• YEAH!!! YIPPEE!!! Okay Mo...I know, I know...we jes disagree

Luis Suárez to sign longer-term contract with 'supportive' Liverpool

Liverpool's Luis Suárez pleads for a decision during the FA Cup semi-final against Everton, during which he scored his team's crucial equaliser. Photograph: Michael Regan/The FA via Getty Images

Luis Suárez has confirmed he has no intention of leaving Liverpool in the wake of a turbulent season as the FA Cup finalists look to secure the Uruguay international on a new long-term contract.
    Anfield officials are in negotiations with Suárez's representatives over an improved deal for the striker, who scored his 14th goal of the season for Liverpool in their 2-1 defeat of Everton in the FA Cup semi-final. Irrespective of a new contract, the 25-year-old insists he will be at Liverpool next season and will not reciprocate interest from a team who have qualified for the Champions League this summer.
    "Yes I will continue at Liverpool," said Suárez. "It is obvious I will continue. I have four years left on my contract and I am very happy and content to be here and I hope good things continue."
    Paris St-Germain were the first club to register an interest in Suárez after he was banned for eight matches for racially abusing Manchester United's Patrice Evra. The former Ajax captain attracted further condemnation when he refused to shake Evra's hand at Old Trafford in February, including from his own club, but cited the controversial support he received from Kenny Dalglish and his Liverpool team-mates as key to his desire to stay. Suárez said: "I am over that. Obviously the important thing was the support from all the people and there is no need to talk about that as it is already in the past."
    The striker's contentment is a major relief for Dalglish and Fenway Sports Group, which last week sacked Damien Comolli as the director of football over the poor return from Liverpool's other expensive recruits and can plan their transfer strategy around Suárez this summer. "It is vitally important he stays," said the defender Jamie Carragher. "He is a fantastic player and I thought he was our best player against Everton. I wouldn't swap him for anyone in the league. I see no reason why he would want to leave. He is playing well so hopefully he will sign a new contract, which he is expecting to do."
    One potential problem for Liverpool with Suárez this summer is his openness to the prospect of playing for his country at the Olympic Games. He said: "All my team‑mates are saying we all want to go to the Olympic Games and play as Uruguay has not been there for a long time, but it also depends on the club and the coach of the team who has to pick the players. All of that has to be in order."
    Suárez was again the focus of opposition anger at Wembley, where his theatrics and a running feud with John Heitinga prompted Evertonian criticism, and he admitted the barracking has been an issue. He said: "A lot of things happen in football. It's difficult and it's complicated but you have to deal with it and get used to it. It's normal in football when it's a rival as difficult as Everton. The important thing is we came through it and, not just me, but all my team‑mates responded in the best way possible.
    "At the end my joy was for my wife and my daughter, and my sister and niece who came from Uruguay, and my father-in-law who came from Barcelona. They made a huge effort to be here so my joy was for all the sacrifices they make for me, and the sacrifices by all the people from Liverpool and all the support they've given us despite not having good moments in recent times."
    Brad Jones, meanwhile, said he has no argument with handing the goalkeeper's jersey back to José Reina for the FA Cup final after producing a solid display against Everton. The Australian, third choice before suspension ruled Reina and Alexander Doni out of the semi-final, fell to his knees at the final whistle and dedicated his performance to his late son, Luca. He accepts, however, that a return to the margins now beckons. "I'm a realist," said Jones. "Pepe is one of the best in the world. It's up to him to go and get us a trophy now. I've told him that already."

dalglish would also have handled things differently ....

As I've said before - they frigged it up...so I am glad he's said that.

actually, i too am happy that he has admitted it ......

Lawd jesu - it ago rain - me an' Gamma agree pon somting fi do wid suarez!!! Whooooooooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa....time to buy lotto!!!!!

YIPPEE!! and another successful coup for the ethics of good Sportmanship and the kick racism out of football campaigne. kissteet

No that mi a preach long time. I was disappointed how Liverpool FC handled the whole thing as if Suarez was the victim.

I hope they have talked to him and his team and the club how to handle these issues.

