• So, is Rio going to be "charged" too?

Is calling a man a "choc ice" (roast breadfruit) a form of abuse? hmmm

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...st_read_module

Is calling a man a "choc ice" (roast breadfruit) a form of abuse? hmmm

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...st_read_module
    It is pretty clear from these sagas that footballers appear to be not very bright, Rio chief among them. I have *always* thought of him as a drug-using moron who strikes me as very petty, so nothing new for me on that one. If they are to be consistent, there is ample evidence for the FA to charge him, which they should if they are serious. However, his big problem now may be even bigger than the FA if this speculation comes true:
    http://www.emirates247.com/sports/fo...07-15-1.467252

These bloody xenophobic hypocrytes , dem crucify Saurez after di biggest fraud cuss di man bout im national back ground "spic , south american" and im respond and two english clown a argue bout gal & who a f*ck who and who black , and dem leggo dem wid nothing, di blcak man get shafted based on hypocrysy & Ferndinand , di hyper- cryte get slap ! and a launch verbal race war of im (cho- ice ) on twitter,bwoooy a tell yuh it sweet mi.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

These bloody xenophobic hypocrytes , dem crucify Saurez after di biggest fraud cuss di man bout im national back ground "spic , south american" and im respond and two english clown a argue bout gal & who a f*ck who and who black , and dem leggo dem wid nothing, di blcak man get shafted based on hypocrysy & Ferndinand , di hyper- cryte get slap ! and a launch verbal race war of im (cho- ice ) on twitter,bwoooy a tell yuh it sweet mi.
        Justice. They put themselves in a real corner as now you are going to see the hypocrisy on the Suarez thing even more now. LOL!!! Jokers.

John Amaechi, former NBA basketball player, psychologist and educator on the term 'choc ice':

"It is the idea that a black person is black only in skin colour but inside they are really white. It's a highly derogatory term. It's a dangerous term because it allows black boys especially but black people in general, to believe that there is a way of being black that is somehow distinct from being white. There are people that think if you don't wear a certain type of clothing or listen to a certain type of music you're not really black. It's a really dangerous thing. There are black boys who do less well in school because they believe by doing well there, they are acting white. To me, this is devastating for black boys and black people everywhere. It's a deeply offensive term with racial connotations."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18847477

Lawd Jesus enough already...now all b@ttyman John Amaechi a get involved ...fine and ban di whole a dem and let's move on...

min' YOU get fine and ban fi callin man dem name deh! LOL

Last time I checked the ferdinand brothers and cashley cole were all mixed race, half white, half black, essentially making them black. Can a black man be racist against his own race?

Originally posted by Shola View Post
                  Last time I checked the ferdinand brothers and cashley cole were all mixed race, half white, half black, essentially making them black. Can a black man be racist against his own race?
                  Shola - this is an excellent point and I'm sure one that bring forth many different points of view. To answer your question directly, the answer to the question "Can a black man be racist against his own race?" the answer is unequivocally YES. It goes for people of any race, not just black. The following was posted by a Chinese blogger:

I am saddened that many of these Chinese American expats say they experienced discrimination by Chinese Chinese. They mention that they are not seen as an equal to do many jobs which require a certain “international” image (a clear euphemism for white or western). They are seen as more likely to be less competent at the English language despite the fact that these Chinese Americans seem to be Native English speakers. They are seen by other Chinese in China as overall less good both professionally and perhaps overall.

I had a friend in NYC who planned to open a retail clothes store and dismissed resumes for applicants based on names alone. He (a black man) said - "I have enough to deal without the 'race thing'..." He was convinced that hiring black people would bring him more problems than hiring non-blacks. Strange, but true. His store did very well for the time he had it.

Originally posted by Shola View Post
                    If someone insults someone else by referencing their race then shouldn't that be punishable across the board? After all, isn't that what the FA wants to kick out of the game?

Or should some offenders be able to get a free pass for it depending on what their race is?

A nuff a wi ah roast bread fruit or Oreo nuh mattah how yuh cut it, ah jus calling a spade nuh abuse nuh inna dat. When man call yuh **********h or similar connotation is a diffran story dat deh

I don't care if you a racist or not, we need to get rid of the racist words in the game. Should we only punish racists?

Last thing I heard is how Terry welcome black players and donate bigtime to African charities etc. Does classify him as a racist or not?

For me if he said it he should be punished.

myYout,

What is/are the defining characteristic/s of a roast breadfruit?

Over the years I have dropped or ignored such terms from my vocabulary as I find if you pay attention to it, or are afraid of being labeled as such, it can be limiting. Just my take.

In principle I have absolutely no problem with Cole defending Terry... whether he (Cole) is misguided or plain wrong about Terry is a different question, but I don't think it (defending him) warrants the term... just my opinion.

myYout,

In principle I have absolutely no problem with Cole defending Terry... whether he (Cole) is misguided or plain wrong about Terry is a different question, but I don't think it (defending him) warrants the term... just my opinion.
                            ...with you FULL 100!

not really, and this is the ticklish point. it is hard to conceive of someone being a racist towards a person of the same race. that may take on the appearance of an ethos which is more social in nature.

if two black rappers go at each other calling other the n word, is that racist i do not think so. but if one rapper is black and the other is not, then it takes on a completely different tone.

racism has its genesis in one race belittling the other trying to establish a superior/inferior relationship ... that does not translate well intra-race...