Reggae Boyz Booed!

There is always an excuse...have you not been watching Reggae Boyz football over the years..."Proud of the team...they fought hard...blah blah blah blah" of course this always comes after a first round exit

Team under Lazaroni is the best Roster ever assembled under the best Coach ever obtained... Jamaica was unbeaten on the Road !

Still not immune from Group of Death Syndrome (that and a run of bad luck at home sunk us)

We have avoided it this year with quality that places us in good contention for the battle of the top 3... once we get to the round robin yuh gwine have UB40 and all kind a 40 line up fi ah chance to guh World Cup.. US and Mextico ah guh be nerminous dem times..

Only friendlies alone him coach in?
        What about the 2010 World Cup qualifiers after Simoes got fired.

October 11, 2008
        JAMAICA
        Fuller (34th) 1 - 0 MEXICO

October 15, 2008
        JAMAICA
        Shelton (16) 1 - 0 HONDURAS

19 November 2008
        JAMAICA 3 - 0 CANADA
        Luton SHELTON (28')
        Marlon KING (58' PEN)
        Omar CUMMINGS (85')

I guess you deliberately forgot these for your own selfish reasons.

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
          Crowd vents frustration at Jamaica team
          Poor play leads to 1-0 loss against Panama
          Leading up to yesterday evening's game against Panama inside the National Stadium, Reggae Boyz head coach, Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, stated that he considered the match a perfect test ahead of the team's opening CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying (WCQ) semi-final round match against Guatemala on June 8.
          The Boyz failed the mock exam miserably, as a 17th-minute goal by Luis Renteria was enough to earn Los Canaleros (The Canal Men) a 1-0 victory.

This was the senior team's first defeat inside the National Stadium since 2007 and first in five outings since the start of the calendar year, as they are coming off four victories and a draw.

This result and, more worryingly, the team's performance left a lot to be desired for the local fans, who booed the team at half-time and again following the final whistle.

The nation is now left concerned as to how the team will fare when the real test of the World Cup qualifiers comes along with Jamaica pitted in Group A alongside Guatemala, Antigua and Barbuda and the United States.

The teams will renew their battle on June 1 in Panama City, as the 52nd-ranked Panama are also preparing for the next round of qualifiers where they will face Cuba, Canada and Honduras.

The Panamanian team, which was missing six of their regular starters, sounded an early warning in the second minute when Renteria got off a tame shot from the centre of the area, which went harmlessly wide.

Fifteen minutes later, Jamaica were made to pay for some non-existent marking, as Renteria got off an unchallenged header from a right-sided corner that was deli-vered by Amir Waithe, which left custodian Dwayne Miller rooted to the spot as it hit the back of the net to hand the visitors a 1-0 lead.

Jamaica attempted to muster a response in the 21st minute when Keammar Daley found himself unmarked in the area, but he volleyed well over the bar.

Fuller impresses

One of the few bright sparks for the team was Stoke City man Ricardo Fuller, who got in 90 minutes of play. He came closest for Jamaica in the first half when his curling effort from the right side of the area came back off the left upright.

Panama emerged for the second half with an obvious plan to maintain ball possession in midfield, something they were able to do with good effect.

Whitmore rang in the changes in the second half, with introduction of a number of offensive players, including Chris Humphery.

The Motherwell player, who was making his debut, had one moment of note in the 63rd minute when he executed a 35-yard drive which cannoned off the right post. Outside of that though, the 24-year-old's first touch looked unsure and he did not link up well with Xavian Virgo on the right.

Another second half substitute, Errol Stevens, exchanged passes with Marlon King on the top of the area before getting off a curling effort which the Panamanian keeper and captain, Jaime Penedo, moved to his right to save.

A goalmouth scramble in the 85th minute provided Jamaica with another goalscoring opportunity after a header by Claude Davis was parried by Penedo. The follow-up efforts by Fuller and Rohan Reid failed to hit the target.

Jamaica's assistant coach, Alfredo Montesso, revealed that the team was most disappointed with the result which he believed came down to a moment of lapse in concentration and poor chemistry.

"We didn't play a good game, but Miller did not make a single save and we missed some opportunities," Montesso expressed.

"We felt a little bit of lack of chemistry in the team today, but some of them are playing for the first time together. It was a lack of concentration on the corner kick that we paid the price for," he added.

Panama's coach, Julio Dely Valdes, was pleased with the result, especially given that so many of his key players were missing.

"Jamaica had some good chances, but in the first half we managed to score a goal and that was the goal that stood until the end of the game," Valdes recounted through an interpreter.
          Poor Tappa. Jamaicans can't accept a loss at the office. That is sacred ground. Hush Tappe, we don't back losers, its a Jamaican thing! Just win the next match and we will forgive you.

.....and win it big. I will withhold my opinions and criticisms until after the Guatemala game. It is not Tappa's fault that most of the overseas players just got inot town. As Dunny says, now he has better quality of players to work with so let's give him some space to do his thing. I am hoping that certain players don't see the starting lineup - Shelton and Austin. I could live with an Austin selection though but not with Shelton.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Jamaica's poor play vs the USA in the Gold Cup was an indicator that the job was too big for Tappa. The only reason he is coach is because the JFF can not afford to hire someone of a higher pedigree in international football.
              Does Tappa even have a coaching license?

Yuh setting yuhself up for a fall..

Yuh lucky certain man nuh in charge yahsuh

Yuh wudda get run outa dis ting langlang time

Renk

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                    Does Tappa even have a coaching license?
                    Come on man, what kind of stupid question is this?

Well, when I asked it 3 years ago - when Whitmore first got hired - the responses were rather vague. No one seemed to know for sure, and some argued that it didn't even matter:

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=25961

I was just wondering if the situation has changed since then, of if anyone has found out anything definitive on the subject.

LOL...what do you expect from a stupid person?

Rhattid...Zeppo a kick off di man dem face to rhattid...valid question an di man dem a hem and a haw

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                            Absolutely Hortical. Its a matter of cost. We can't afford anyone else. I wish we would all be honest about it. I think Captain would have wanted someone else.
                            That's a very wrong statement. He is very happy with a Jamaican Coach and having Brazil at his and the coaches side. One man's opinion from a good source in the JFF

Most of the players were available and should have played at least 70+ mins. This game should have simulated our first qualifier and use the return game to iron out any kinks. No debutant should have played at this late stage of the process. I have a feeling Tappa have no idea what is starting eleven against Guatemala will look like. From my point of view only Dwayne Richards and Jevon Watson were missing ( Ryan Johmson and Cummings will warm the bench as Fuller and King should start at forward). Demar Phillips should have started and taken off if he was not going to get a full run.
                              Last edited by Mitty; May 30, 2012, 12:06 AM.
                              Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                              Mitty

Shelton is a mediocre forward at best and should be cast away, Austin is a one trick pony who should be put to stud. I cannot see why Tappa have this love affair with Shelton, Cummings and Ryan Johnson should be ahead of him.
                                Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                                Mitty