Wanted: Creative Midfielder For Reggae Boyz

Mosiah, so no thoughts on bangy Campbell.

Developing Players

The JFF needs to go the lab and create this midfielder they are looking for. He does not exist right now, not in Jamaica and apparently not abroad either. So they either do that or they take 50% of what they are looking for. Simple as dat!

They could have several midfield by 2020 and other players if they developed an academy with coaching staff that were from outside Jamaica to head it up and teach good level Jamaican coaches who wanted to learn and how to develop players through and academy program. Why is this not happening?.

Duck!!!
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Speed of thought which allows optimal positioning is absolutely more important than raw foot speed in football.

The ball can move 10X faster than a player can run...so anticipating quickly where to be (and conversely where NOT to be) is the special skill we need to develop..this off ball movement is a big weakness of ours which cannot be compensated for by superior speed over ground. We need to be 2 moves ahead of the actual ball movement not running to play catch up.

Foot speed can be disruptive to opposing players...but is generally highly over rated

Speed of thought which allows optimal positioning is absolutely more important than raw foot speed in football.

The ball can move 10X faster than a player can run...so anticipating quickly where to be (and conversely where NOT to be) is the special skill we need to develop..this off ball movement is a big weakness of ours which cannot be compensated for by superior speed over ground. We need to be 2 moves ahead of the actual ball movement not running to play catch up.

Foot speed can be disruptive to opposing players...but is generally highly over rated
            More important?
            ...well if the pace across ground is such that the ball is rarely received - both on attack and defense -, how less of importance is that 'speed'?

I have never subscribe to this 'more or less' important when discussing that which is needed to best solve problems/attributes needed to solve problems.

Once long ago I wrote something along the lines that we need 11 of the fastest - good thinkers/problem solvers with fast feet and fast across ground.

Why would I wish for my REGGAE BOYZ less than the best?! ...however having said that we have to work with our current best players...and each player (regardless of the player or within which TEAM) will have 'compensating factors' to weigh when those who have the job of selecting national TEAMs are deciding who to call (or not call).

...so yes the ball can be moved '10x faster than a player ever can'! ...and FULL 100 agreed with you on this off ball movement is a big weakness of ours.

We already have above average foot speed... it is our head speed that's lacking. A pedestrian player with superior thought processes (Tappa for example) will anticipate or read the game sufficiently to reach a given point necessary to intersect with a pass BEFORE a speedy dunce.

So additional foot speed inputs would subject our team to the Law of Diminishing Returns whereas more speed of thought would make our game faster and more accurate.

That's why I rank the thought processes higher on the pyramid
              Last edited by Don1; June 17, 2012, 01:16 PM.

We already have above average foot speed... it is our head speed that's lacking. A player with superior thought processes (Tappa for example) will anticipate or read the game sufficiently to reach a given point to intersect with a pass before a speedy dunce.

So additional foot speed inputs would subject our team to the Law of Diminishing Returns whereas more speed of thought would make our game faster and more accurate.

That's why I rank the thought processes higher on the pyramid
                Agreed!