better competition than the World Cup in terms of the quality of the teams entered and the quality of the games? I was listening to a debate with a panel of experts and the majority of them think that the Euro's is the tougher competition to win. What does the forumites think about that?
Is the European Championship a..........
Nope I don't think so, Plus the world cup much more colorful.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Me View PostHow was 2010 world cup group stages?
France, out
Slovenia, out
Serbia, out
Denmark, out
Italy, out
Switzerland, out
Germany
Argentina
Italy
England
Brazil
Italy
Sweden
Bulgaria
France
Brazil
Croatia
Netherlands
Brazil
Germany
Turkey
Korean Republic
Italy
France
Germany
Portugal
Spain
Netherlands
Germany
Uruguay
really now? They want to tell us that Greece, Ireland, Ukraine etc is a better 'quality' team and plays better 'quality' footall than Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Mexico, Nigeria etc? This season is competitive but when so many BETTER player are missing ... it cannot be better."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Dunny View Postbetter competition than the World Cup in terms of the quality of the teams entered and the quality of the games? I was listening to a debate with a panel of experts and the majority of them think that the Euro's is the tougher competition to win. What does the forumites think about that?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
One argument for the Euros however is that you never see lopsided blow-outs against a clearly weak team, like Germany 8-0 Saudi Arabia in the 2002 WC, for example.
The competition is stronger across the board."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostIt is a silly comparison. They are totally different competitions played under far different circumstances. For one - the Euros are always in Europe which makes the situation far easier for teams relative to their supporters, facilities, travel, cultural expectations, weather and style of play. Secondly, teams from different parts of the world play the game differently, so a Spain v. Nigeria game may be far more compelling clash than Spain v. (another European team) - or not. Both are great spectacles and should not be compared to each other.
Originally posted by Dunny View PostI was listening to a debate with a panel of experts and the majority of them think that the Euro's is the tougher competition to win.
European Championship
Group stage > Quarter-finals > Semi-finals > Final
World Cup
Group stage > Second round > Quarter-finals > Semi-finals > Final"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Dunny View PostThat's a fair argument."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
According to the FIFA world rankings the lowest ranked country at the Euros is Poland at 62, followed by Ukraine at 52. However, both these countries qualified automatically as host countries.
If you exclude them then the lowest ranked country is Czech Republic at 27."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."