T&T to bail out of Gold Cup?
RE: T&T to bail out of Gold Cup?
Rico (3/10/2007)I think the Jff should look into this and start lobbying or that spot.
What could happen is Jamaica ask T&T to suggest that we replace them in the competition like Canada did some years ago.
Still, T&T earned their spot. I hope they can find a way to go to the games. I do not want to see any other outside team invited. I think that is a disservice to the region's football. Our regional teams need this competition to develop."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Bogle (3/10/2007)does this look like a trinidad forum. who gives a damn if they bail out or not
Read the description of this forum, fool:
"Forum for general discussions on Jamaica and world football. Non-football posts will either be moved to the correct forum or be deleted.""Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
If T&T have really dropped out of the Gold Cup then CONCACAF should do the decent and right thing by giving the spot to Guyana. Likewise Boxhill. Even though everyone knows Jamaica will perform better than the other Caribbean nations in the Gold Cup I personally believe that Guyana will performtheir best knowing that they are playing at CONCACAF's prestigious #1 tournament. That alone will be incentive for them.
Even though Guyana will be "minnows" at the Gold Cup this chance alone will also boost their chances at gaining experience againstsome top teams in the region andgive them a quiet feeling of confidence.
And maybe, just maybe they can spring a surprise. (Pray)
It will boil down to money. Even though the noble and honourable thing to do is to invite one of the higher finishing teams from the Caribbean, it will not be financially viable to the GC organisers. Teams like St. Vincent , Martinique and Guyana will not pull the sort of crowd support a USA vs Jamaica match will...if played on the east coast. The GC has been trying for years now to become a creditable and meaningful competition for years now. Having one of those smaller teams will not add any value to the competition. That's just the ugly truth. All the organisers need to do to make money is to invite Jamaica and have their matches played anywhere on the east coast.....Giant stadium for a sellout. Mexico on the west. End of story.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Now there is some valid argument for inviting the Reggae Boyz. I do agree if you look at it like that, then Jamaica would be the bigger crowd pleaser and could benefit the competition at the gates.
Still hope T&T can get their act together and make the trip. The teamandits fans deserve it."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
It had to be less than 200 Jamaican fans at the US-Jamaica Gold Cup match at Gillette Stadium two years ago. The fact of the matter, Jamaican fans have lost interest in the reggae boyz football.
I am not too sure about a sell out, and the other teams who advanced further in the Digicel Cup are more deserving than Jamaica, who flopped against SVG at home.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Tilla (3/10/2007)Now there is some valid argument for inviting the Reggae Boyz. I do agree if you look at it like that, then Jamaica would be the bigger crowd pleaser and could benefit the competition at the gates.
Still hope T&T can get their act together and make the trip. The teamandits fans deserve it.
Jamaica doesnt deserve to be there, Guyana or the team that finished just outside of the 4 qialifiers are deserving of a chance...even if they cant pull the crowds.
President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
Reggae-Fan (3/11/2007)Tilla (3/10/2007)Now there is some valid argument for inviting the Reggae Boyz. I do agree if you look at it like that, then Jamaica would be the bigger crowd pleaser and could benefit the competition at the gates.
Still hope T&T can get their act together and make the trip. The teamandits fans deserve it.
Jamaica doesnt deserve to be there, Guyana or the team that finished just outside of the 4 qialifiers are deserving of a chance...even if they cant pull the crowds.
My position - i) We would not be next in line in terms of where we finished in the qualifying games...and, ii) I do not think it would be good for our football - as I think being knocked out should be treated as a reality check for the JFF, and should cause a redoubling of our efforts to improve 'the football'.
Getting 'a bly' encourages 'the feeling' thatwe can drop the balland instead of hard work sneak in because of favoured status. Who really wants to get something undeserved? Would it nothave more lasting positives if we always arrive mbecause we worked for it and was rightly rewarded for that work? I think so!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
It had to be less than 200 Jamaican fans at the US-Jamaica Gold Cup match at Gillette Stadium two years ago. The fact of the matter, Jamaican fans have lost interest in the reggae boyz football.
It is typical of our fans, we will come on board if we see the team doing well, but they will desert the team when it is down. Just let Bora get the team playing well again and you will see the amount of Jamaican fans crawling out of the wood work. . ."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
My bredda gwaan the same way, and every know and then ask mi why dem gid rid of Simoes
I believe the bandwaggonists will not show any interest until world cup qualifying.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
I consider myself a die-hard Reggae Boyz fan. I basically have all their matches that I cantape from 1996 to present. And still hope that TVJ and CVM tv will carry some of the pre-1996 matches that I missed. I have cutted out and saved newspaper clippings from 1996 also and went to as far as paying abookmaker to design two 50 page scrapbooks to paste the clippings.
Now, here's the irony: I have never been to any venue in Jamaica (The Office or Jarrett Park) and seen the ReggaeBoyzplay live.
<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl4_lblFullMessage>My bredda gwaan the same way, and every know and then ask mi why dem gid rid of Simoes
<SPAN>Next time he ask you tha question, let himknow that Jamaica did not get rid of Simoes. Simoes said he was leaving the job for greener pastures. He left to take up a job with a big Brazilian club, although he was fired from that position less than a year of assuming the position. Yuh can't force a man fi work fi yuh if him do not want to.
</SPAN>"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran