Nosworthy.

and yes sir this is what we need.

"Fans should look for security from me. I am reliable. On the field I am a strong player, resolute and calm when I need to be, but I know how to rough it up also. I can play football. If I need to play it out of defence I can do that too, I am pretty much versatile," he outlined.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports2.html
    While i am happy to see nuggsy get his chance the youth who really excites me is Mariappa, i must say he is a very good player and is easily our best centre back. I know Newcastle had 3 bids turned down for him in January and also Wigan tried to sign him. I hope Tappa play him and Nuggsy at the heart of our defence because they play together at Watford and know each others game.

I haven't seen him play in a while, so I can't comment on recent performance, but when he was at Sunderland, he did not impress me. Hasn't he played for Jamaica already?
      He may not have impressed you Paul, but for the fans who watched him week in week out he was the main man-;

Nyron Nosworthy is Sunderland's Player of the Season for the 2006-07 campaign.

The centre-back, 26, came out on top in a poll here on safc.com.

Nosworthy will receive his trophy at the Stadium of Light before tomorrow night's game against Burnley.

He said: "It's a great honour and I'm delighted with the award, I'd just like to thank everyone who voted for me.

"I just try to give it my best and for the fans to show their appreciation and vote for me is great.

"It has been a good season so far and we want to make it a special one by winning promotion, we have two massive games left.

"The Sunderland fans have always been great with me and I really do appreciate it, their support means so much."

Nosworthy finished ahead of skipper Dean Whitehead and Carlos Edwards came in third place.

Jonny Evans, the centre-back on loan to Sunderland from Manchester United, picked up the 2006-07 Young Player of the Season award.

is that from 2006/7 or was it just a reference? that was 5 years ago. btw whatever happened to michael ricketts from bolton, he even got an england call up i believe

Yes it was from 2006/7, Paul thought he was rubbish then but he was the fans player of the year and also North East football jouralist player of the year. Michael Ricketts stopped playing in 2010 after is release from Tranmere Rovers.

Just asking: Is he 26 years old or is his worn number at Watford 26?

Big man innah di football ting nuh fi ask dem question deh..

yuh tink is NFL dis ?

yu nuh hear seh him is 31 ?