• Pele: 1970 Brazil more gifted than Spain

Story Updated: Jul 5, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
    l SAO PAULO
    Brazil's 1970 World Cup winners contained more gifted individuals than Spain's current all-conquering national side, the Brazilian side's greatest player Pele said on Wednesday.
    Asked who would win a showdown between the two teams, Pele flashed a big smile and said: "If I was playing, we'd win, no doubt about it."
    "As long as they are comparing teams with the 1970s, it is because the 1970s team is better," he added. "(The) 1970 (team) is the standard by which others are rated."
    Spain won the European Championship for the second time in a row on Sunday and, as World Cup winners in 2010, became the first team in the post-war era to win three successive major international tournaments.
    Spain's dominance and possession-based style of play have won them comparisons with the Brazil side of 1970, widely regarded as the greatest ever.
    That team, led by Pele and featuring Rivellino, Gerson, Tostão and Jairzinho, won the World Cup in Mexico, hammering Italy 4-1 in the final.
    Pele retired from international football in 1971 and did not go to the World Cup in West Germany in 1974, where a disappointing Brazil side finished fourth.
    Pele, 71, said the difference between Brazil then and Spain today was the number of outstanding players on each team. He said Brazil were far superior on a player-by-player basis.
    "These comparisons will always be there but you can't compare them individually," he said. "Individually the 1970 team had a lot more better players than Spain, who have two or three excellent players."
    Nevertheless, the former Santos and New York Cosmos player lauded the Spaniards and said watching them was a rare pleasure.
    "Without a doubt, this Spain side play the football I've most liked to watch over the last couple of generations," he said.

Pele dont have to say nothing. Most people know which team has the more gifted players.

lol,

lol.

Originally posted by GazX View Post
          Pele dont have to say nothing. Most people know which team has the more gifted players.
          GazX, you have to realize that "most people" have never seen the 1970 team nor have they any understanding of the level that those players operated at for their clubs so not everyone has a true perspective on their skill...particularly Pele. Seeing Pele in the 1970 World Cup would be like seeing Xavi only in the Euros. For those of you who are interested, here is a nice nostalgic video of pure skill - the world hadn't seen a player like this before, and some of us would argue, haven't seen anyone like this since.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsTri...ailpage#t=102s

Spain team not even half as gifted dat is a fact. Plus di ballahs today on a whole not eben half as gifted as playahs on dat 70's Brasilian team, much less worldwide. Suh spain claim to best team evah soun like a joke fi tell di truut, ah jus mek dat guh through one ears an come out di odah.

Difficult comparisons....footballers now cover more distances, fitter too...you have better overall players on a team rather than a few standouts, faster game, lighter and better balls, better shoes and equipment...etc.....

difficult, di game remain di same. Now wi hab more so called stars who nuh produce inna international competition. How many great stars wi produce recently who produce pan di international an club level none if yuh ask mi. Since Maradona which/how much stars have been born inna modern football if yuh waan call it dat, dat is di barometer.

Not even that I showed a video with Pele using modern boots and modern ball to score one of his trade mark free kicks at age FIFTY.

Clearly, Pele was the most gifted the world has ever seen. The goal the Jair scored against Italy may look simple, but how many players of today can redirect a ball that came from so many yards out to the feet of their team mate (to score)? Pele's skill is just unattainable for these players; hence the coahes are just satisfied to see them running all over the place and adhering to tactics. As Pele rightly said "in today's game the coaches are the stars". Watching Pele and other players of yester years the most I can say is that today we are being robbed. These games should have been for free. Last but not least Brasil should not allow just any player to wear the TEN. Even a year should pass without anyone wearing it. You have to show you are worthy.

http://www.youtube.com/user/SirPeleF...ure=relchannel

El Numero Uno!!!!

Not even that I showed a video with Pele using modern boots and modern ball to score one of his trade mark free kicks at age FIFTY.

Clearly, Pele was the most gifted the world has ever seen. The goal the Jair scored against Italy may look simple, but how many players of today can redirect a ball that came from so many yards out to the feet of their team mate (to score)? Pele's skill is just unattainable for these players; hence the coahes are just satisfied to see them running all over the place and adhering to tactics. As Pele rightly said "in today's game the coaches are the stars". Watching Pele and other players of yester years the most I can say is that today we are being robbed. These games should have been for free. Last but not least Brasil should not allow just any player to wear the TEN. Even a year should pass without anyone wearing it. You have to show you are worthy.

Today that goal would be called ticky tacky with bruks, included.

Today that goal would be called ticky tacky but with bruks, included.

Most people somehow can't put into perspective that three world cup in twelve years far exceeds two regional championships and one not so impressive world cup win, regardless of who has seen what you would think basic common sense would obliterate putting such thought into play, now if they can win 2014 in south America now we start talking about competing for that title, but still there may be three of four teams right there even with that additional copa win.

Right!! when di tactics,strategy an formations rule di game, creativity an enterprise haffi tek a back seat, it so sad; Mechanical football mi call it. Ballahs of today nuh really impress mi, but many ah jump up an down like dem suh great, wi being fed much inferior footballahs an wi jus kyaan si dat. Ah hear man a call some Jamaican ballah club ballah, but most so-called stars ah di game todeh ah jus dat, mi nuh excited fi pay mi money fi si none ah dem, ongle mi yard side kah ah ongle dat side mi business wid.

Even with all of that and what brazil has achieved with multiple teams and Netherlands has shown us an incredible style of ball that at te end of the day I am not sure if I have ever seen ball played any better than the Dutch teams of the 70"s even though they never achieved the top of the mountain, even with all that, it seems Spain is playing a new type of ball, the dribbling ability is astonishing on multiple players, it even seems to me that many of their players have an astonishing skill level and incredibly quick and perceptive action and reaction to their environment in a way I have not seen before.