Rafa or Martinez? Which Spaniard will get the call?

Talk to Pep, I think he should know something about ball.

Pep Guardiola Lauds Liverpool Academy
    Posted on 09. Jun, 2011 by Dominic Campbell in News

Pep Guardiola has issued a glowing review of the Liverpool youth system after holding an interview with Catalan Radio. The Barcelona coach has arguably the world’s best academy at his disposal, with many regarding Arsenal’s young guns as contenders.
    However, Guardiola believes that it is Liverpool who have the only academy that can challenge his own – a sentiment that he was keen to share during a recent interview:
    “The academy of the Liverpool is the only one that can compare to La Masia of Barcelona FC.” he said.
    The double winning coach then went on to state: “If Liverpool can manage those lads in the academy, then maybe 20 star players can arrive from that academy”.
    Rafa Benitez’ marmite approach to football is one that still has the Anfield faithful split between those who laud his time at the club, and those who rejoiced at his exit. But the legacy that he left behind is testament to his managerial ability and vision for the club’s future.
    Thanks to his hard work, and that of Jose Segura and Rodolfo Borrell – both of whom were poached from the Barca ranks – as well as Frank McParland and Kenny Dalglish, Liverpool finally have an academy set-up which is envied the world over.
    Pep just a big up one of his own, Liverpool have a good academy but there are at least 10 in England better than them, until they start producing results like winning FA youth cups and producing players for their first team you cant say they are the best. Arsenal, Chelsea, Southampton, Man United, Blackburn are all ahead as far as i'm concerned.

that is my point! thank you.
      What I was trying to say was that it may not be net 11M if you factor in those late arrivals...but it might be as well. However, you have to factor in squad value as well. I don't know what that overall number, so just net by itself is not the only indicator.

Done that , come again, you mentioned Spearing & Shelvy , no mention of Sterling , Flannigan and that other Left back ? but I am sure you will counter not good enough.

Wha yuh say Pep juss a talk.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Me no mention Stirling because QPR done all the work with him and he is easily the best one, the remainder of them aint anything special.

LOL...like Chamaberlin $12mil and Walcott $5mill southhamptom, what an expensive youth policy ? How much Sterling cost again ?..oooh yeah they are english so it cost more , sterling is Jamaican..lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LOL...like Chamaberlin $12mil and Walcott $5mill southhamptom, what an expensive youth policy ? How much Sterling cost again ?..oooh yeah they are english so it cost more , sterling is Jamaican..lol
              Me never mention Chamberlain or Walcott we cant take credit for those. lets talk about Wilshere,Ashley Cole, Kieran Gibbs,Emanuel Frimpong,Fabrice Muamba,Sebastian Larson etc that's the standard liverpool need to reach before they start talking about being the best.

Wow those guys sound old ,besides Wilshire anything new ?

I'm with X on this one. Most people have perceptions about Rafa being a big spender when the facts are that he was far off the market compared to Chelsea and United, his biggest rivals andwhen he did have to sell to buy, the club did very poorly, i.e. in the last year of his tenure under G&H:

Rafa
                  2008 - 2009 Net spend: -21.8m
                  2007 - 2008 Net spend: -37.1m
                  2006 - 2007 Net spend: -24.6m
                  2005 - 2006 Net spend: -22.0m
                  2004 - 2005 Net spend: -29.7m
                  Total: 135.2

Chelski
                  2008 - 2009 Net spend: +11.9m
                  2007 - 2008 Net spend: -14.3m
                  2006 - 2007 Net spend: -38.9m
                  2005 - 2006 Net spend: -50.7m
                  2004 - 2005 Net spend: -139.5m
                  Total: 231.5

Manure
                  2008 - 2009 Net spend: -33.2m
                  2007 - 2008 Net spend: -52.0m
                  2006 - 2007 Net spend: -2.1m
                  2005 - 2006 Net spend: -21.0m
                  2004 - 2005 Net spend: -45.4m
                  Total: 153.8

It is no coincidence that Rafa got screwed by lack of funds. In his last two years, Liverpool had a surplus on transfers (total 8.5-10m) and while he had decent funds in the early years of his tenure, he was up against Chelski's big money and Manure's established infrastructure. So he did well when he got the funds, but he got nothing like Jose and didn't have the starting point that Slurgie had.

