• Hodgson starts the blame game ..lol..typical

Rooney did not live up to our expectations, admits Hodgson
    By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
    PUBLISHED: 18:19 EST, 25 June 2012 | UPDATED: 18:19 EST, 25 June 2012
    Comments (2)

Roy Hodgson admits Wayne Rooney failed to live up to expectations as England crashed out of Euro 2012 but insists the fitness of the striker was not an issue.

Head coach Hodgson was aware of the pressure on Rooney to perform at his best after returning from a two-match ban for his sending off against Montenegro in a qualifying game last October.

But, after scoring the winner against Ukraine, Rooney was below par in the quarter-final defeat by Italy in Kiev last night when England were beaten 4-2 on penalties after a goalless 120 minutes.

No impact: Wayne Rooney could not make his mark against Italy
    Hodgson said: 'I think we put a lot of expectations on Wayne.

'When he missed the first two games, we were all believing that what we needed to do was to get to the third game and Wayne Rooney will win us the championships.

'That maybe was too much to ask of him. Wayne certainly tried very hard, but he didn't have his best game. I think he would admit that.'

But Hodgson conceded it was natural for the onus to be on the top players to perform on the biggest stages.

He said: 'Do we put too much expectation on Rooney? Well we do, but so do other teams with their players, don't they?

'I think had (Andrea) Pirlo played poorly last night, it might have affected the Italians' performance.

Upset: Rooney was distraught as England lost on penalties
    'I think in all top international teams, you're looking at one, two, possibly three individuals that everyone recognises as being exceptional world-class talents.

'When you get to the big stage, you're hoping those players perform and show they're world-class talents, like the Maradonas that win Argentina a World Cup with his performance.'

Rooney went on holiday in Las Vegas at the end of the domestic season and was pictured at a nightclub until the early hours.

But Hodgson was adamant Rooney was fit and up to speed in training sessions even though his only action in six weeks before returning against Ukraine was as a second half substitute against Belgium.

When asked if the Las Vegas trip was ideal, Hodgson said: 'Well, we haven't noticed anything with his fitness levels. We've monitored his fitness levels and in training he has looked very fit.

Expectant: Roy Hodgson admits he hoped for more from Rooney
    'In the first game (against Ukraine) he didn't show any particular signs of lacking any fitness and he played the 120 minutes last night.

'I think what you might be saying is that you're a bit disappointed with his performance and maybe thought he could have played better.

'It's not necessarily related to this (Rooney's fitness). You could put fitness down to anything. That was the classic Italian trick. Every time an Italian team loses a game, you hear they're not fit.

'You can put a lot of things down to fitness, but there was no reason for us to doubt his fitness. His running stats in the training sessions and the games were actually very good.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/eur...#ixzz1yr8RquGQ

Wha Dunny say , get some younger youth fi carry out Hodgson master plan , so you concede dem nuh good enough.
    Last edited by Karl; June 26, 2012, 10:37 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mi see man cuss bout how Capello clueless and the team look confused under him. It was all his fault. Now it change to "we have the right coach" and "the players weren't quite good enough" LOL

Wish them luck in qualifiers.
    Last edited by Me; June 25, 2012, 09:17 PM.

Same way dem cuss liverpool but it was Rafa dead wood and Hodgson have to root dem out , hypercrytete dem.

Dunny all a bawl bout dem need some young yute now...lol...Sass clueless from day 1 , im rate im as good caoch and all im waan see is good football.

Well di most expensive squad in Euro 2012 get knock out ...yuh ear mi most expensive !

Excuse mi 3rd most Xpensive

Spanish is The Most Expensive Team in Euro 2012
      Written By adsense ku on Jumat, 08 Juni 2012 | 9:09:00 PM

Spanish is the most expensive team based on players' transfer values ​​among the 16 teams European Cup finals in 2012. The total value of the 23 players on the squad Vicente Del Bosque has currently reached 653 million euros, or an average of 28.4 million euros per person.

Germany ranks second with a total value of 469 million euros followed by English (394 million euros), France (344 million euros), Portugal (332 million euros) and Italy (306 million euros). Meanwhile, the Republic of Ireland occupies the position of caretaker for a total of only 72 million euros, or an average of 3.1 million euros per player.

This data is the result of research by economists Brazil, Fernando Pinto, for Pluriconsultoría company.

