• Dalglish: Signings have been my choice

Dalglish: Signings have been my choice

By This Is AnfieldcloseAuthor: This Is AnfieldName: This Is Anfield
    Email: maxmunton@gmail.com
    Site: http://www.thisisanfield.com
    About: Keep up to date with the latest from This Is Anfield by following us on Twitter, Facebook or via our RSS feed.See Authors Posts (1966) On April 12, 2012 · 19 Comments · In LFC News

Following the news that Damien Comolli is to leave his role as director of football strategy at Liverpool FC, manager Kenny Dalglish has told the media that all signings since he arrived at the Club have been his choice – not Comolli’s.
    Much speculation has surrounded the signings of the likes of Stewart Downing, Jordan Henderson and Andy Carroll.
    Each of these players appear to have been signed with the ‘moneyball’ strategy in mind – something which Comolli was an advocate of and was appointed to carry out at LFC – but when Dalglish arrived he sought to bring a British core to the squad.
    Dalglish said on Thursday morning “Everyone who has come into the club since Damien has been here was of my choice.”
    The Reds boss also said that he enjoyed a good professional and social relationship with Comolli.
    “He has been really helpful in every transfer target that we’ve gone for. Once I made the choice who I wanted, Damien went away and did a fantastic job of bringing them in.”
    However, we are told that there were instances, particularly last summer, where Comolli had identified other foreign targets but instead Dalglish insisted on the British equivalent.
    Perhaps Comolli has been made a scapegoat for the inflated transfer fees we paid rather than the actual signings themselves.
    The Frenchman’s departure leaves Liverpool fans wondering if this is an admission from the club’s owners, FSG, that the moneyball approach does not work in football. Or could it be, that Comolli’s departure has just opened up a new position for Kenny Dalglish this summer. Only time will tell.
    For anybody being overly critical of Comolli, remember he has been responsible for the agreement with Uruguayan side FC Nacional, which some have described as being hugely significant.
    One thing is for sure, this move shows that FSG are definitely not happy with how this season has progressed.
    Only time will tell what FSG’s next move is to be; either they are to appoint another director of football, hand full control to Dalglish, or remove Dalglish too. It could be a busy summer ahead.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This news is no surprise to me,Liverpool lost a good man there. I dont think Liverpool will get back to where they want to be with Kenny Dalgleish in charge.Damien Comolli knows is stuff, he also knows the French market where most of the uncut diamonds are but i dont think he had much influence on the signings that were made, apart from Coates or Suarez the other signings are definately Kenny's signings. Caroll,Henderson,Downing all overpriced and nothing more than ordinary!!

I agree with you ,they are all overpriced,but i believe they will come good esp Henderson and Carroll,Downing and Adam are bench ballas.That said i would not sell them,I would reinforce the squad with quality.

4 players are needed .3 attackers and a right back,flanagan needs one more season, preferable two attacking midfielders who can play in a defensive midfield position if need be and a striker,poacher.

We are on the right road.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I agree with you ,they are all overpriced,but i believe they will come good esp Henderson and Carroll,Downing and Adam are bench ballas.That said i would not sell them,I would reinforce the squad with quality.

4 players are needed .3 attackers and a right back,flanagan needs one more season, preferable two attacking midfielders who can play in a defensive midfield position if need be and a striker,poacher.

Right road to where X? 08-09season unuh finished 2nd, last season unuh finished 6th so far unuh in 8th position .... again i ask .. right road to where?

Kenny should step aside at the end of the season and keep his status as a legend at the club, if he continues is reputation will be in tatters he is too old school to be managing in this era.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
            Kenny should step aside at the end of the season and keep his status as a legend at the club, if he continues is reputation will be in tatters he is too old school to be managing in this era.
            Why? I think King Kenny should stay right there. He will get it right next season.

Liverpool need a player like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1Ti8h3ePNE

if this deal dies lfc will be very happy ,to have him back....one touch specialist.

Why? I think King Kenny should stay right there. He will get it right next season.
                Mark my words X, you cant say i didnt warn you. Comolli is the scapegoat now but there will be no hiding place next season.

I agree but KD is allowed time for error , if he screws up next season royally, we wont make an ==arse== of ourselves ,he will do the honourable thing and resign, Rafa is waiting.

