A wha kind a eediat question dat Dunny? What is 10% of 3.5mil and what is 10% of 17.5mil?
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
On 18 May 2009, in a match against West Bromwich Albion, Arbeloa was involved in an on-field clash with Liverpool teammate Jamie Carragher after continuous blips from Arbeloa and the two had to be separated by Xabi Alonso, Pepe Reina, Daniel Agger, and Emiliano Insúa. Carragher later explained that he clashed with Arbeloa as a moment of poor defending from the latter threatened the clean sheet. The Liverpool vice-captain explained, "we want to keep a clean sheet and we want Pepe to have a chance of the Golden Glove for the fourth season running." Liverpool manager Rafael Benítez refused to comment about the incident.
He was sold that following season,Liverpools biggest problem is the influence of Gerrad and Carragher, they have held back the club , for a top 4 club to have two individuals having that much pull over a club is a problem,Rafa was going to remedy that , they say the rake and pulled the plug....The B.S about senior players not having confidence in Rafa was shot down when most of them spoke out about he should have been the appointed one over Rodgers, Gerrad & Carraghher seemed elated it was Rodgers.
Rafa is allowed to make some bad sales , given his titles of note since his departure Liverpool has finished lower when he was at the helm.
Glen Johnson is better than Aerola , the cost is an inflated British pric like all things british.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Why did Rafa sell Alvaro Arbeloa for 3.5 mil and buy Glen Johnson for 17.5mil
did that make business sense?
Yes. It made perfect sense. Keep in mind that Arbeloa was nothing (like Alonso and Agger) until Rafa got a hold of him for £2.5m from La Coruna. He only had a year left on his contract and Liverpool needed to bring in English talent for the home grown rule that was to become effective in 2010. With only a year left on his contract, Liverpool actually made money on Arbeloa selling him for £3.5m. At the time he was sold, no one made any noise about the price. His street value now is about £10.5m but this is primarily because he has been a valuable addition for RM. Anyone who joins RM for £3.5m will see their value rise if they get consistent game. He did because they had no left back and he did a good job there even though he is a natural right back.
Secondly, he got his first call up to Spain while at Liverpool in 2008, so there is no question that the value of the player was increasing, but with only a year left on his contract, Liverpool risked losing him for nothing as RM already indicated an interest. As is the case with most Spanish players, when RM comes knocking - they walk.
However, I submit that the home grown rule AND Rafa's frustration with lack of attacking wing backs more than anything else led to his departure and Johnson's inclusion. Remember that the 2008-2009 season we can second and could have won that year had we had greater goal production and assists from the wing backs. Liverpool ended that season with 25 wins, 11 draws and 2 losses. Manure ended the season 4 points higher, with 28 wins 6 draws and 4 losses. When you consider we had draws with clubs like Fulham, Wigan, Hull, Stoke while destroying United and Chelsea twice, it was a very frustrating year for Rafa, who needed an attack minded set of wing backs.
His wing back options consisted of Arbeloa, Insua, Degen, Darby, Dossena and Aurelio - hardly a threatening group. Danny Alves was in the frame to join us in 2006, but we couldn't afford the £8m price tag - yep. That's the way Parry and Moores rolled. Had Rafa gotten Alves, we would (arguably) have been a more attacking team by 2008.
Needless to say, I don't think that the bust up Arbeloa had with Carragher had much to do with him leaving. He was not the right player in my opinion for the side Rafa was trying to build. Where Rafa messed up, was in not signing better options in the wing back positions in the first place but he realised also that when RM came calling, there was nothing he could do to stop them from taking Arbeloa away.
Yes. It made perfect sense. Keep in mind that Arbeloa was nothing (like Alonso and Agger) until Rafa got a hold of him for £2.5m from La Coruna.
His wing back options consisted of Arbeloa, Insua, Degen, Darby, Dossena and Aurelio - hardly a threatening group. Danny Alves was in the frame to join us in 2006, but we couldn't afford the £8m price tag - yep. That's the way Parry and Moores rolled.
Alonso was nothing until Rafa got a hold of him? Is the another Alonso you talking about?
You can blame them for not giving him any more money after him use $7 million on Dossena LOL
Alonso was nothing until Rafa got a hold of him? Is the another Alonso you talking about?
You can blame them for not giving him any more money after him use $7 million on Dossena LOL
Alonso came to Liverpool for £10.5m and left being worth £30m. His value trippled under Rafa which is what I mean by "nothing". He also had never won any medals before he came to Liverpool. Agger came for £6m and is now worth about £12m. As for Dossena, that goal him score gens Manure when we beat them 4-1 at OT was worth the £3.5m net loss we had on him - but a good example of where Rafa blundered.