Spanish superiority was confirmed by their inclusion of nine players in the list of 21 most expensive player of the total 368 players involved in the tournament in Ukraine and Poland this.

Meanwhile, the British just put a player on this list is Manchester United striker, Wayne Rooney, who valued 65 million euros. On the other hand, Portugal put the two players, Cristiano Ronaldo (90 million euros) and Nani (33 million euros).

Total value of all 16 teams Euro 2012 was 3.756 billion euros and this figure puts the European Cup this time as the third most expensive tournament after the World Cup 2010, which consists of 32 teams with a value of 5.3 billion euros and last season's Champions League which also includes 32 team (since the group phase) with a value of 5.2 billion euros.

Orgullosos De Nuestra Seleccion or which means "We're Proud of the National Team" emblazoned on the fuselage to carry the Spanish entourage landed at Lech Walesa, Gdansk, Tuesday evening or Wednesday morning GMT (5/6).

The slogan that really reflects Spain in Euro 2012. Not just because of the status of La Furia Roja, as the title for the Spanish champions, but also because of Iker Casillas et ordain themselves as the most expensive squad in Poland-Ukraine. As reported by Spanish sports daily AS yesterday (6/6), an economist from Brazil named Fernando Pinto do research on the commercial value of each contestant Euro. The result, of the 16 contestants, the Spanish occupied the player with the most expensive price tag than others.

Tag of 23 players in the squad for Spain reached EUR 653 million or around Rp 7.6 trillion (an exchange rate of EUR 1 = USD 11 711). Vastly superior to the German squad with EUR 469 million (USD 5.4 trillion), Britain with EUR 394 million (Rp 4.6 trillion), and France with EUR 344 million (more than $ 4 trillion)

In his research, Pinto uses a reference value transfers with Euro currency inflation now. Status of the team that carried the most expensive Spanish actually is not too surprising. That squad as La Furia Roja penggawa dominated the top two clubs and the glamor in Europe today, Barcelona and Real Madrid.

When averaged, each player Spain has a tag of EUR 24.8 million (USD 290 billion). Compare with the official average of the cheapest players who belong to the Republic of Ireland player. Namely, only EUR 3.1 million (USD 36.3 billion). While the most expensive player at Euro 2012 was predictable. Who else if not the world's most expensive player at this time, Cristiano Ronaldo with EUR 90 million or more than Rp 1 trillion.

Meanwhile, if calculated all the players (368 players) involved in Euro 2012, reaching EUR 3.756 billion banderolnya or more than Rp 43.89 trillion. It makes the euro this year as the tournament's most valuable after the third round of the 2010 World Cup and the main draw or the Champions League group stage last season (2011-2012).

For comparison, the 2010 World Cup has a tag of EUR 5.3 billion or a total of more than Rp 62 trillion. But, it was already supposed to remember the 2010 World Cup contestants involve a team of more than Euro 2012 (32 teams) so that the amount of players automatically are also more than twice as many (736).

Pinto also analyze the commercial value of each group of Euro in research. The result, Group C occupied Spain was as expensive as group B occupied by Germany and Portugal with EUR 1.18 billion (Rp 13.8 trillion) or accounted for 31 percent of the overall value. Group D followed by EUR 964 million (26 percent) and most inferior group A with only EUR 437 million (12%).

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rafael Benitez: England have the talent – but not the philosophy

How can you play the Barcelona way if you don't have Xavi, Iniesta and Messi? It is better to decide on a system

TUESDAY 26 JUNE 2012

in
        While much of the hype is justified, Neymar has a great deal to learn about playing against tough de...

iBet: Maria Sharapova may be the Wimbledon favourite but…

Sharapova does appear to have a decent draw and seems more focused.

What if England had not only fluked their way past Italy but achieved a similar “miracle” in both th...

Related articles

• edu

That was a very good experience for the young English players, however disheartened they may have been as they came home yesterday. Going into extra time and penalties in a tournament quarter-final like that will serve them well. But the Italians had more quality – we can't ignore that – and though the Football Association is trying to change things, we cannot disguise that it is still a long way off creating a system which enables England's players to compete with the very best in Europe, or the world.

I think Italy had an incentive to prove on Sunday night that their football is good, because they are no longer on top in the Champions League competitions now, and they really did demonstrate the technical distance between the two nations. There are many changes required in the way this country develops its young players. To make them more competitive, England above all need the clubs to decide on the style of football they want to play, from academy right through to first team. They must then coach the coaches in that style and then coach the players.

