• Martinez linked to Liverpool

Martinez flattered by Liverpool link

May 14, 2012

By ESPN staff

Manager Roberto Martinez admits he is happy to be linked to jobs at bigger clubs but insists there is still work to do at Wigan.

GettyImages - Roberto Martinez has been praised, despite the club's league position

The latest speculation suggests the Spaniard, who masterminded the Latics' Premier League survival from a seemingly-doomed position and signed off with a 3-2 home win over Wolves, is being considered by Liverpool's owners.
    And Martinez is happy that he is being talked about for doing a good job.
    "There is another manager in that club [Liverpool], no? When you get stories linking clubs with your players or in this case with a manager, it must be because you have done something right.

"We cannot control speculation and I am not going to lie to you, I like the speculation. I see it as a real compliment. Speculation will follow a team - you get good speculation and bad speculation.

"The speculation I don't like is when it suggests you are going to lose your job after a couple of defeats. I am proud and happy that the club are attracting a lot of good headlines and stories."

Reacting to rumors that he will be replaced next season by Wigan Athletic's Roberto Martinez, Dalglish said, "I expect the owners to have more dignity and integrity than to believe a story in a newspaper."
    Last edited by Karl; May 15, 2012, 03:10 PM.

Liverpool latest: Dalglish has returned to UK while FSG decide his fate in Boston

Insiders suggest it could be days before a decision is made

Kenny Dalglish: waiting gameMatt Lewis / Getty

Kenny Dalglish has returned to England, awaiting news of his Anfield future.
    Amid fevered speculation about his position as Liverpool manager, the Reds legend flew home following a brief meeting with club owners John Henry and Tom Werner.
    And there were suggestions emanating from the US that it could be days before there are any announcements about the club's plans.
    Dalglish travelled to Boston as principle owner Henry and chairman Werner opened a far-reaching review of the season, as they assess the Reds' future.
    He met for a few hours with the owners and presented his take on his team's position, before catching the red eye back to the UK.
    After their meeting Dalglish made plans to return home, which partly explains why he was not pictured alongside coach Steve Clarke, Henry and Werner at a baseball match between the Boston Red Sox - FSG's other marquee investment - and the Seattle Mariners last night.

In talks: Liverpool owners Tom Werner (L) and John Henry are discussing Kenny Dalglish's future today
    The Reds boss still has two years to run on the contract he was given by FSG just over 12 months ago and only last week he spoke about planning for the new season in August.
    So far, there has been silence from Boston.
    In his report, Dalglish suggested he faced a long term project in turning around the fortunes of a club that had slipped towards the relegation zone when he arrived 18 months ago.
    The manager made clear there was no overnight fix to the problems encountered at Anfield, and while he accepts the league performance hasn't been good enough this season, he believes his young side is moving in the right direction, albeit slowly.
    Henry and Werner will now continue with their review.
    That would leave a vacuum to - inevitably - be filled by speculation and rumour, which would in large part be concentrated on Dalglish's position.
    There are question marks over the other senior positions at the club too, though, with a director of football yet to be appointed following the departure of Damien Comolli two months ago, and also suggestions the Americans will review the role of MD Ian Ayre.

Steve Clarke (left) with Tom Werner and John W Henry (right) as the Boston Red Sox on Monday night
    Last night, a Liverpool spokesman said the club was not in a position to comment on any speculation over the manager's future.

Martinez better off staying at Wigan.

Damn...dem not even put him up inna one Days Inn. Sheeeeeeeeeeett!!!!! It nuh look good fe KING KENNY.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

or come inna the West Midlands.

Henry and chairman Werner opened a far-reaching review of the season, as the assess of the Reds' future.

mi tek a likkle journalistic licence

Like di choice, if it true. Di Manager seem like him wi have di magic touch. Stave off relegation two time. Him mus hab some special qualities. Get bettah playahs fi work wid, should show him true capabilities yah now.

The owners should give Kenny one more year, he will eventually turn their fortunes around.

Henry and chairman Werner opened a far-reaching review of the season, as the assess of the Reds' future.

mi tek a likkle journalistic licence
                  stick a pin! you have to be a journalis not a jokeris to get dat deh license!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    The owners should give Kenny one more year, he will eventually turn their fortunes around.
                    Hortical, normally I would agree with this, but not this time. KD has tripped on his own decisions too many times this season. He should be sacked based on the return on the amount of money he spent on Henderson and Downing alone. Abysmal and unacceptable. Sorry KD, put on a blazer and hang up the track suit before you do any more damage to your reputation...and the club.

Here's why Werner didn't make him stay longer...

Damn...dem not even put him up inna one Days Inn. Sheeeeeeeeeeett!!!!! It nuh look good fe KING KENNY.

"And if you spend one cent of my money putting him up in a Days Inn - you're gonna be fired too!!!"
                      Last edited by Paul Marin; May 15, 2012, 09:13 PM.