U.S. announces roster for upcoming friendlies

• U.S. announces roster for upcoming friendlies

Here is Bob Bradley's roster for the USA's friendlies vs. Ecuador (Mar. 25th) and Guatemala (Mar. 28th):

Goalkeepers

Guzan, Brad - Chivas USA (USA)

Howard, Tim - Everton (England)

Keller, Kasey - Borussia Moenchengladbach (Germany)

Defenders

Bocanegra, - Carlos Fulham (England)

Cherundolo, Steve - Hannover 96 (Germany)

Conrad, Jimmy - Kansas City Wizards (USA)

DeMerit, Jay - Watford (England)

Onyewu, Oguchi - Newcastle United (England)

Pearce, Heath - FC Nordsjælland (Denmark)

Simek, Frank - Sheffield Wednesday (England)

Spector, Jonathan - West Ham United (England)

Midfielders

Beasley, DaMarcus - Manchester City (England)

Bradley, Michael - SC Heerenveen (Holland)

Carroll, Brian - DC United (USA)

Clark, Ricardo - Houston Dynamo (USA)

Dempsey, Clint - Fulham (England)

Donovan, Landon - Los Angeles Galaxy (USA)

Feilhaber, Benny - Hamburg SV (Germany)

Mapp, Justin - Chicago Fire (USA)

Forwards

Ching, Brian - Houston Dynamo (USA)

Cooper, Kenny - FC Dallas (USA)

Johnson, Eddie - Kansas Cit y Wizards (USA)

Rolfe, Chris - Chicago Fire (USA)

Twellman, Taylor - New England Revolution (USA)

RE: U.S. announces roster for upcoming friendlies

This looks like an exciting roster. The players I am really happy to see are Rolfe, Feilhaber, Inmate #12542 Dempsey, Mapp, Donovan, Clark, Spector,Bradley and Carroll. The players I think who need to take a break are Johnson, Twellman, Beasley, and Pearce. They have not played a good match for the US for at least a year. In either case it should be fun seeing the new faces. Okay zeppo give me your starting 11.- T.K.

Hello, T.K.! Good to see you back again. I was beginning to worry that maybe you had gone off on some kind of astrology-inspired journey or something!

Well, there are two games and so I think we will see 2 completely different starting XIs. But here are a few things I'd like to see:

Cooper and Donovan paired together at forward.

Feilhaber as a starter in midfield. I would like to see him with Rico Clark, but Clark just sprained his knee and will miss both games, unfortunately.

I want to see Michael Bradley (coach's son) get some significant minutes in midfield.

I disagree that Peace needs a break. He played well against Denmark and even got an assist on Cooper's goal. And quite frankly, we have very few options at left back, so I want to see him go 90 minutes in one of these games.

Spector needs a good run out at right back, too.

I totally agree that Johnson needs a break. He has shown absolutely nothing at both club and national level over the last year. I really have to question why he was called up at all.

Oh well. Let's see. Hopefully these games will produce some pleasant surprises for us.

Zeppo (3/17/2007)Hello, T.K.! Good to see you back again. I was beginning to worry that maybe you had gone off on some kind of astrology-inspired journey or something!

Well, there are two games and so I think we will see 2 completely different starting XIs. But here are a few things I'd like to see:

Cooper and Donovan paired together at forward.

Feilhaber as a starter in midfield. I would like to see him with Rico Clark, but Clark just sprained his knee and will miss both games, unfortunately.

I want to see Michael Bradley (coach's son) get some significant minutes in midfield.

I disagree that Peace needs a break. He played well against Denmark and even got an assist on Cooper's goal. And quite frankly, we have very few options at left back, so I want to see him go 90 minutes in one of these games.

Spector needs a good run out at right back, too.

I totally agree that Johnson needs a break. He has shown absolutely nothing at both club and national level over the last year. I really have to question why he was called up at all.

Oh well. Let's see. Hopefully these games will produce some pleasant surprises for us.
        Yeah I was chilling with Jawge learning the secrets of the Cave.

Okay I can see your point on Pearce. It is ashame Bornstein got injured because he looks like a keeper. Whatever happened to Todd Dunivant? He came just as quickly as he went. I really liked him in the one match I saw him and then puff he was gone never to be heard from again. Also what position is Spector playing for Charlton? I could have sworn they had him on the left? Or am I mistaken?

Cooper and Donovan I like together. In regards to Eddie Johnson I think if you don't play him in a single forward set up he simply can't play. He has to be too dynamic in a two forward set up to be effective. Park him in the center of the field where he can be a target in the build up phase and a target in the box in the attacking phase. He has been crapola for the past year and a half.