For me, there is a very big weakness in the system when the players reach 18. At that age, a player in England who is not quite at the required level to play in the Premier League has to go off on loan to a League One or Two team, where it is very difficult for him to develop the basic skills in the way he would at his club. The style and standard of coaching will probably just not be the same.

Those players who are of a slightly better standard but still not quite good enough to play in the Premier League will end up sitting on the first-team bench, and could be stuck there for years. Take Scott Carson, for example. He was the best player at Leeds United and then joined us at Liverpool, but he hardly played a game for three years.

When I arrived at Liverpool, this problem struck me and I said that our reserve team should play in the Football League pyramid. I wanted to use the experience of my years as a player and manager of the Real Madrid reserve team, which played in the Spanish second division. Joining the pyramid was important, but nobody wanted to hear or listen and I was told that I was going against an English tradition by suggesting this. I think people can see the problem a little clearer now.

If we assume the English reserve teams will not be allowed to compete in the pyramid, the only way to create matches for these young players is by making the Reserve League a proper Under-21 national competition, which allows teams to select a limited number of first-team players to help them recover from injury or keep match-fit. I know the Premier League is working on this for next season. It must be a competitive Under-21 league in spirit.
        But it is the introduction of the same style of play throughout a club – and seriously investing in the coaching system to make that happen – which underpins the creation of more technically equipped players, and it was in the final year at Liverpool that we linked the academy and club more closely to make that possible.

There are plenty of myths about this idea of one style of football running throughout the club. For example, just because Barcelona have become such a successful club, everybody now talks about wanting to play "like Barcelona". But we were talking about having a consistent style throughout the club at Real Madrid over 15 years ago. How can you play "the Barcelona way" if you don't have Xavi, Iniesta and Messi?

It is more realistic to decide on a system; deciding, for instance, that you want to play the ball on the floor, not in the air, and then you need to create a philosophy at your club where everyone has the same one. You stick to it, no matter who is manager, and you appoint a manager with that vision. (If it's a non-football person who decides on the vision, it could be a problem.)

At Liverpool, we created this link between the academy and the first team by appointing Pep Segura, who had been at Barcelona, as the academy's technical director, with Rodolfo Borrell as Under-18s coach. We agreed which systems we would use and which style. In England, the individuals who are asked to coach the coaches and help spread the playing philosophy are very, very important. You can't just work with computers and databases of young footballers.

I have also been advocating for several years that clubs should be allowed to recruit young players from anywhere and that change, now allowed for in the Premier League EPPP document, cannot come soon enough. At Real Madrid, we trialled hundreds of boys a year from Madrid and all over Spain. If the best cannot work with the best, they will not progress.

I don't think England should be too worried about the number of overseas players in the Premier League. The country's young footballers can learn from those players, their different styles and ideas. And I don't think that the 4-4-2 system which Roy Hodgson used at the European Championship will prevent technically talented players being put to best use for the national side. The 4-4-2 style can become 4-2-3-1 when a team attacks. It's the football philosophy that counts, not the system.

It is a question of what you want to do when you are in possession and what you want to do when you are not in possession. It is about people having more ambition, more confidence in their game to try things out and to get into the box. The improvement in basic technical skill that we are talking about and the confidence in a philosophy which is instilled into players will solve the problems. I have been saying this for a number of years but it is very hard to be heard sometimes!

England have to look forward. Finding top players is not the problem. The potential is out there, all around. It is how to develop it which people should be talking about.

Miki's death puts Euros in perspective
        The death at the weekend of one of the first players I signed at Liverpool, Miki Roque, has really put the European Championship into perspective for me.

It was a shock, because when I was in contact with Miki's family after he was diagnosed with a tumour in his pelvis last year it seemed that the operation had gone well.

He came to us from a modest level of Spanish football and threw himself into English life.

Of all the Spanish players I have signed, I don't know if any had such good as English as Miki.

He came on in the Champions League for us at Galatasaray and in the end he returned to Spain to further his career at Real Betis.

He was a friend of our Austrian forward Besian Idrizaj, another player whose life was lost when he suffered a heart attack, two years ago. The game of football really is the most insignificant thing. Rest in peace, Miki.

