• Messi at the centre of race storm

Messi at the centre of race storm as Everton's Drenthe accuses Barca star

PUBLISHED: 08:19 GMT, 9 May 2012 | UPDATED: 08:20 GMT, 9 May 2012

The world's best footballer Lionel Messi has been dragged into a race row by on-loan Everton midfielder Royston Drenthe.
    Dutchman Drenthe, who is coming to the end of a disappointing spell at Goodison Park, is officially owned by Real Madrid, and came up against Messi during his time in Spain.
    It is then that the Holland international alledges he was called a 'negro' by the FIFA world player of the year, the same claims laid at Luis Suarez, another South American, by Patrice Evra.

Head to head: Lionel Messi has been accused by Royston Drenthe over incidents which happened during the latter's stint at Real Madrid

Uruguyan Suarez was banned for eight matches and fined £40,000 earlier this season after being found guilty of using abusive and/or insulting words and/or behaviour in a Premier League match in 2011.
    The striker, who previously played in Holland with Ajax, defended himself on the grounds of cultural differences and that he was unaware that language acceptable in his country was viewed as racist in Europe.
    Drenthe, it seems, appreciates this defence regarding Messi, but nonetheless remains unhappy at having been subjected to the abuse.
    In an article on Dutch news website Nu.nl, Drenthe says: 'I played against him many times and we always have problems with each other.

Coming unstuck: Drenthe has endured a difficult year at Everton this season

Banned and fined: Luis Suarez

'You know what bothers me so? That tone with which he always says, "negro, negro". I understand that "negro" in South America is very common, but we can not stand it.
    'Mahamadou Diarra, my team-mate at Real, could explode if "negro" was aimed at him. The Argentinean Gabriel Heinze and Gonzalo Higuain said it initially on the training ground, but they were stopped.
    'When Hercules (the team Drenthe spent a year on loan with last season) played Barcelona, during the game I had a small altercation with him. He gave me a hand in the match and again said a few times, "hola negro".'

Barcelona dismiss claim Messi called Drenthe 'negro'

Barcelona have defended Lionel Messi against accusations he directed a racial term at Royston Drenthe. Drenthe, who is currently on loan at Everton from Real Madrid, claims Messi called him a "negro" repeatedly during his time in Spain.

Barcelona have dismissed the claims and praised Messi's character. "The player has always shown maximum respect and sportsmanship towards his rivals, something recognised by fellow professionals," a spokesman said.

(continue)

Does this make Messi a racist? Jes axin...

izz who you axin'...the resident counselor...?

Ermmmm...yes...him fi sure...an di resident dunce to'...

hahahahaa... Marin yu funny bad!!

hoiw much pale yuh know weh a nuh racist?

hahahahaa... Marin yu funny bad!!
                Notice how dem mout SHUT TIGHT!!! Poor ting dem...dem brain a work ova time fi deal wid dis one. LOL!!!!

Depends who says it... it would appear... LOL ; and ascordin to myYout yuh just have to be "pale" to make you racist that should settle it! jus check the colour of a man skin... :shakehead:

MyYout need to listen to more Natty Bob - "And until the colour of a man's skin is no more significant than the colour of his eyes..."

Well let there be a tribunal and finding....like there was with Suarez

It seems like Drenthe has a heep of incidents so don't you think that Messi is probably racist?

I can tell yuh from experience, ah Englan an ovah yah dat nuh mattah how dem smile wid yuh (an di smile a plastic ebrytime) dem all exercise di same racist traits, weddah it be overtly or covertly. Jus as ah example, ovah yah, dem allow yuh di ability fi move up di ladder inna any organisation but yuh haffi perform 200% bettah dan yuh pale counterpart. Is like most people fraid fi call di spade an doan know why. Mi ah talk from experience an not from hearseh. Mi an mi wife even get call **********h from a eighteen year old girl an hear frem dem an travel inna dem car. When sump'n happen watch how di divide show it face. Look pan my bwoy di President, dem show it blatantly ebrytime, suh how mi nuh fi seh dem all ah racist. Mi hab pale inna mi fambily, an mi love har to di max believe it or not, an dat is di ongle way dem nuh si di color. (I wondah love di word not be x'd out, but ah suh)

he might be, i don't know. don't you think a hearing would be helpful?

Funny. If I recall, you were a little more certain about Suarez being a racist - weren't you!? A hearing would only be useful if Drenthe's accussations can be supported by hard evidence. Otherwise, it is meaningless. In my opinion, racism is a charge of the utmost gravity, so the "beyond reasonable doubt" standard has to be in play. If not, there is too much room for false accussations...as we saw with your HERO Suarez. Tell me you didn't smile when he made that run against Chelski. Smile like diss ---> It is good to see you moving on Gamma. Good for the blood pressha.