EPL Tables - Form team and more
I believe the strength that the top teams had before was largely attributable to the tenure of their managers; for the 5 years that the Prem held top billing in Europe, the top clubs all had the same managers (Rafa, Mourinho, Wenger, Ferguson). It is no surprise that Liverpool and Chelsea with their managerial disruption are out of the UCL standings and teams with more stability (or money) in Spurs and City have taken their place.
The one substitute for managerial stability is money, but talented motivated players will trump money every time. Unfortunately, talented motivated players also happen to frequently (but not always) be the most expensive...so the risk of the circular argument raising its ugly head aside, I think that management stability has to return before the Prem gets back to dominating Europe. With Harry leaving Spurs (almost for sure) more disruption will ensue and I predict Spurs will be out of the top 4 next season if he leaves."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
I hate it when you make sense and I have to agree with you. Comparing leagues - there is a 20 point gap between 1st and 3rd place. All the other leagues have a much closer point gap. What does that says about La Liga when you take away Barcelona and RM.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostI hate it when you make sense and I have to agree with you. Comparing leagues - there is a 20 point gap between 1st and 3rd place. All the other leagues have a much closer point gap. What does that says about La Liga when you take away Barcelona and RM.
The truth though is that they both have more money than the other La Liga clubs by a million miles and especially in the case of RM, will never be allowed to fail. The recent administration of Rangers in Scotland could NEVER happen in Spain with RM or Barca - NEVER. RM can spend money with impunity!
They are hugely responsible for the current imbalance in the ability for clubs to pay reasonable prices and wages for players as it was they who started the mega-deal stupidity back in their Galactico 1.0 era. Small clubs are simply priced out of the game...thanks Real Madrid. That's why I call them the "other" evil empire. Eediat dem!"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365