'Champions League Dreams' by Rafael Benitez, is published in September by Headline Books. Rafael’s website, rafabenitez.com, provides more tactical analysis and insight into Euro 2012 and wider football issues

Last edited by Karl; June 26, 2012, 10:42 AM.

Same way dem cuss liverpool but it was Rafa dead wood and Hodgson have to root dem out , hypercrytete dem.

Dunny all a bawl bout dem need some young yute now...lol...Sass clueless from day 1 , im rate im as good caoch and all im waan see is good football.

Well di most expensive squad in Euro 2012 get knock out ...yuh ear mi most expensive !

Excuse mi 3rd most Xpensive

Spanish is The Most Expensive Team in Euro 2012
          Written By adsense ku on Jumat, 08 Juni 2012 | 9:09:00 PM

Spanish is the most expensive team based on players' transfer values ​​among the 16 teams European Cup finals in 2012. The total value of the 23 players on the squad Vicente Del Bosque has currently reached 653 million euros, or an average of 28.4 million euros per person.

Germany ranks second with a total value of 469 million euros followed by English (394 million euros), France (344 million euros), Portugal (332 million euros) and Italy (306 million euros). Meanwhile, the Republic of Ireland occupies the position of caretaker for a total of only 72 million euros, or an average of 3.1 million euros per player.

This data is the result of research by economists Brazil, Fernando Pinto, for Pluriconsultoría company.

Spanish superiority was confirmed by their inclusion of nine players in the list of 21 most expensive player of the total 368 players involved in the tournament in Ukraine and Poland this.

Meanwhile, the British just put a player on this list is Manchester United striker, Wayne Rooney, who valued 65 million euros. On the other hand, Portugal put the two players, Cristiano Ronaldo (90 million euros) and Nani (33 million euros).

Total value of all 16 teams Euro 2012 was 3.756 billion euros and this figure puts the European Cup this time as the third most expensive tournament after the World Cup 2010, which consists of 32 teams with a value of 5.3 billion euros and last season's Champions League which also includes 32 team (since the group phase) with a value of 5.2 billion euros.

Orgullosos De Nuestra Seleccion or which means "We're Proud of the National Team" emblazoned on the fuselage to carry the Spanish entourage landed at Lech Walesa, Gdansk, Tuesday evening or Wednesday morning GMT (5/6).

The slogan that really reflects Spain in Euro 2012. Not just because of the status of La Furia Roja, as the title for the Spanish champions, but also because of Iker Casillas et ordain themselves as the most expensive squad in Poland-Ukraine. As reported by Spanish sports daily AS yesterday (6/6), an economist from Brazil named Fernando Pinto do research on the commercial value of each contestant Euro. The result, of the 16 contestants, the Spanish occupied the player with the most expensive price tag than others.

Tag of 23 players in the squad for Spain reached EUR 653 million or around Rp 7.6 trillion (an exchange rate of EUR 1 = USD 11 711). Vastly superior to the German squad with EUR 469 million (USD 5.4 trillion), Britain with EUR 394 million (Rp 4.6 trillion), and France with EUR 344 million (more than $ 4 trillion)

In his research, Pinto uses a reference value transfers with Euro currency inflation now. Status of the team that carried the most expensive Spanish actually is not too surprising. That squad as La Furia Roja penggawa dominated the top two clubs and the glamor in Europe today, Barcelona and Real Madrid.

When averaged, each player Spain has a tag of EUR 24.8 million (USD 290 billion). Compare with the official average of the cheapest players who belong to the Republic of Ireland player. Namely, only EUR 3.1 million (USD 36.3 billion). While the most expensive player at Euro 2012 was predictable. Who else if not the world's most expensive player at this time, Cristiano Ronaldo with EUR 90 million or more than Rp 1 trillion.

Meanwhile, if calculated all the players (368 players) involved in Euro 2012, reaching EUR 3.756 billion banderolnya or more than Rp 43.89 trillion. It makes the euro this year as the tournament's most valuable after the third round of the 2010 World Cup and the main draw or the Champions League group stage last season (2011-2012).

For comparison, the 2010 World Cup has a tag of EUR 5.3 billion or a total of more than Rp 62 trillion. But, it was already supposed to remember the 2010 World Cup contestants involve a team of more than Euro 2012 (32 teams) so that the amount of players automatically are also more than twice as many (736).

