Moravek Boys Update

My main concern is that we can't wait another 14 years before we see a structure called an academy. What is happening with the one in Mobay? How would this academy be sustained if built? This is a question that I would like answered. Jawge, Bricky, Maudib any suggestions?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If that is the approach, then the schools will have to understand that the boys in the academy - particularly the senior ones and their best athletes - will not be able to play any other sport as they will have a year round football-only schedule. Secondly, we will have to figure out a way where the school system does not interfere with the best players from other schools training and touring together. This doesn't mean a "single" academy like you rightly pointed out, but it does mean that the best have to be working with the best. And lastly, we'd have to realize that we'd be out of step with the method used in the most proven footballing countries in the world, but that's okay as a start.
      Paul - It cannot be about high schools only!
      ...and on another overlooked area when the 'best of the best' are chosen at "x" age...often at "x + y" ...eerrrrr? ...most of the previous 'best of the best' are no longer in current 'best of the best'. They are forced to find another calling...and new 'best of the best' take their places!!!

Those who started from 6 through 8 years old and endure to become professionals are the exception rather than the rule...forget about
      (%age of those who move on to become fair professionals...and further to the next step of good professional players...and then those who attain TOP OF THE WORLD professionals status! )...many are those who are weeded out. ...and many are those who are 'late starters'.

Why on Earth would we wish to ignore our schools is puzzling!!!! No nation I know of ignore talent found in schools.

We are 'small' and it is, I would think, easier for us to put in our schools (and indeed at every other level) excellent trained teachers/coaches/technical trainers and administrators to enable a maximization of reaping/developing very best of the best of our talents to benefit of individuals, institutions, businesses, clubs and indeed the nation!!!

Why on Earth would we wish to ignore our schools is puzzling!!!! No nation I know of ignore talent found in schools.
        Could you name the players in Spain/Argentina/Italy/Brasil that were discovered in schools...thanks in advance

Have you tried Xanax ?

Could you name the players in Spain/Argentina/Italy/Brasil that were discovered in schools...thanks in advance
            Bricktop, we are not Spain/Argentina/Italy/Brazil. We have to find a system that will work for us. All these countries that you named have the resources that we do not have, not only money. Therefore, let us find what will work for us.
            "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

What resources other than "not only money" do these countries have? And Karl specifically said this happens in those countries...don't try and bail hm out

Good chat, sah!
                Wish the kids every success

soo.. why is JFF breaking ground for an Academy every month if we do not have the money to run one ????

Let us name only 1 player for each country...but based on your ranting you I am sure shall claim each is the only player who was "discovered at school".

Reseach will show many professional players joined professional clubs on or about age 17. Commonsense suggests some of these youngsters were attending schools up until they made the switch to these clubs academies or straight into the first team squad.

Surely they were not sitting at home twiddling their thumbs?

~ sigh! ~

England: Harry Redknapp -
                    At the age of 11, while playing for East London Schools football he was spotted by Dickie Walker, a Tottenham Hotspur scout
                    Spain: Iniesta -
                    He was spotted as a 12-year-old
                    Argentina: So many of the top players...past and present (Do your own research - Do not leave out Maradona...)

Italy: You should find many kids joining academies or clubs at or about age 15 or older. - Present and past excellent players included.

Brazil: Do not ignore research on Pele!

USA: You have school kids playing for their schools and playing with 'fly-by-night' traveling teams or paying to play on teams...some, for example our own Tyrone Marshall advance up the totem pole. ...

There are various ways kids advance...and various places school kids (and others) are 'spotted' by 'scouts'.

Let me repeat: I know of no country where the school system is ignored!!!
                    Last edited by Karl; July 11, 2012, 02:03 AM.

I asked you for a list of players Karl...not innuendo...Iniesta was playing club football at 12 when he was spotted...since so many top players were discovered playing schoolboy football why can't you name any...why do i have to do the research...I have done the research...I have concluded that you are blowing hot air Karl

I see that you avoid answering my question. All those countries that you listed have more than just money, they already have the infrastructure, professional leagues with self-sustaining clubs, and a longer history in the sport that is older than Jamaica.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So dem born come see the infrastructure? What is so unique about Jamaica that we always have an excuse for failure?

Money is not our greatest problem. Our greatest problem is belief. We believe we have to have millions to start everything. If we use Centralized spots it work out cheaper than any building but we want to build this building that look pretty. Who pay fulltime staff and light bill.

With the regional method you don't pay light bill, fulltime staff. Paul Campbell singlehandedly upgraded our goalkeeping accross Jamaica by working with the goalies in this fashion. Now we have 4 professional goalies and one outstanding prospect in US top D1 college.

I see that you avoid answering my question. All those countries that you listed have more than just money, they already have the infrastructure, professional leagues with self-sustaining clubs, and a longer history in the sport that is older than Jamaica.
                              Jangle, I understand your argument, but that is not the issue as I see it. I see it more as an organizational one. So here are the questions I have:

1. Will the boys that are "academy-standard" be allowed to play other sports for their schools?

2. How will these boys work together with other boys from other schools?

3. Who will they compete against?

I think if you think through #2 you will see that the schools other than having a facility don't offer much. They would also have to be in agreement with the 12-month single sport concept of an academy which means that their best athletes won't run track or play cricket.

Additionally, for an academy to work, all the best boys have to be grouped together to train and compete, so yes, you could have all the boys in the academy training at a central school like Ardenne but I don't see the school system offering much more.

4. Lastly, how do you make the academy system not threaten the schools in light of the best athletes now being dedicated to football only?

Contacts:

www.MoravekSoccerSchool.com
                                www.ezhydrocooler.com/moraveksoccerschool
                                https://twitter.com/MoravekSoccer