Hanover Masters - Put money where the hungry mouth is

• Hanover Masters - Put money where the hungry mouth is

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Hanover Masters - Put money where the hungry mouth is</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Paul Reid
    Thursday, August 24, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>The Hanover Masters team recently won their sixth straight Western Masters League title. Anywhere in the sporting world this would be an outstanding achievement, a dynasty, as very few teams can put together a winning streak of even three straight titles these days when players are allowed to move between teams as they please.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In America, this freedom of movement is called 'free agency' but it is an oxymoron as there is hardly anything free, except choice, in these movements.

Even more recently, the Hanover team won the 'national' title in a tournament played in Mandeville. So we should be congratulating Hanover Masters and their financial backer, Dr Clive McKenzie, for their hard work, right?<P class=StoryText align=justify>Wrong, I say. Certainly not while Hanover's football is arguably the weakest in the entire county of Cornwall and is the only one without a Premier League representative.

Maybe the goodly doctor should look more to developing the game from that level instead of throwing money at players who have made their contributions and should be kicking back and enjoying their dotage.

A quick look at the list of players on the Hanover Masters team reads as a Who's Who of former national players and some of the best from around the region, many of whom are paid for their services.

While no one can tell the 'owners' and managers of the Hanover team what to do with their money, a suggestion might be to invest this money in a youth team or one of the local Division One clubs.

It appears that while the other teams taking part in Masters League football around the island are doing it for recreation and for 'old timers' to keep active while bonding with people who share an interest in the sport, the Hanover Masters team is a professional unit.

In other parts of the country, leagues involving 'retired' players is primarily for fun.
    The Hanover Masters League shouldn't be any different.

RE: Hanover Masters - Put money where the hungry mouth is

Sicko, I am wondering if this is Clive McKenzie that went to school with me last saw him in med school uwi

Him same one, I think he is a vet now. He just called me on the verge of tears and threatening to sue me and the Observer...ha ha ha...

I called the league organiser and we had a good laugh. The organiser said the only thing hurt is Doc's ego

I find it interesting thatI get more feed back from this column than the one last week telling boxhill to get out.

Well they must get vex if you are using your column to simply slander the breddah name.

Why would anyone get upset because you have said that Boxhill needs to shape up or get out, when the half the country has been saying that since whenever. People here may congratulate you for taking a "tough" stance and supposedly going against Boxhill, but the readers realise that you fraid to say Burrell is better than Boxhill and you wrote a soft column.

I am not sure Dr McKenzie is ready to supportfootball at that level in Hanover, there seems to be a level ofindiscipline that would be difficult to erase at the senior level.

The returns(financial) at the lower level would be hard to get, even on a long term basis, it appears that is where you are indicating that he should focus.

What part does the Hanover FA play in the development process? How about conducting an interview of the FA and Team(s) management?

What are your thoughts if a team was located at Cold Spring/Great Valley? Should that team be composed of Hanoverians only?

Thanks for a well thought out response, as per usual. Unlike some others here who have a Pavlovian urge to challenge everything I post without even thinking.

Are you back in Babylon now or you get computer access here?

I understand the level of indiscipline that you speak of in the HFA and it starts right at the very top. However if everyone goes about their own thing and stay away from the problem, it will fester and will never get better.

A good friend of mine and some one who talks to Doc MacKenzie a lot, once suggested to him that he get elected to the HFA and try to make changes form within. But that is not what he wants, the Masters League team and winning titles without making any serious contribution to Hanover's football is his thing.

As the Masters League director told me yesterday, the only thing that was hurt by the article was Doc's massive ego.

In the article I was not even talking about adult club football as the vehicle that Doc should get involved in, rather at the level where he can make a serious impact, the Under 15 or Under 17.

Take Steve Bucknor for example he has a set of youths he calls Academy and while St James has four youths leagues he is only involved up to the Under 15 level, after that the players can go where they please as by then they would have learned the basics.

But also I said in the article the man is free to spend his money where ever he pleases.

I must commend Steve on taking charge here, this man has a wealth of knowledge in football, all Jamaica keeper against Edu and the Brazilian junior squad in the 60's, a fellow Youth Club member, probably the first coach for Rusea's(John Smith was just a conditioner). Just hope he does not get palsy walsy with the youths, which could lead do disrespect. (When are you going to interview him?)

I don't want to beat up on Doc McKenzie, there are other Ballas around in Hanover that need to harness those U-15.

Green Island High exit this coming DaCosta year, what are the reasons given, what will all those sprited youths spent their energy doing?

I saw the new High school from the Northerncostal Hwg. at Orchard, I wonder if there is a field up there on the hill? Will they have a sports program?

You comment that Hanover as the weakest talent in the county of Cornwall, that is very interesting in that back in the days we had less players in the Parish and we were Talawah, as a matter of fact, all the taems/players were from Lucea, Sandy Bay and Hopewell, and the two latter teams sometimes combined, with Knockalva fielding some teams in the 50's.

Quiz - Who was the first Hanoverian to play for Jamaica? I can safely bet that 90% of Hanoverians wont get this right...so sad.

A few months back I took you to task and told you that Mobay and teams in places like Hanover should have no problem to get sponsors but you were so defensive talking about Sandal's sponsor. Now we come back to the heart of the problem and see why they are lacking in Sponsor.

As TDowl say nobody will put their money in it if there is no discipline.

Until the FA and the clubs wake up and see the light money will continue to flow elsewhere. Money that they could easily get.

was mean't for Sickko

TDowl sorry I forgot your question about the team from Cold Spring etc. and it s composition. I recall the last time Merlene Ottey High entered the DCup they have less than 50% of the players from the area or even from Hanover its self most of the players were from Montego Bay and even Westmoreland.

I am not sure the area has enough quality players to sustain a team that could be competitive in say even the Hanover Division One.

I go to see the teams in the Western Confederation Super League and I see players from all over playing for teams, players from St James are on teams in other parishes and vice versa.

The Cold Spring arguement, should be, if someone wants toform a team for the HA. Div Ior to play in the Primier league, would that be a good location? I know a big landowner there.

Personally if I had a $ million to throw away, it would not be on football in it's current state in Hanover/Jamaica, dem nuh ready.

Why is it in Jamaica there is a down play of Football history before the 60's? Why, make that all Jamaican history as a matter of fact.

Looking forward to your interview of the Hanover Football fraternity.

"Yes, I am back in de Apple, I went to MBJ 3 clear ours ahead of time, and when I left immigration, I could only grab 2 patties to get back my streangth, and board the craft, what a sinting. Duty Free stores taking a beating."

Whats is your take on Football in Hanover and what are your recomendations to the players and administrators, and don't omit the fans.

Thanks in advance for your positive response.

Assasin, when I use to play and prior to my time, man like the late Ago Williams and Ronald Young(Shrimpy's dad) we could count on there monetery contrbution, but this set of new Chinese are in Lucea as money vacuum.

Ago was an ardent football fan, plus is brother-in-law the late Eddie Chen played for Hanover, he was on the Parish team that beat the Royal Hampshire Regiment A side at the opening of Watson taylor Park 11/19/60. Ronald Young was a big time cricketer and run some ball too, his brother the late Timonthy "Timmo Shenkey" Youngplayed for the Lucea 27th Boy's Brigade, which became the firstLucea/Hanover team to win an all island football cup.there was Ho Sang in Hopwell in the mid 60's.

Note, the Royal Hampshire Regiment played Div one ball in Kingston, also St Catherine was in that division.