That said, my problem with Rafa is his playing style regarding forwards and attack. He likes his teams to play at a high tempo, which is great, and he has a great sense of tactical awareness defensively, but he is not to my liking on the attacking side nor is his player selection outside of defenders and defensive midfielders coherent. He completely flopped on Keane - spend 21m and benched the man. In fact, name a single striker that Liverpool signed under Rafa that did well other than Torres and maybe Kuyt. He destroys them because his expectation is that they are going to work like defensive midfielders in the opponents half. It is unrealistic. Only Tevez, Kuyt and maybe Suarez can work like that, but few others. Think about the list of strikers/forwards Rafa had:

Pongolle
                  Morientes
                  Cisse
                  Babel
                  Riera
                  Crouch
                  Bellamy
                  Voronin
                  Keane
                  N'gog

As I said, other than Torres or Kuyt, none of them developed. One could even argue that Rafa can't identify striking talent. So that's my beef and why I support a new manager, but I would not go English or Prem like X says, I'd rather see Frank Rijkaard than anyone else.

YNWA
                  Net Spending? You Liverpool fans are so comical. between 2004 and 2009 the beloved Rafa spent 229 million quid on players. Some noteable ones ... 20 M on Aquilani, 19 M on Robbie Keane.

Rafa Benitez's £229m spending spree: The 76 players signed during the Liverpool manager's reign

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1v8hoolu8

Wow those guys sound old ,besides Wilshire anything new ?
                    We have a conveyor belt of players coming dont you worry about that. Watch the carling cup for the new releases. Damian Martinez,Chuks Aneke,Conor Henderson,Jack Jebb,Ozzy Ozyakup,Ignaccio Miguel not to mention the youths them out on loan, Ryo Miyachi,Wellington,Vela,Joel Campbell,Pedro Bothelo,Kyle Bartley, Denilson etc.......................

Ok win something ! like we do, how much years now 7 ? ..lol....lata boss

Everything will fall into place, once we start winning then trophies a go fall like rain, Arsenal future is well secure on the park and in the boardroom. Rome wasn't built in a day Boss!!

Net Spending? You Liverpool fans are so comical. between 2004 and 2009 the beloved Rafa spent 229 million quid on players. Some noteable ones ... 20 M on Aquilani, 19 M on Robbie Keane.

Rafa Benitez's £229m spending spree: The 76 players signed during the Liverpool manager's reign

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1v8hoolu8
                          Leave it to Lazie to make this a partisan discussion. LOL!!! As for "comical", the only thing comical is your accounting acumen. Now that's comical.

Anyway, if you can't get the netspend + squad value equation, any further words are lost on you. As I told you before, you need to read this book --> http://www.amazon.com/dp/0470246006/...&hvptwo=&hvqmt=

Good luck!!!

Lazie and Read ?...thats like Sass with facts ...lol

Leave it to Lazie to make this a partisan discussion. LOL!!! As for "comical", the only thing comical is your accounting acumen. Now that's comical.

Anyway, if you can't get the netspend + squad value equation, any further words are lost on you. As I told you before, you need to read this book --> http://www.amazon.com/dp/0470246006/...&hvptwo=&hvqmt=

Good luck!!!
                              Dandy shandy start. As expected ... your claim is challenged suh the Raymond Price transformation takes place. The article posted was written by me ...the writer did a job of listing all players purchased by year. Dispute the facts nuh? You people keep talking bout net spending to sugarcoat Rafa's spending.

Lazie and Read ?...thats like Sass with facts ...lol
                                You should try it sometime ... you'd stop misrepresenting reality. No wonder Dave Whelan refer to unuh organization as a morgue.