• Shearer says England cannot win World Cup

Euro 2012: Alan Shearer says England cannot win World Cup

Former captain Alan Shearer believes England have no chance of winning the 2014 World Cup and are "a million miles away" from the top international sides.

Roy Hodgson's side were knocked out of Euro 2012 by Italy on penalties.

"I don't attach any blame to Roy Hodgson," Shearer told BBC Sport. "But I don't go along with the idea England go home with their heads held high.

"It's no good sitting here saying we will win the World Cup in two years' time. The reality is we will not."

(continue)

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
    Euro 2012: Alan Shearer says England cannot win World Cup

Former captain Alan Shearer believes England have no chance of winning the 2014 World Cup and are "a million miles away" from the top international sides.

Roy Hodgson's side were knocked out of Euro 2012 by Italy on penalties.

"I don't attach any blame to Roy Hodgson," Shearer told BBC Sport. "But I don't go along with the idea England go home with their heads held high.

"It's no good sitting here saying we will win the World Cup in two years' time. The reality is we will not."

(continue)

Can anybody on here tell me what the difference Lee Dixon is speaking of:
    "If you go and watch how they teach kids to play football on the continent, they are all doing it a different way to us."

well I can speak to the difference with us.. we for one don't believe in Academies..

Okay - but he's talking about "how they play" not infrastructure or method. Gamma in other thread said that they play route 1 football in England and that they kill creativity. The reason I ask the question is that everyone is saying they need to change but I haven't heard one pundit or critic (high (like rio or shaerer) or low (like unu)) who has said precisely what they should be doing.

I am very impressed for example with my daugther's new club here in Ft. Lauderdale. They spend a TON of time teaching the girls (U13) to touch the ball with all sides of their feet and are making them memorize and perfect certain moves. Each of the girls have to pick 3 moves that they will MASTER by the start of the season. Another thing is that this club has a 12 month training season. You are "allowed" 2-4 weeks off for holidays and other commitments (school, religion etc.) but otherwise, all training sessions are mandatory.

I am seriously jealous.

Okay - but he's talking about "how they play" not infrastructure or method. Gamma in other thread said that they play route 1 football in England and that they kill creativity. The reason I ask the question is that everyone is saying they need to change but I haven't heard one pundit or critic (high (like rio or shaerer) or low (like unu)) who has said precisely what they should be doing.

I am very impressed for example with my daugther's new club here in Ft. Lauderdale. They spend a TON of time teaching the girls (U13) to touch the ball with all sides of their feet and are making them memorize and perfect certain moves. Each of the girls have to pick 3 moves that they will MASTER by the start of the season. Another thing is that this club has a 12 month training season. You are "allowed" 2-4 weeks off for holidays and other commitments (school, religion etc.) but otherwise, all training sessions are mandatory.

I am seriously jealous.
          Ok where shall i start? In England the kids start playing competitive football too early and it develop a win at all cost mentality, so when kids should be concentrating on playing small sided games getting as many touches of the ball practicing close control and dribbling etc they are under pressure playing league football to win. So what happens the youngsters just kick it long or do what ever it takes to win the coaches try to find the bigger faster stronger boys and the smaller boys a lot of them with great skills get left behind. The kids also start playing on full size pitches too early they start at u 11's. In Holland and Spain more time is spent developing skills and they play small sided games for the youngsters ensuring that attacking and defensive players develop alike. I hope this gives you a better insight.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            Ok where shall i start? In England the kids start playing competitive football too early and it develop a win at all cost mentality, so when kids should be concentrating on playing small sided games getting as many touches of the ball practicing close control and dribbling etc they are under pressure playing league football to win. So what happens the youngsters just kick it long or do what ever it takes to win the coaches try to find the bigger faster stronger boys and the smaller boys a lot of them with great skills get left behind. The kids also start playing on full size pitches too early they start at u 11's. In Holland and Spain more time is spent developing skills and they play small sided games for the youngsters ensuring that attacking and defensive players develop alike. I hope this gives you a better insight.
            It seems like you're advocating the system we use here in America. I understand the concept, but I didn't realize that kids start playing big field at U11 over there, here it is U13. Also, in the 4 years my daughter has been playing, I don't think I have ever seen a league table or heard it discussed. They play tournaments more than anything else.

Cant win without a midfiled!

It seems like you're advocating the system we use here in America. I understand the concept, but I didn't realize that kids start playing big field at U11 over there, here it is U13. Also, in the 4 years my daughter has been playing, I don't think I have ever seen a league table or heard it discussed. They play tournaments more than anything else.
                Paul I think sometimes we don't give enough credit to what we have. Based on what I see youth soccer here is better until the age of about 12 here. The FA and clubs are more active, maybe because of the money they can make here will the money is selling the final product in England. While club soccer is bigger here for kids, school soccer is mostly what I hear the youth talking about there and I don't see much for kids under 6 at least in Birmingham. It maybe there but unlike in some states that you don't have to go around looking.

My problem with the system here is the disparity in coaching and the competitiveness between clubs. The rivalry is not a healthy one and totally unlike our rivalry in Jamaica school football where the competition was built on a common framework of sportsmanship and respect. But what they do have is the facilities, the commitment and the structure.

a PROPER midfield.

england's response is probably to restrict non-english in the prem but they will that that did not work previously either (1966 being the anomoly that it is). The prem is anout getting good players and if the english payers are the best then it will follow but for the inflated price tag on them ... i did not call carroll's name ....

i would say let the market decide but as kraft pointed out, as a business epl football does not conform to accepted business models regarding profitability.

england's response is probably to restrict non-english in the prem
                      How will they do that without violating European law?

Yes there is a disparity in coaching but part of the reason is people with experience in the game don't want to do it for many different reasons. The chance is there for coaches to educate themselves through the FA. Yep the rivalry is not there like in Ja or like football in some places in the South but the only good thing is that the kids play often and if in an academy it is year round thing.

if they want to they can find a way...eg .. no more than X amount of non-english players on the pitch or something like that.

that would hurt those african and other non eu players who do not have an EU passport, but i would guess players like adebayor, pa********e cisse demba ba ... the asian players ...

it would be a silly thing to do, but they did it in cricket to hamstring west indies cricket

if they want to they can find a way...eg .. no more than X amount of non-english players on the pitch or something like that.

that would hurt those african and other non eu players who do not have an EU passport, but i would guess players like adebayor, pa********e cisse demba ba ... the asian players ...

it would be a silly thing to do, but they did it in cricket to hamstring west indies cricket
                            All European countries can limit non-EU players and many do. I'm not sure what the English Premier League's policy is on them, but already with their work permit policy they're limiting non-EU players to a certain extent.

However, they cannot limit non-English players if those players are in the possession of an EU passport.

I have no pity for them , none the day is fast approaching when the USA can whip their asses on a regular.

The hype is just that hype! If Jamaica gets its house in order we can too.I have no fear that we will get there , even at snail pace , we are moving faster than the english FA.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.