one-club man said he had no interest in moving elsewhere in an attempt to prolong his career, adding: "Tottenham has been the only club for me - and if I can't play here then I shall look to be involved in another capacity."
    King's Spurs career saw him lift the Carling Cup after victory over Chelsea in 2008 and lead the team to Champions League qualification in the 2009-10 season.
    He won the first of his 21 England caps against Italy in 2002, and his international career saw him play in Euro 2004 and the 2010 World Cup.
    In a statement on the official Spurs website, King said: "I have been here since I was a boy. I have always considered it my club and have always found it hard to imagine wearing the shirt of another team.
    "I know that being a one-club man is a rarity these days, but I have always enjoyed being part of the set-up here. I would like to say thank you to everyone at the club, and to the fans.
    "I have missed a lot of football over the years, but the Spurs fans have always been patient and incredibly supportive with me during difficult periods. Sadly, my injuries and inability to train have now finally brought an end to my career."
    King said he was delighted to be taking on the ambassadorial role, adding: "I am pleased that I can continue to work within the club and for the local community, especially after the devastation caused by the riots last year."
    The Spurs chairman, Daniel Levy, paid tribute to King on the official site, saying: "Ledley has made a magnificent contribution to this club as a wonderful player, captain and ambassador.
    "It has been well documented how he has battled against injury over the years, and it is testament to the character of the man how he managed to sustain such high standards of performance on the pitch while providing such fine leadership.
    "It is in an ambassadorial capacity that Ledley will continue, playing a crucial role in supporting the club's work in the community and the ongoing regeneration of the Tottenham area, whilst also being a hugely positive role model for our younger players."

The best English defender whenever he played. He made defending into an art.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The best English defender whenever he played. He made defending into an art.

"The best English defender whenever he played"

Huh? Best Jangle? I'll agree he was good but the best? Nooooo!

A wouldah seh di said ting too sah, throughout him days ah nevah seen ah bettah one. Unfortunate him had some much injuries or wi wouldah really si him class

I hold my point. When he was patched up, I would still consider him the best English defender even with his two wooden knees. There is no other defender that reads the game as well as him - bar none. His understanding of the game over-compensates for his two wooden feet.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I hold my point. When he was patched up, I would still consider him the best English defender even with his two wooden knees. There is no other defender that reads the game as well as him - bar none. His understanding of the game over-compensates for his two wooden feet.
            Best English defender in London ... better yuh say that. As mi tell Scaly at one a the picnics ... my central defender's clothes nuh affi dutty fi mi know say he had a good game. Send an email to lking@totthenhamspurs.co.uk and ask which English defender better than him. Him nuh affi think bout it.

I am with you on that one. When you look at a man who haven't even trained in what should have been his better days and come out on Saturday and play so good, you wonder "what if."

LOL ... what if .... gwaan grab at straws.

"The best English defender whenever he played"

Huh? Best Jangle? I'll agree he was good but the best? Nooooo!
                  The English great with creating the myths. Before the man big injuries, he was a very good defender, but no better than Rio.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    The English great with creating the myths. Before the man big injuries, he was a very good defender, but no better than Rio.
                    Thank you! Mi nuh know what duh Jangle.

I naw follow Me because I realize seh him a fight hard fe join Tweedle Dumb and Tweedle Dumber inna dem likkle eediat club by opposing me. Me which club yuh support again?

Ledley nuh get him clothes dutty either....me can't too recall seeing him on the ground when him play.

I naw follow Me because I realize seh him a fight hard fe join Tweedle Dumb and Tweedle Dumber inna dem likkle eediat club by opposing me. Me which club yuh support again?
                          Funny .... but Me right.

Mek we look at the numbas dem nuh?

2011 - 2012
                          Rio GP = 30 FC=10 FS = 14
                          King GP=21 FC = 10 FS = 6

10 -11

Rio GP = 19 FC=3 FS = 9
                          King GP=6 FC = 2 FS = 4

09 -10

Rio GP = 13 FC=2 FS = 9
                          King GP=20 FC =9 FS = 5

key
                          gp - games played, fc - foul committed, fs - foul suffered.

yuh have a cd that hardly commits a foul ... come on Jangle. Better yuh compare King wid Lescott and Terry.

Remember him having to help keep T.Henry quiet in a England V France W/C or Euro international match, And i think he was playing in the anchor role.
                              Henry did have very quiet match and King played very well.