Nice!!! BUT you can teach coaches the theoretical aspects all day, everyday, if that's not supported with the practical application, it's all for naught, because that's when coaches learn the tactical aspects of the game......I'm sure you wouldn't want a doctor who, even if he/she graduated top of their class, BUT having no surgical experience to perform brain or open heart surgery on you.
Mosiah said he saw Burrell in Brazil with Clovis, so hopefully he's trying to get them that NECESSARY & NEEDED practical training & experience.
I would love to see them continuing to send more coaches overseas for development courses like these, maybe to USA and Mexico or to other SA countries like Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay.
You may have missed where I said this.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
A Barzil FA or FIFA coaching course?
If so waste of time.
If it is joining Santos or Corinthians, etc...to learn from the coaches and be spectators at training sessions, observers and sitting in on technical review of the matches...and being active as students...then that is worth-while.
How so? Would it be worthwhile to send them to England instead?
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
AFTER almost 20 hours of travel, 14 of the 15 registered coaches arrived at the Traffic Academy in Porto Feliz, Sao Paulo, Brazil at approximately 10:30 am local time (8:30 am Jamaica time) on Sunday.
Lester Smith of Grenada was expected to arrive some time the following day. Present on the course are Andrew Edwards, National U-20 men's coach; Andrew Price, technical director Boys' Town FC; Junior Francis, Reno FC; Laurence Garriques, UTech; Jeffrey Hewitt and Calvin Lewis of Red Stripe Premier League champions Portmore; Harold Thomas of Harbour View; David Pryce of Volvo; Marcel Gayle of Waterhouse; Alvin Shaw of Tivoli FC; Vassel Reynolds and Nigel Stewart of Sporting Central; and Jamaal Shabazz and Wayne Dover of Guyana's National Football team.
Coaches (front row from left) Jamaal Shabazz, Laurence Garriques, Calvin Lewis, Junior Francis, Marcel Gayle, Jeffrey Hewitt and Wayne Dover; (Back row from left) Alvin Shaw, David Pryce, Andrew Edwards, Andrew Price, Vassell Reynolds, Nigel Stewart and Harold Thomas pose shortly after arriving at the Traffic Football Academy in Brazil. Gayle, Jeffrey Hewitt and Wayne Dover; (Back row from left) Alvin Srice, Vassell Reynolds, Nigel Stewart and Harold Thomas pose shortly after arriving at the Traffic Football Academy in Brazil.
After lunch the course got off to a sprightly start. Professor Walter Gama, technical director of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), welcomed the participants to the course, Traffic Academy and Brazil.
Gam postulated that "Knowledge and Discipline" shall be the slogan for the course, which represents the critical areas of focus he wishes to develop among participants.
Daniel Gama, one of the co-ordinators, led the opening lecture, introducing participants to the course content, expectations and materials.
He outlined the structure which covers topics ranging from theoretical and practical frameworks of new perspectives in coaching, training and intervention based on science and didactic observations of training sessions and matches.
The instructors will include experienced football professionals and sport science researchers. Among those slated to give lectures/presentations are Professor Walter Gama, Daniel Gama, Rodolfo Canavesi, Marcio Amoroso, Nivaldo Baldo, Ana Maria Pellegrini, Lucas G`oes, Anderson Gongora, Marcella Cesar, Victorino Freire, Rene Simoes, Fabio Matias, Renato Molina, Emerson Viera Marinho, Clovis Alberto Franciscon, and Anahy Couto.
Although suffering from obvious jet-lag, lethargy and sheer exhaustion, the cadre of coaches in attendance exhibited plenty of grit, determination and zeal to optimise this opportunity for personal development and by extension the development of Jamaica's football. In the words of Andrew Price, "the experience thus far has been very good, the camaraderie amongst the coaches excellent".
Price also said "the course content is very interesting" and that he found the first presentation done by Rodolfo Canavesi to be ]"very thought-provoking and a testament to how far behind we (Jamaica) are in terms of football development".[/SIZE]
David Pryce of Volvo FC claimed: "Thus far this has been a great eye-opener in terms of presentation and professional football. I am glad for the exposure to the Traffic Academy environment and experience, and to see first-hand a world-class football facility."
He also said he is anxiously looking forward to the remainder of the course.
In describing the first day interactions, Daniel Gama opined that "the group is a very committed one, showing plenty of interest, attentiveness and desire to learn". He sees this as "a great opportunity for both the participants and the co-ordinators to learn from each other as we all seek to improve our respective (football) communities".
The course promises to be an excellent experience for all the participants. Already discussions are heating up about commercialisation of and in the sport and professional football. A quote from Rodolfo Canavesi: "Traffic Sports exist not for the love of football, but because someone realised that it is good business, articulates fully where I believe those of us involved with the game locally needs to focus our energies."
Please note the terms used?
Nothing about the actual playing of football. In other words no TEACHING METHODS...to enable the students (our coaches) to prepare a TEAM for and at playing the game.
I listened in on a FIFA coaching course in 1971 - (I think it was. I was on the FIFA Referees course - Got my certificate...have a copy in my scrap book) - tremendous lecturers on nutrition...bonding of the TEAM-mates, importance of discipline, psychology...and much other stuff related to off the field activities. Nothing on spacing and time management! ...passing and movement...nothing on technical aspects of kicking...nothing on use of marking on the field to determine angles on shots when under pressure=limited time and space in which to execute shot on goal...nothing on play...actual field work to help the coaches to organize and demand of players movement and passing...defending and attacking...etc., etc. In other words nothing about getting your TEAM to play quality football.
Well if you still have doubts about the waste of time of those courses then please note that our national coaches of our youth TEAM all have coaching certificates from FIFA, Brazil and UEFA and the result is crappy players and crapy TEAMs. No organization! No good structure! No sweet passing and movement and definitely poor returns on scoring of goals!!!! That is as a result of not going on sabbaticals to improve knowledge on teaching of football.
Please note the terms used?
Nothing about the actual playing of football. In other words no TEACHING METHODS...to enable the students (our coaches) to prepare a TEAM for and at playing the game.
I listened in on a FIFA coaching course in 1971 - (I think it was. I was on the FIFA Referees course - Got my certificate...have a copy in my scrap book) - tremendous lecturers on nutrition...bonding of the TEAM-mates, importance of discipline, psychology...and much other stuff related to off the field activities. Nothing on spacing and time management! ...passing and movement...nothing on technical aspects of kicking...nothing on use of marking on the field to determine angles on shots when under pressure=limited time and space in which to execute shot on goal...nothing on play...actual field work to help the coaches to organize and demand of players movement and passing...defending and attacking...etc., etc. In other words nothing about getting your TEAM to play quality football.
Well if you still have doubts about the waste of time of those courses then please note that our national coaches of our youth TEAM all have coaching certificates from FIFA, Brazil and UEFA and the result is crappy players and crapy TEAMs. No organization! No good structure! No sweet passing and movement and definitely poor returns on scoring of goals!!!! That is as a result of not going on sabbaticals to improve knowledge on teaching of football.
My take on it is simple Karl, the JFF organizes the coaching courses in Jamaica, get decent Instructors to do the courses. If coaches wan't to improve their craft then they should find the means to go about it. The JFF's responsibility then is for the coaches in the national set up.