I hope Tappa and the team [is] watchin'...

• I hope Tappa and the team [is] watchin'...

..........ALL The European Championship 2012 games.

There are no weak teams.

The first football lesson is: the importance of defense.

Although some do it better than others--it's just incredible to see what teams do when they don't have the ball. Spain, Germany, Italy are masters of defence....

The other lesson is simplicity. One touch and two touch football. The European teams have mastered the art of football simplicity. This translate into good ball management.

I hope Tappa and the team [is] watchin'.

The gap between a good Euro defender and ours is... wide..

Examine if you will Claude Davis vs [Pick One]

The balance/composure issue alone.. last minute sticking a foot.. blocking crosses.. off-side traps executed in the 18 yard box !!

as for the heading... aimless and clumsy... some times straight up innah di air..

Our Throw-ins in our half ?.. advantage opponent..

Wi ah guh WC sed way doh..and will still give US a run fi dem money.. !!

You know Maudib, a-muss admit you can be reasonable at times.

All the technical issues you have outlined are accurate.

I hope your last sentence comes through. I would have two reasons to cheer in Brazil!!

HL, thank you for raising the point. I watched the England vs Sweden game the other day and was very impressed with the English defense and strategy. Like everybody, I love to watch attacking sides like Spain, but we tend to miss the art of defending and not crediting defenders when they excel. England had two lines of defense and John Terry was superb in that marshalling the defense. At one point they were using the offside trap and you could have drawn a straight line behind the defenders when they moved up. The level comes through playing together regularly and being drilled, and also each player understanding his role and the coach's strategy and executing it.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes Sir...Jangle, last night's game--Portugal v. Czech Rep. was a classic in defensive football. Both teams did an excellent job till Ronaldo's speed took advantage of a slow to react Czech defense...

A pity that a team had to lose.

Watch what Spain, Germany, England...does when they don't have the ball....

It also comes down to which team makes the most mistakes.

(Sad to say, but teams like Jamaica who make lots of error...are always beaten by teams that make few mistakes).

Ja has to move away from high school football first. If there is difficulty in building a football academy and staffing it with quality people, outsource it. how? By sending six players annually to Brasil. back up these with matching funds and concessions in our agri sector with the Brasilian govt.

Granted an independent scout would have to come to make the selection or only players from one part of the island would go (it is what it is, have to be real).

If not the same low quality will be on display for Ja.

I disagree with here Jawge, instead of sending six players to Brasil, why not send six coaches.

On a didfferent point. Last night on FSC, Bobby McMahon put up the statistics showing the percentage of completed passes made by the two teams, and it was very revealing. He broke down the percentage into 4 quarters of the game. It showed how the Czechs game deteriorated as the game went on. The Portuguese maintained a 80-odd percentage throughout the game.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

HL, thank you for raising the point. I watched the England vs Sweden game the other day and was very impressed with the English defense and strategy. Like everybody, I love to watch attacking sides like Spain, but we tend to miss the art of defending and not crediting defenders when they excel. England had two lines of defense and John Terry was superb in that marshalling the defense. At one point they were using the offside trap and you could have drawn a straight line behind the defenders when they moved up. The level comes through playing together regularly and being drilled, and also each player understanding his role and the coach's strategy and executing it.

Considering Roy has just taken over, how do you explain
                England had two lines of defense and John Terry was superb in that marshalling the defense. At one point they were using the offside trap and you could have drawn a straight line behind the defenders when they moved up. The level comes through playing together regularly and being drilled, and also each player understanding his role
                Just asking!
                Thanks!

Considering Roy has just taken over, how do you explain

Just asking!
                  Thanks!
                  The answer is simple, top coach one of the best there is!!

Jamaica (footballing wise) is still a relative novice/minnow if comparing to well established footballing nations whose been competing in the international footballing arena for over half a century and more and as such still gaining experience in competative international football.
                    Still; saying that, size of jamaica's footballing pool shouldnt prevent the development of the basic good technical skills, passing, and retention of ball. It also should prevent good team organisation on the field. Uruguay has a relatively small population but can still produce competative/ technically proficient teams on the international stage, so whats to stop JA doing the same as football becomes more popular among the up and coming young wannabee footballers.

Hey can't blame you. Let's look at it objectively: The coach goes to Brasil learn all he can (including getting highest certs and all) What will this or these coaches return to? A system of high school football? These coaches now know that whilst the high school kids are in classes their counter parts are on the field learning the game. When our "high schoolers" are ready to practice their counterparts in Brasil are winding down and getting ready for academic tutors. Ask yourself who will be the better player.

The coaches return with the expectation of a built academy. Only to see there is none. for the past twelve years an academy for football is only a theoretical concept. The terrain in the mean time is changing as teams are investing more and being better prepared (Panama springs easily to mind here). To address these new realities a strategic decision has to be made (to remedy the current situation and keep competitors at bay).

Let's not fool ourselves all nations in this global village can be viewed as corporations. The quicker one realize that we are talking about Ja inc. the better.

John Terry crawling on his hands and knees in his penalty area against Ukraine was quite a spectacle.

So your solution is "build them (the academies) and they'll come". We as fans make a lot of statements that only apply in a hypotectical world. In Jamaica, our schools are our academies. We have been waiting on an, just one single structure, academy to be built for the past 14 years now and it may take another 14 before the first brick is laid. We have to work with what we have to the best of our abilities.

"They must then coach the coaches in that style and then coach the players."