PERIPHERALLY ... to do with suarez ... but is dat mi was saying from jump, you joined that chorale ensemble sometime later

No that mi a preach long time. I was disappointed how Liverpool FC handled the whole thing as if Suarez was the victim.

I hope they have talked to him and his team and the club how to handle these issues.
                  Wait a minute ... Suarez was from my point of view a victim ... but ... that's not how they should have played it.

so what would make you happy?

Lpool retaining the services of a player whose sportsmanship and character on the pitch is without question. Its saying much for this great club.
                      The thought of this makes me...

I personally, I have no issue with Suarez with respect to sportsmanship or character on the pitch, in fact I like his character on the pitch... when he does something that genuinely brings the club into disrepute I will acknowledge it...
                        when he handled the ball against Ghana I was livid... in the cold light I day I admit to myself I would have probably done the same thing in that position... not that I "forgave" him but I understand why a player would deliberately handle a ball in that situation...some would say he "took one for the team"...

with Evra I can only kissteet ... so far IMO his mistake with the Evra issue was not shaking his hand after but when man invent things yuh muss get vex...

I personally, I have no issue with Suarez with respect to sportsmanship or character on the pitch, in fact I like his character on the pitch... when he does something that genuinely brings the club into disrepute I will acknowledge it...
                          when he handled the ball against Ghana I was livid... in the cold light I day I admit to myself I would have probably done the same thing in that position... not that I "forgave" him but I understand why a player would deliberately handle a ball in that situation...some would say he "took one for the team"...

with Evra I can only kissteet ... so far IMO his mistake with the Evra issue was not shaking his hand after but when man invent things yuh muss get vex...
                          So dosent this... http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...all-shame.html bring the club into disrepute, and raise questions about sportmanship?
                          I tell you, mi soon tun off from football. Too much tief ruining this once great game.

One thing you cannot fault him for is honesty and forthrightness... I hope it never comes to having to deliberately handle a ball for his and the club's sake ...if it happens though I would again understand... but it would certainly create a firestorm of controversy, much more than Ashley Young's (alleged) diving to get penalties for MU...

He really needs to just stay away from anything controversial and keep his nose clean and just do what he does best, play football. I hope that is the advice his managers are giving him.

Originally posted by GazX View Post
                              So dosent this... http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...all-shame.html bring the club into disrepute, and raise questions about sportmanship?
                              I tell you, mi soon tun off from football. Too much tief ruining this once great game.
                              GazX - there is clearly a difference of opinion on what is sportsmanship/cheating and what is not, whether on this forum or elsewhere. I happen to be on the side of those who see "professional infractions" (e.g. professional foul, handball etc.) being a valid option for any player in any competitive match.

First of all, to call a professional foul or handball cheating is IMO out-of-step with fact. There is a MASSIVE difference between what Suarez did versus Rivaldo's fake injury in 2002, Maradona's hand-of-god goal in 1986 or Theirry Henry's handball against Ireland in 2009...or Ashley Young's tiefin' dive last weekend. In these cases, there was a distinct and difinitive attempt to decieve. In my opinion, deception -- regardless of outcome -- is cheating; so whether Henry, Rivaldo or Maradona were caught is of little relevance - they could have been or not, their intent was to decieve.

Conversely, an infraction of a law is not cheating - otherwise - everyone who commits an infraction is a cheat which makes every footballer on the planet a cheat - ergo, if everyone's a cheat, then no one's a cheat. For example, in basketball, a tried and true tactic used in the dying moments of a game is for the losing team to deliberately foul the attackers. The logic being that 1) the clock stops givng the losing team more time and 2) the fouled player who goes to the line might miss the free throw. Is that cheating? Is that unsportsmanlike? If you think so, then there is nothing more to discuss.

So based on my perception of what is considered cheating (which may be different from yours but I'd love to hear your thoughts) if Suarez is a cheat for his handball against Ghana, then so was Bibi Gardner for his deliberate handball against Chelsea in 2005. However, neither of these infractions were intended to deceive, but rather a selective determination by each player of what was in the best interest of their club in terms of the outcome of the game. If they tried to hide it or lie - then yes - cheating. But neither did...hardly cheating in my opinion.