Just in case we are not sure about Bora's role

• Just in case we are not sure about Bora's role

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Unity of purpose needed for 'Back to Africa' 2010 - Boxhill</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Saturday, December 23, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Last week Thursday Crenston Boxhill, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), in officially announcing the four-year contract of new technical director Bora Milutinovich, addressed the nation on a number of issues, including the role and function of the new TD, a progress report on the youth teams, identifying a Jamaican football philosophy, a vision for the 2010 Back to Africa World Cup campaign, among others. Below is the full text of Boxhill's speech.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Ladies and gentlemen:
    The Jamaica Football Federation has signed a four-year contract with Mr Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic to be the technical director for the national football programme for the country. Since his appointment, the technical director has visited games at the national and local levels of the sport, including premier league, super league and the school level. He has also performed international duties.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=330 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>New technical director of Jamaica's football Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovich (left), who will have primary responsibility for the preparation of the national senior team for World Cup 2010, poses with former national coach, Carl Brown, at the Pegasus Hotel recently. (Photo: Bryan Cummings) </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>I am sure the technical director will elaborate on his activities and observations when he speaks.
    The federation is extremely pleased with this appointment and considers it of fundamental and strategic importance to the development of the game in Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We are, first of all, pleased because of the incomparable international experience, knowledge, technical expertise and accomplishments that he brings to this new assignment.<P class=StoryText align=justify>His accomplishments have been well exposed through the media in particular, we note the advantage of his knowledge of the CONCACAF region, its players, its coaches, and the strengths and weaknesses of the teams. He is also known to be a high disciplinarian, demanding and generating maximum output from those whom he works with. He has a warm, engaging personality that can generate necessary response and respect.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We are, secondly, very pleased with the appointment because of important components to the agreement. In particular, we are happy that the technical director has agreed to work very closely in the initial two years with our local coaches. We wish again to note that his willingness to do this was highly influential in the federation's decision to hire coach Milutinovic.
    Hence, for the initial period, there will be no additional cost to the federation for support staff for the technical director.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Jamaican football lovers will immediately appreciate the value of this component to the long-term development of the game in Jamaica.
    It means that critical technical skills and experience will be passed on to our local technical staff in a more structured way than probably ever before.
    It is more than appropriate, I think, to use this occasion to personally, as well as on behalf of the federation, to thank Jamaica's local coaches at all levels for the years and years of service to the development of the sport in Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Ladies and gentlemen, this is not the easiest of job in Jamaica. The limited resources available to match the incred

RE: Just in case we are not sure about Bora's role

What is all the confusion about Lunar Cup VS Under-20 ?<P class=StoryText align=justify>Technical director Bora will have primary responsibility for the preparation of the national senior team for Jamaica's preparation for qualification for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.
    In addition, and I stress, he will give overall guidance to the varying units of the national programme, some of which are in the final preparation stages of World Cup qualification.
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Anybody that can read should now understand why he was in China as opposed to Mexico... so until dem can clone him, priorities will dictate location.

Maudib (3/5/2007)What is all the confusion about Lunar Cup VS Under-20 ?<P class=StoryText align=justify>Technical director Bora will have primary responsibility for the preparation of the national senior team for Jamaica's preparation for qualification for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.
      In addition, and I stress, he will give overall guidance to the varying units of the national programme, some of which are in the final preparation stages of World Cup qualification.
      <P class=StoryText align=justify>Anybody that can read should now understand why he was in China as opposed to Mexico... so until dem can clone him, priorities will dictate location.
      <P class=StoryText align=justify>Was that the national senior team?

Certainly looked like he was selected the people he expects to be on the Senior team in the comming years in addition to a few seniors.

Look like people just looking bout tings to cuss bout as usual.

Yes even on this Board there is mischief.........someone said that he JFF had not said what his role would be, he even said the JFF had not given the effective date of his contract

Just fightinh everything Boxhill does for no reason

Do better than that Burchell because is you same one come on the forum telling lie bout Boxhill's Real Estate plans.

Ask Bora nuh.. Maybe his strategy is too complex for some.. you might be suprised that he finds Lunar cup very important to his Senior Team development strategy...

I will give him the benefit of the doubt... he has earned it.

George (3/6/2007)Yes even on this Board there is mischief.........someone said that he JFF had not said what his role would be, he even said the JFF had not given the effective date of his contract

Just fightinh everything Boxhill does for no reason
                If you continuously 'shoot yourself in the foot' you will build distrust and disbelief. Even when you try to do some good things - for example, keeping a group of youngsters together i.e. U-15s through to the U-17s - you stand in public and water it down with 'nonsense statements' like: - ..."we can only do it with this group". No qualifying followup statements. ...and, someone must have known that saying that tells everyone "we are going down a dead end!"...as everyone knows making excellent national teams is an ongoing process. You never thought that the players age...and, if there is no followup 'doing it' with succeeding groups the entire thing dies with these youngsters as they age?

...and, what about during the same period, pronouncing to the world...the stakeholder...that "unfortunately youth football is not attractive to sponsors"? Who do you think must make OUR youth football attractive to sponsors - local and those outside of the island?

...and, in the same period you are saying the U-20 was underprepared...and, we know the U-17s are underprepared.

...and, it goes on and on...and, on!

As I said, if you continue to shoot yourself in the foot...what do you expect?

Why blame others?

As to the timing of the questions you mentioned - when were they asked? Before you made the announcements i.e. supplied what would have been the answers...or after?

Karl (3/6/2007)

If you continuously 'shoot yourself in the foot' you will build distrust and disbelief. Even when you try to do some good things - for example, keeping a group of youngsters together i.e. U-15s through to the U-17s - you stand in public and water it down with 'nonsense statements' like: - ..."we can only do it with this group". No qualifying followup statements. ...
                  Many times, follow-up statements are indeed made, but the press does a poor job reporting them. The press will say that they can't report verbatim what was said all the time. That's true, but good reporters will find a way to relay the essence of what was said, leaving readers well-informed, instead of leaving us with even more questions than we had before.

creston Boxhill...shuddut-up...sit-down~!