Pinto also analyze the commercial value of each group of Euro in research. The result, Group C occupied Spain was as expensive as group B occupied by Germany and Portugal with EUR 1.18 billion (Rp 13.8 trillion) or accounted for 31 percent of the overall value. Group D followed by EUR 964 million (26 percent) and most inferior group A with only EUR 437 million (12%).
          X, me and you a go fight tiday, a weh you a call up mi name fah? Jus louw Roy mek him revolutionize the ting zeen!!

Low X make him xpress him wealth of knowledge.

Roy had the side for little over 30 days so... It is no SHAME to lose to Italy on penalty kicks in that stage of the competition.

For them the glass is always half-empty, them never see no positive yet. England needs a lot of things but no reason why they can't come again.

Originally posted by Me View Post
              Mi see man cuss bout how Capello clueless and the team look confused under him. It was all his fault. Now it change to "we have the right coach" and "the players weren't quite good enough" LOL

Wish them luck in qualifiers.
              Capello was earning 6 million pounds a year and had a far superior squad to take to South Africa with, and what did the team do? USA 1-1 England, Algeria 0-0 England, Slovenia 0-1 England they were lucky to beat Slovenia and got absolutely ripped apart by a young German team in the first knockout stage for the record Germany 4-1 England. Capello did nothing as an England manager he was an absolute waste of money.

Rooney, Rooney dis ballah nuh show nutten inna international chmp'ship yet to date. Ah wonder why him get di label as worl class. Him an Messi fall inna di said bout, wicked in league but invisible inna all major chmp'ship to date

look at his friendly record. LOL. That is all they are going by. Is not like England achieved anything under Capello. Same way he took it same way he left it.

hmmm ..... both got knocked out at the elimination stage by a world cup winner, both had 2 draws and a win in the group stage.

it seems to me that they achieved the same damn thing!!!!

LOL .

What was far superior about Capello squad? Better you stop tell lie. Same set of players whose technical ability get exposed at the International level against the top teams.

All of a sudden Glenn Johnson, Ashley Cole, John Terry and One leg Ledley/Matthew Upson FAR superior to Glenn Johnson, Ashley Cole, John Terry and Lescott?

Barry, Gerrard, Lampard, Millner/Lennon FAR superior to Gerrard, Parker, Young, Millner/Walcott?

Rooney and Crouch is FAR superior to Rooney and Wellbeck?

Their performance against Italy was not any less disgraceful than that German performance. At least against Germany they tried to attack. They were pathetic. As was Roy.

And neither has Roy. And neither have half of the other coaches of that team over the past 20 years. At least him can say him qualify them for every tournament.

Mi wish them luck in the WC qualifiers.

That's describing the England team as a whole and individually myYout.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Low X make him xpress him wealth of knowledge.

Roy had the side for little over 30 days so... It is no SHAME to lose to Italy on penalty kicks in that stage of the competition.

For them the glass is always half-empty, them never see no positive yet. England needs a lot of things but no reason why they can't come again.
                            I guess you accentuate the positive - It is no SHAME to lose to Italy on penalty kicks in that stage of the competition - and that has its place butt if you seek improvement then you must go on to mention how to bridge the gap in quality between Italy and England.

It is facing the fact of England being played off the park that is the 'real story'. If that is not 'hugged up' then it is all about being 2nd class at this level and living in 'hope'...always wishing we (England) can nick a win here and there rather than becoming a 2nd class team at this level.

Unfortunately that seeing comfort in being 2nd class appears to be how our JFF and our many fans view our REGGAE BOYZ. Somehow I just cannot shake the view that we (our REGGAE BOYZ) are 1st class potential just waiting to 'bust out'! ...afterall (Let us shout!) TALENT ABOUNDS!

That's describing the England team as a whole and individually myYout.
                              That is his point. England is over-rated. While I don't agree with him 100% I can see his point. I think that individually, any of England's players can reasonably be considered bonafide internationals. What they lack (as Rafa said) is a system. They don't play with any intent and have no real philosophy. X was right (shaddup!) when he said "route 1 football" because they have a tendency to go that way under pressure more than the top teams. There is a mental switch that they need to throw before they go to international games. The second thing that needs to happen is that more English players need to go abroad and play in Spain, Italy and Germany. There was not one player on the team that wasn't in the Prem.