Yes. It made perfect sense. Keep in mind that Arbeloa was nothing (like Alonso and Agger) until Rafa got a hold of him for £2.5m from La Coruna. He only had a year left on his contract and Liverpool needed to bring in English talent for the home grown rule that was to become effective in 2010. With only a year left on his contract, Liverpool actually made money on Arbeloa selling him for £3.5m. At the time he was sold, no one made any noise about the price. His street value now is about £10.5m but this is primarily because he has been a valuable addition for RM. Anyone who joins RM for £3.5m will see their value rise if they get consistent game. He did because they had no left back and he did a good job there even though he is a natural right back.
Secondly, he got his first call up to Spain while at Liverpool in 2008, so there is no question that the value of the player was increasing, but with only a year left on his contract, Liverpool risked losing him for nothing as RM already indicated an interest. As is the case with most Spanish players, when RM comes knocking - they walk.
However, I submit that the home grown rule AND Rafa's frustration with lack of attacking wing backs more than anything else led to his departure and Johnson's inclusion. Remember that the 2008-2009 season we can second and could have won that year had we had greater goal production and assists from the wing backs. Liverpool ended that season with 25 wins, 11 draws and 2 losses. Manure ended the season 4 points higher, with 28 wins 6 draws and 4 losses. When you consider we had draws with clubs like Fulham, Wigan, Hull, Stoke while destroying United and Chelsea twice, it was a very frustrating year for Rafa, who needed an attack minded set of wing backs.
His wing back options consisted of Arbeloa, Insua, Degen, Darby, Dossena and Aurelio - hardly a threatening group. Danny Alves was in the frame to join us in 2006, but we couldn't afford the £8m price tag - yep. That's the way Parry and Moores rolled. Had Rafa gotten Alves, we would (arguably) have been a more attacking team by 2008.
Needless to say, I don't think that the bust up Arbeloa had with Carragher had much to do with him leaving. He was not the right player in my opinion for the side Rafa was trying to build. Where Rafa messed up, was in not signing better options in the wing back positions in the first place but he realised also that when RM came calling, there was nothing he could do to stop them from taking Arbeloa away.
Paul unuh mek me laugh to rahtid!! A when you and X ago stop mek excuse fi Rafa?Chat bout home grown players. That is just one example of Rafa wasting the people them money and then chat bout him cant compete because him didn't have money to spend!!
Waste???!!!! How much time me seh dem need fi lawnch an investigation into Rafa finances??? The man walk whey from Loserfool wid how much....20mil? Then spend half a season at Inter and collect anedda bag of money.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Paul unuh mek me laugh to rahtid!! A when you and X ago stop mek excuse fi Rafa?Chat bout home grown players. That is just one example of Rafa wasting the people them money and then chat bout him cant compete because him didn't have money to spend!!
You ask me a question and I answered it. What more you want? I didn't agree with many of Rafa's signings, but anyone who does the mathematics objectively will see that Liverpool did not lose money any serious money on his signings (if any) in the aggregate. But far be it for many to let facts get in the way.
Alberto Aquilani is set to return to Liverpool with the Italian midfielder having received no offers from other clubs. Aquilani, who played on loan at AC Milan this season, is under contract with Liverpool until June 2014.
Reports in Italy claimed Aquilani would terminate his contract with the Reds outfit in order to make his move to Milan permanent this summer, something his agent has vehemently denied.
Remember me? Alberto Aquilani (right) last played for Liverpool in pre-season
'Almost certainly he will not terminate his contract with Liverpool,' Aquilani's agent Franco Zavaglia said to Sportitalia.
'He could join them (Liverpool) at the beginning of July to start pre-season training with the English club. At this time there are no clubs interested in him.' The 27-year-old Aquilani moved to Anfield in 2009 in a £20million transfer from Roma.
He endured a disappointing spell before being loaned to Juventus in the 2010-11 campaign and signed for AC Milan on a one-year loan deal last summer.
Aquilani scored one goal in 23 league appearances for the Rossoneri this season
what you alright with? Alright with paying 20 million for him or just happy he is coming back.
Unnu certainly have a lot of midfeeler fi real. LOL.
No wonder X currently nuh like the Reggaeboys as we test the midfielders and you could subsitute Jermaine Hue for this player.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
X been calling for him for the past year saying he is Liverpool's saviour but i just dont know what to make of him. If he was that good then surely someone in Italy would've bought him for the peanuts Liverpool are trying to sell him for.
what you alright with? Alright with paying 20 million for him or just happy he is coming back.
Unnu certainly have a lot of midfeeler fi real. LOL.
No wonder X currently nuh like the Reggaeboys as we test the midfielders and you could subsitute Jermaine Hue for this player.
Paying 20m was not a bad move...paying 20m for him while he was injured...well...a whole different matter altogether. Poor Rafa. He's not well understood. I am happy he is coming back. He is better than the other options we have now and unlike others, I believe he can play well beside gerrard especially if Lucas is behind them in a 4-3-3 formation which my youth rodgers likes to play.