• Burrell urges gov't to build four mini stadiums

Burrell urges gov't to build four mini stadiums

President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, has issued a call to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to consider the building of at least...

Burrell urges gov't to build four mini stadiums

President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, has issued a call to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to consider the building of at least...
    To be honest i would start by building 30 football complexes, 4 for Kingston and 2 each for the remaining 13 parishes.These would include training facilities and at least 2 full size football pitches along with 4 mini football pitches with immaculate playing surface. An elected football development coach should be put in charge of each facility and paid full time by the JFF and the ministry of sports.

cough up some of yuh Lotto money nuh
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It took 10 years to build Catherine Hall.

My first nominee is Drax Hall. There are two pitches already in place.

Immaculate playing surface = artificial surface.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
          It took 10 years to build Catherine Hall.

My first nominee is Drax Hall. There are two pitches already in place.

Immaculate playing surface = artificial surface.
          It don't have to be artificial surfaces, tropical climate i cant see a problem with grass.

Tropical Grass

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            It don't have to be artificial surfaces, tropical climate i cant see a problem with grass.
            The problem with tropical grass (Bermuda) is that replacing divots don't work.
            Holes must be filled with a sand/seed mixture. If the field gets mashed up in a mudder, the entire field must be resodded.

Most US makers of artificial turf say that compared to a natural grass field, the life span of an artifical field is 10 years, but pays for itself after five in reduced mowing, watering, re-seeding, re-sodding, and re-marking of lines.

Holes must be filled with a sand/seed mixture. If the field gets mashed up in a mudder, the entire field must be resodded.

Most US makers of artificial turf say that compared to a natural grass field, the life span of an artifical field is 10 years, but pays for itself after five in reduced mowing, watering, re-seeding, re-sodding, and re-marking of lines.
              Ok, i was thinking economics but if artificial works out cheaper then artificial we will use.

Well here is the problem. we need good playing surfaces and that is a different argument from building stadia. Let me start with the surface thing. First Bruce I dont think they are using bermuda in JA for fields. I think its your standard rye mix. Which is fine. We need simply to offer youth the art /science as ground maintenace and landscaping as a vocation. This can be use in sports fields and the hotel buisness. Having said that we need to provide good playing surfaces, which is not hard to do in Jamaica. So leveling, rolling, irrigating and rotating fields. With our abundance of sunshine and water we can do better. I drove by bolts old school the other day and was shocked to see the field and no track. Well I remember as a student at that school when a little contractor man dumped some mall on the field and roll it. Don't look like they did much after that. Point here is it just take a bit or work to level roll and build fields. Irrigation is a bit harder but we get enough rainfall and westman and Mo can tell you how to fix that problem. Well I am reaching as it relates to MO. Building stadia is a different thing as I believe there need to a TCO on building stadia. We have too much under utilized facilities in JA from the convention centre to the Trelawny multipurpose, natl stadium and Catherine hall. Not to mention the KD Knight park in Sligoville. In does not make sense to build them and make them so prohibitive to operate they become white elephants. So let private enterprise build those or lobby for the pan am games or comonweath games you can justify the cost and use it has legacy.

cough up some of yuh Lotto money nuh
                  Jangle you talk about the lottery thing like a joke but it could be a good idea. How about setting up a sport lottery with the proceeds going towards funding things like these.

I would start by installing artifical turf at National Stadium, Stadium East,
                    Prison Oval, Ferdie Nieta Park, and Drax Hall (2 fields), and somewhere in the southwest part of Jamaica, an area that I do not know.

If clubs would be willing to share the cost, then I would add Harbour View,
                    Tony Spaulding Stadium, and Edward Seaga Stadium.

Build the facilities from the turf, up.

why artificial turf. We really only need Artificial turf when we cant rotate fields or for high use. So the natl stadium should be grass. We just have to cut, and water it. Top dress it and so on. I would build only build Turf fields in area of high use such as school fields where we don't have the ability to rotate the use. In Jamaica grass works you have sunshine and a rainy season. So harvest the water and use it. You should see the quality fields in Mexico and Peru... and they have it harder than us. I think we can use turf in some areas but not all. Plus Turf gets too hot for kids to play on to be honest. Its great in cold places as it extend the season and on the other side opens the season earlier. We dont have those problems in Jamaica.

Another problem with turf is the cost for replacement which I can assure will not be in any future budgeting for government.

Synthetic Turf is the Only Way

Most US makers of artificial turf say that compared to a natural grass field, the life span of an artificial field is 10 years, but pays for itself after five in reduced mowing, watering, re-seeding, re-sodding, and re-marking of lines.

Mosiah knows thatI deal with a 4th generation turf and it lasts for 13+ years and we have 60-70% funding already for any protect in Jamaica. The JFF, Major Brown and others know this. They struggling to find 10% funding and 10% funding would not event purchase natural turf. We recent heard the JFF is look at synthetics turf for one of there 2 struggling field at UWI. They have no money wither.

Paul Banta

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            To be honest i would start by building 30 football complexes, 4 for Kingston and 2 each for the remaining 13 parishes.These would include training facilities and at least 2 full size football pitches along with 4 mini football pitches with immaculate playing surface. An elected football development coach should be put in charge of each facility and paid full time by the JFF and the ministry of sports.
                            You would start with that... 30 football palaces??

Have you been to Jamaica lately??

I urge the JFF to build the flipping academy that FIFA gave them money to build...