The greatest ever team argument

• The greatest ever team argument

If the Telegraph were to conduct this 2007 poll re: the greatest teams of all time; im sure that there would be some interesting changes in ranking position following the rise of the Spanish.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/231...-all-time.html

From my point of view, certain players/ teams have brought with them ground breaking skills ie Cruyff's famous turn cut back, Pele's dummying of the Uruguayian goal keeper causing it to roll to the keeper's left, while Pelé went right. Such moments of never before seen or attempted originality helps to inspire and pushes the boundaries of what is possible to be done with a ball. So from this point of view i'll go with Brazil as im still waiting to see something "never seen before" different from the Spainish yet!!

Why mix "individuals" with "team". What you say I agree with in terms of creativity and originality, but I don't think those should cloud the way a team is judged... anyway, IMO I would go with Brazil 1970...

3 Tournaments in a row...

Never been done before..

Is that the standard to determine the best in the world? The Euros are played evey 4 years, Copa America was played every 2 years and gets pushed back/forward if its a world cup year.

Based on how this Spanish team play I have no problem with them being labelled the best ever ... but using the 3 in a row argument isn't enough.

The man define him criteria.. me point out the qualification..

Yuh argument is with him not me..

Never been done before..

Depends on what we're rating as a worthy tournament.

Had to check it up but Brazil were Panamerican Championship: Winners: 1952, & 1956 .
            The Panamerican Championship was a football tournament held by the Panamerican Football Confederation every four years from 1952 through 1960. Since the Americas' premier tournament, Copa América, was restricted to South American teams, the Panamerican Championship was an attempt to create an Americas-wide championship.

Brazil also were FIFA World Cup: Winners: in 1958, which added to the PC Championshionship makes three in a row before Spain.
            http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil_...l_team#Honours

Gwaan mek yuh owna qualifications... knock yourself out..

Ok; let me ask this. Is the Confederations Cup a recognised international tournament for competing nations from around the world?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_Confederations_Cup

FIFA Confederations Cup
                Founded 1992
                Region FIFA (International)
                Number of teams 8
                Current champions Brazil (3rd title)
                Most successful team Brazil (3 titles)
                Website Official site
                The FIFA Confederations Cup is an association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the holders of each of the six FIFA confederation championships (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC), along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

Spain lost out to the USA in the 2009 confederations cup so if we're talking 3 in row tournaments wins, then its questionable as whether Spain have achieved this.

Is who yuh ah argue wid ?

Mi nuh tink dem read di site..

Email dem wid di revelations !

How could you say this? "Ticky tacky" is new and the rest of the world needs to quickly learn this "new" football or be doomed to losses after losses ( I wonder what the US team is saying right now)

Why mix "individuals" with "team". What you say I agree with in terms of creativity and originality, but I don't think those should cloud the way a team is judged... anyway, IMO I would go with Brazil 1970...
                      Because the two are interwined with each other when discussing which is greatest teams. Such moments of sheer genius such as the Pele dummy demonstrate the brilliance of any team rated as the greatest.

How could you say this? "Ticky tacky" is new and the rest of the world needs to quickly learn this "new" football or be doomed to losses after losses ( I wonder what the US team is saying right now)
                        So Brazill couldnt retain ball and possession (ticky tacky ) when required in the 1970s?

tikki-TAKKA

Thanks a lot.

I guess you missed the sarcasm. We all know Brasil is the standard of the beautiful game.