Michael Bradley and Feilhaber I really want to see play as well. I remember in the US friendly vs.Argentina(RFK)before the 2002 WC when what looked like a 13-15 year old kid was hitting bombs from 25 yards against the back up US keeper (can't remember who) and scoring on him before the match kicked off. The entire stadium was cheering every goal scored shouting OLE.Come tofind outit was Michael Bradley we were cheering.- T.K.

Yeah, the Bornstein injury is a bummer. I was really hoping to see him in these friendlies because he has shown such potential so far: great touch, an eye for goal and crazy speed.

I'm pretty sure that Dunivant is still in the picture. As I said, the left back spot is completely up for grabs.

Remember that Spector is now at West Ham and he mostly plays right back, although he has played on the left for Man Utd reserves.

And that's a great story about Michael Bradley, by the way.

West Ham.....DUH! Thanks for the correction. :blush:

Now I remember what happened to Dunivant....he joined the Red Bulls. That is guaranteed to kill anyone's national team career. - T.K.

An interesting group nonetheless!

Here are my views however:

Why call Kasey Keller? As great a keeper he has been for the USA, I think he has already served his use and should join Brad Friedel and Tony Meola on the retirement list. This way more opportunities will open for the plethora of top-notch keepers the USA has at its disposal.

I'm happy for Jay DeMerit (Watford, England). He has been one ofthe most (if not the best) outstanding players in defence for Watford all season. I kept wondering when the USA would give him a call.

Mike Bradley deserves the call. In a few quarters it may be whispered that nepotism is at play but Mike is solid in midfield. I remember watching him when he was at Metro-Stars and he held his own in midfield with accurate passing and a a very small turnover ratio. My only thing is that I see him as a holding midfielder so he will have stiff competition against Clarke and Fieldhaber for space.

My disappointment in the squad is the absence of of the RSL duo of Jeff Cunningham and Freddy adu. Jeff deserves the call based upon his continued goal output in the MLS. Freddy is ready and can add spice and quality to to Bradleys midfield.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Eddie Johnson is the best forward the US has. He could be an outstanding scorer of goals....but, he got little time at the WorldCup (Wondered why?) and he has not played much or had much time on the national team since.No other US forward has his talent and potential.

I'm not sure what you're talking about, because since the World Cup we have only played 2 games and Johnson played in both of them.

He started vs Denmark and was horrible, then came on as a sub against Mexico and put in a mediocre performance.

He has been struggling for the past year now and last season in MLS was a disaster for him, too (only 2 goals total for KC).

I agree that he has talent and potential are there. But he needs to step it up soon.

Zeppo (3/18/2007)I'm not sure what you're talking about, because since the World Cup we have only played 2 games and Johnson played in both of them.

He started vs Denmark and was horrible, then came on as a sub against Mexico and put in a mediocre performance.

He has been struggling for the past year now and last season in MLS was a disaster for him, too (only 2 goals total for KC).

I agree that he has talent and potential are there. But he needs to step it up soon.
                    Not sure?

How much time did he get on the field during the World Cup?

How much time on the field did he get during those two qualifiers?

Eddie Johnson has been poorly used by the persons in charge of 'our' teams.

Farmah (3/18/2007)An interesting group nonetheless!

Why call Kasey Keller?

My disappointment in the squad is the absence of of the RSL duo of Jeff Cunningham and Freddy adu.Freddy is ready and can add spice and quality to to Bradleys midfield.
                      Marcus Hanneman from Reading should've gotten a call. However, Freddy nuh ready fi the national team. One should expectthe matches on either ESPN/ESPN2 or FSC.

At the World Cup: Johnson came on as a sub against the Czechs and looked pretty decent. He started on the bench for the next game against the Italians then never made it onto the field due to the fact that we got 2 red cards that severly limited Arena's substitution plans. Then against Ghana he came on as a sub for the last half hour but was a total non-factor.

In the 2 games since the World Cup: Keep in mind they were friendlies and not qualifiers. Anyway, Johnson started against Denmark and played for over an hour before being subbed off. He had a terrible game and was virtually invisible. Then against Mexico he came on for the last half hour and was mediocre. Nothing more.

I don't know what you mean by "poorly used", but he has gotten plenty of chances. It's just that he hasn't made the most of them by any means.

Ever since he picked up the foot injury he hasn't been the same player. His foot has healed but he has yet to recover his goalscoring touch. As I stated earlier, last MLS season he scored a grand total of 2 goals.

I should also mention that he has had some serious attitude problems and was suspeded by his club team last fall, so some of his troubles have been of his own making. (It has also been noted that his form dropped right around the time that he signed his $800K/year contract.)

How many other forwards would keep getting picked for their national team if they continued to show such poor form for both club and country? He's lucky he's still getting chances at all.

If I were Bradley I'd wait until he showed some decent form for Kansas City before picking him for the USA again.