Moravek Boys Update

DCup and Manning Cup do not need to look into nor change anything. High school football and a football academy can coexist.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes...with those identified as exceptional talent being in academies and those with no professional football ambitions playing DCup & Manning Cup

Didn't say they can't co-exist. What I am saying is our very best 17 year olds shouldn't be playing Dcup as it is now. There is nothing more for them to learn there. I would never want them to stop DCup but there are many things that can be done, we could have D1-D2 schools or get the very best out of Dcup before they turn 17 and place them in academies or somewhere they could develop. Some countries even have under 23 teams in their top league for this purpose.

They are way to young to even think seriously about that I think. However, IF they were very very fortunate to have the opportunity? Me being American, of course I would hope they would play for the USA...but it would be there choice at the end of the day.

I agree...good points

Absolutely correct here...

No arguments from me here. However, here's something that I want the academy advocates to consider - this academy would have to be ran as a private institution. The cost factor to run such an institution would be too much for the JFF. So herein lies the crooks of my argument that in the Jamaican environment, the fastest, cheapest and most effective way to progress our football, in the short term, is to train as many coaches as possible and get them internationally certified, be it high school or club coaches, and put them back into the high school AND club system. With trained AND certified coaches within our system, THEN, we can talk about implimenting a playing style.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Whatever they do best of luck to add to all the hard work you're all putting in!

Congrats and I wish continued success for the boys.

Brethren, too many people see the Academy as a building. An academy don't have a building. It could be that the JFF have selected clubs or regional teams that they rotate the best coaches too.

Check out the Redbulls or St.Johs Academy. They don't have one place in the tri-sate area but instead they have professionals who assist clubs in their week area. They will assist in management, identifiying talent, work with your coach, and even club management. We concentrating too much on a building which we can't manage.

Thank you!!!! Hallelujah!!!! We have finally reached an agreement. We come back to both Karl and I point - the schools and the clubs can be our academies because they already have the infrastructure. We don't have to reinvent the wheel to make this thing work. It is more cost effective and practical to have the teachers go into these places to teach the basics or a Jamaican playing style which is mandated by the JFF.

If that is the approach, then the schools will have to understand that the boys in the academy - particularly the senior ones and their best athletes - will not be able to play any other sport as they will have a year round football-only schedule. Secondly, we will have to figure out a way where the school system does not interfere with the best players from other schools training and touring together. This doesn't mean a "single" academy like you rightly pointed out, but it does mean that the best have to be working with the best. And lastly, we'd have to realize that we'd be out of step with the method used in the most proven footballing countries in the world, but that's okay as a start.

in the US some club Academy starts as young as 8 year old. The kids meet at least one a week and have tournaments etc on weekend. In this academy they kids have to be excluded from all sports at high school as they could meet mainly on weekends or limited times in the week. The fact is our Dcup season is way too short and the players also need time to build strenght, work on personal weakness, etc.We could also take advantage of summer breaks etc.

Our talent kids needs to be playing much more against good opposition.

Thank you!

good points