McAnuff at the Crossroads

If wi qualify, ah bet him will not bi at di cross roads but pan di wc road. Seen dis from di said English dem before.

Brethren, MacAnuff a no idiaat, I'm sure he knows that if he his part of the team that takes us to Brasil and then performs well on the world stage he will have a legacy that will surpass anything he can accomplish in his pro career. Additionally, it was the JFF who used and discarded him..so anyone who come with "if he wanted to play for us" and bla bla bla need fi check themselves. Jobi not being here is all on the JFF head.

Still kyaana cross it!

Additionally, it was the JFF who used and discarded him..so anyone who come with "if he wanted to play for us"...
          McAnuff was invited back in 2000 to 2001 when Carl Brown and then Lazza were coaches. He played in a few matches then declined to participate further, saying he wanted to focus on his club career. I read that to mean he wanted to see if England would come calling.

It is rather surprising that after a decade, he is still at a crossroads as to what he wants to do. I say forget him and find younger and hungrier players who are willing to commit.

So for those of you who want to blame the JFF, you have a short memory.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

True dat, True dat, glad fi si di I forwod breddrin done know original ah original. Mek wi hear yuh more often breddah, kah yuh ah stalwart inna dis

Tilla good to you brethren. Hope everything is good. Thanks for that clarification.

Mi soon come back man, just busy.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Everthing is going well Sass. I will be back in a few, don't worry.

McAnuff was invited back in 2000 to 2001 when Carl Brown and then Lazza were coaches. He played in a few matches then declined to participate further, saying he wanted to focus on his club career. I read that to mean he wanted to see if England would come calling.

It is rather surprising that after a decade, he is still at a crossroads as to what he wants to do. I say forget him and find younger and hungrier players who are willing to commit.

So for those of you who want to blame the JFF, you have a short memory.
                    REALLY? I suggest you check your facts again. Jobi only played 1 game for us in 2002; I believe it was against Nigeria where he came on for Omar Daley in the 55th minute. He never got called up again until he "retired" from international ball in 2005. My sources say Jobi and his family were peeved that he did not get a fair shot to rep. us and hence his retirement.

Actually McAnuff has only one cap for Jamaica and that was a substitute appearance against Nigeria in 2002...He missed a sitter and was subsequently mocked by Carl Brown...saying that he along with Barry Hayles don't have the knock to get Jamaica higher...Basically him seh dat di men dem nuh gud. McAnuff never got a second chance and he promptly retired in 2005. Brown did the same thing to Trevor Benjamin.

Richard Langley made is first appearance in that match along with Jobi.

Sorry THEDREAD, I didn't read your post before posting but you are correct...He retired because of what Carl Brown said on TV and it got back to him. Also that wasn't the deciding factor which resulted in him retiring. See, in 2004 while he was at Cardiff (I think) he was heavily scouted by Chelsea when they got a boat load of money from the Russian bloke. He was told that he wouldn't be offered a contract if he'd be flying half way around the world for international matches with Ja ... His decision to retire was influenced by Carl Brown, his agent and then Chelsea's manager.

OK, so I said a couple games or so while it was one and it was 2002 not 2000. He was playing with Wimbledon when he was called. The report I remember was that after he played, he said he was going to focus on his club game and was retiring from international football. Carl Brown even made the comments that McAnuff is now a big thing he does not want to play for Jamaica anymore or something to the effect.

Anyway, there are always two sides to the story. Not being privy to the Jobi's side, I recall what I heard from the JFF.

He was told that he wouldn't be offered a contract if he'd be flying half way around the world for international matches with Ja ... His decision to retire was influenced by Carl Brown, his agent and then Chelsea's manager.
                            Yes, this is the same Chelsea who signed players from all over the world and have the Drogbas, Kalous etc being gone for extended periods during ANC cupmetition. Anyway, he made up his mind to retire from international football to gain a contract. Carl Brown shortly after was released as head coach. Did he ever informed the JFF that he was coming out of retirement and would make himself available if called?

It goes two ways brethren. You cannot say you are retiring from international football and then you complain when you receive no further call. If he was playing well and the JFF thought he was available the team, I am sure he would have been recalled.

So now Carl Brown is not there, where is the problem. Coaches do the same thing to them in England and I don't see them giving it up, them try harder and prove coaches wrong.

Yes, you go somewhere to try to make the team, you have to impress the coach. If your game does not impress the coach, then he has every right not to call you.

Sounds as if McAnuff thought he was entitled and therefore his reputation alone would speak for itself.