We have the quality.

Mr. President I am seeing the wisdom in your words. Your genius knows no bounds sir. That's why you are our fearless leader. I submit and bow to your greater knowledge in these things. LONG LIVE KING KENNY!!!!
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I agree but KD is allowed time for error , if he screws up next season royally, we wont make an ==arse== of ourselves ,he will do the honourable thing and resign, Rafa is waiting.

We have the quality.
                      X - how can you possibly say we have the quality when you put 2 of the new signings on the bench and are being patient with 2 others? Look at the squad from top to bottom:

Goal -
                      Pepe - 8.5
                      We'll have to see on Jones and Doni - can't tell although Jones royally cocked up the miskick at Blackburn leading to the goal.

Defenders:
                      Kelly, Flanagan, Carragher: 4...Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Coates: 8...Enrique: 7

Midfield:
                      Gerrard (very poor form by his standards), Adam, Henderson, Downing, Spearing, Shelvey - Jesus Lord, give me a break!! Collective rating: 6 Kuyt (getting old), Lucas, Maxi: 7

Forwards:
                      Bellamy 7 (no knees, age); Suarez: 8.5 Carroll: 7 (he was a 5 before the Blackburn game - I think he will come good as well).

Anyway, stack that up against any of the top 5 clubs in the league and we're woefully inadequate, the midfield is in shambles and needs a massive overhaul. The entire load is being carried by the defenders bypassing the midfield all together. Look at 2 of the 3 goals at Blackburn: 1st one set up from Skrtel to Bellamy bypassing midfield altogether; 3rd one from Coates (defender) to Agger (defender) to Carroll.

Our midfield is a frigging joke yet KD has a player like Aquaman and another like Sterling being wasted.

YNWA

X - how can you possibly say we have the quality when you put 2 of the new signings on the bench and are being patient with 2 others? Look at the squad from top to bottom:

Goal -
                        Pepe - 8.5
                        We'll have to see on Jones and Doni - can't tell although Jones royally cocked up the miskick at Blackburn leading to the goal.

Defenders:
                        Kelly, Flanagan, Carragher: 4...Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Coates: 8...Enrique: 7

Midfield:
                        Gerrard (very poor form by his standards), Adam, Henderson, Downing, Spearing, Shelvey - Jesus Lord, give me a break!! Collective rating: 6 Kuyt (getting old), Lucas, Maxi: 7

Forwards:
                        Bellamy 7 (no knees, age); Suarez: 8.5 Carroll: 7 (he was a 5 before the Blackburn game - I think he will come good as well).

Anyway, stack that up against any of the top 5 clubs in the league and we're woefully inadequate, the midfield is in shambles and needs a massive overhaul. The entire load is being carried by the defenders bypassing the midfield all together. Look at 2 of the 3 goals at Blackburn: 1st one set up from Skrtel to Bellamy bypassing midfield altogether; 3rd one from Coates (defender) to Agger (defender) to Carroll.

Our midfield is a frigging joke yet KD has a player like Aquaman and another like Sterling being wasted.

YNWA
                        Paul, the squad is not good enough for a club like Liverpool and they haven't got a lot of young players out on loan gaining experience, Kenny prefer to keep them at the club playing youth football saying he is protecting them,how ridiculous is that? When you look at how loan moves benefit players like Cleverly,Hart,Wilshere,Sturridge,Welbeck,Song,Kyle Walker etc it is criminal that a player with the ability of Stirling is not out on loan getting some experience.

Paul , having the quality and knowing what to do with it , is our biggest problem and that lies on K.D head , thus my conclusion he needs time.

His starting line ups, tactics have raised questions , and rightly so , we have a damm good record against the Top 3 teams , to the point of knocking three out of cups.

K.D needs to fix the middle .Gerrad cannot be our focus in the midfield , Rafa proved that awhile ago,this english mentality that it runs through Gerrad is our biggest downfall , or anything english i.e Adam & Spearing, Shelvey played with more sense than both of them against Blackburn, He calmed us down and we won.

Does K.D see this ?

Andy Carroll 7? Really? The only him look dangerous is on FIFA 12.

Aquallani last game in a liverpool shirt .Liv down 2-1 with 12 minutes left.Where Charlie Adam played 78 minutes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuKfl...eature=related