• Manchester City ready to launch sensational bid to sign CR7

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1...world-football

Manchester City ready to launch sensational bid to sign Cristiano Ronaldo this summer from Real Madrid," read the headline at Goal.com last week.

In our rational minds, we knew exactly how to react. This was just the latest cheap-shot, baseless transfer rumour designed to suck in gazillions of readers through no more than the sheer audacity of its claim.

Ronaldo to City should be filed alongside "Elvis is alive," "Celine Dion is dead" and "Andy Carroll joins Liverpool for £35 million" and laughed off hysterically at every mention. (One of those headlines is actually factual, but you get my point. Sorry, Liverpool fans.)

But what if, amid all the fantastical nonsense we get dealt on a daily basis, this was actually one idea to take seriously? What if the "sources in both Manchester and Spain" quoted at Goal.com were genuine insiders to potentially the most incredible transfer deal of the century?

Is it really so unfathomable that Ronaldo might leave Madrid behind for a return to Manchester—albeit this time in the blue of City rather than the red of United?

If you allow yourself to entertain the notion for just the time it takes to read this column, you'll realize there are reasons why joining City actually makes sense for the world's second best player.

Let me break it down for you.

Cash Money

City owner Sheikh Mansour
    Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images
    Money is always an object when it comes to footballers. Their careers are so limited that making as much as possible at their peak is essential to spending the rest of their lives in the manner to which they've grown accustomed.

It can be a fragile business, too. An injury can curtail a career in an instant, and form is no guarantee for even the most talented of players (please step forward, Fernando Torres).

Ronaldo earns an estimated £11 million per year at Madrid, which equates to a healthy £211,536.46 going into his bank account on a weekly basis. He's on a six-year deal at the Bernabeu, which ends in 2015.

But if we are to believe the Goal.com report, City are ready to double that salary—and with the financial clout of Sheikh Mansour behind them, we've no reason to doubt they could stretch to between £400,000-500,000 per week for Ronaldo.

Mansour is, after all, the richest man in British football.

Continuity

Ronaldo joined Madrid from Manchester United in 2009 and has already played under two contrasting managers at the club—Manuel Pellegrini and Jose Mourinho.

Reports suggest Mourinho will be gone in the summer, which would leave Ronaldo to adjust to yet another new coach in Spain and, in all likelihood, another overhaul of the squad around him, too.

City could provide greater stability here in one of two ways—by keeping faith in Roberto Mancini, as his new contract offer appears to suggest they will, or by turning to Mourinho themselves, and thus, giving Ronaldo the perfect incentive to join them.

Leading the Blue Moon Uprising

It was always Ronaldo's "dream" to join Madrid, but at Manchester City, he would have the chance to spearhead a spectacular footballing revolution.

City have the resources to rule over England and all of Europe, but perhaps, like United in the early '90s, they need a special type of player to come in and make it all possible.

That man at Old Trafford was Eric Cantona. Could the lure of playing a similar role at the Etihad appeal to both Ronaldo's ambition and his undoubted vanity?

At 27, Ronaldo still has time to earn immortality with the blue half of Manchester. He also knows his arrival would be greeted like the second coming, and City's passionate fans would worship his every goosestep in their colors.

Compare that to the famously fickle Madrid fans, and there's no question life would be easier for Ronaldo in Manchester.

Smooth Transition

Sergio Ageuro, Edin Dzeko and David Silva—three men who would welcome the arrival of Ronaldo at Manchester City.
    Alex Livesey/Getty Images
    City and Madrid are not all that dissimilar when you consider the way they set up. Both Mourinho and Mancini favor something close to a 4-2-3-1 formation, which lends the attacking wide players a great deal of freedom to roam.

Ronaldo has excelled in the role for Madrid and would fit seamlessly into Mancini's plans, making for a smooth transition tactically should he make the move.

There are other tactical similarities to note. According to whoscored.com, shorter balls account for 86 percent of City's passes this season. That number is 84 percent for Madrid.

Both teams average 19 shots a game, and average possession numbers come in at 60 percent for Madrid and 58 percent for City.

Proven in the Premier League

Ronaldo would have no concerns about making his presence felt in England. At Manchester United, he became the first (and only) Premier League player to be named FIFA World Player of the Year in 2008.

Ronaldo's raw pace, physicality and direct approach are perfectly suited to English football, and it's hard to imagine he'd be anything other than a soaring success at City.

Chance to Escape Messi's Shadow

Lionel Messi may be a small man, but the shadow of the world's best player is cast over Ronaldo's every achievement in Spain.

Messi and his all-conquering Barcelona team have dominated domestically and in Europe since Ronaldo arrived at the Bernabeu, and it's surely starting to get old for Ronaldo and Los Blancos.

By returning to England, Ronaldo would not only have the chance to escape such frequent comparison, but also to force the argument that's he a more adaptable talent—able to achieve consistently in two of the world's best leagues.

Messi fans will naturally point to his Champions League feats, but his detractors will say he's yet to prove himself away from the Barcelona family.

Either way, Ronaldo would at least be freed somewhat of such constant comparison.

Friends in the North?

Finally, we shouldn't forget the emotional attachments Ronaldo built during his time in Manchester between 2003 and 2009. Those were formative years for the teenager who became a man, and Ronaldo clearly enjoyed his time in the rainy city.

"I'm not sorry to have swapped Manchester for Madrid though I confess to missing the city where for six years I grew, matured and was very happy," he said back in 2010.

And with that, I'll leave you to think it over.

In all likelihood, it won't happen, but if City do decide to offer £80 million and a package to make Ronaldo the highest-paid footballer on the planet, it's certainly not beyond the realm of possibility that the Portuguese star would be tempted.

Whether Madrid would consider selling him is another question entirely.

Marin...This is just to sell newspaper....

Man City needs to concentrate on the rest of the season.

....the rest of which season???
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Marin...This is just to sell newspaper....

Man City needs to concentrate on the rest of the season.
        Why? 2nd spot look secure.

Paul, you should have posted this report on Sunday.....April's Fool Day.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lazie, i have been watchin' this game long enough to see (and know) some peculiar things can happen in football...

So you and Jangle can stop dancing the jig. It's too early!!

Lazie, i have been watchin' this game long enough to see (and know) some peculiar things can happen in football...

So you and Jangle can stop dancing the jig. It's too early!!
              Wait ... what jig? Last I checked who was celebrating in January when y'all had an 8 points lead and a GD of almost 20? Tables turn ... everybody a get agitated now!

Careful mr. president, mine a bwoy kick off yuh face.

I love this, the thing about this story is that it sounds

too good to be true but when you think about it it can make sense.

Here is my take, from a financial perspective everybody will win.

Real will not sell Ronaldo for 80mm they will ask for some crazy price like 100mm thinking City will not pay it but City will pay up because they can afford it and they will make the money back, Real will have 100mm deposited to their bank account(not bad for a days work) and they can buy the world after that.

City will probably sell somewhere between 150mm and 200mm worth of C7 shirts before the ink on the transfer document is even dry, City will also increase attendance and earn more from tv rights eventually as well, Ronaldo will clean up with a % of the transfer fee plus a hefty increase in wages.

So it's a win win on the money side.
                  The big question will now be can it work footballically...Afternoon HL.

Now who will Ronaldo start over ? Silva ? Tevez ? Balotelli ? Nasri ? how will that go over with them ? probably not well. Mancini's style is far more defensive than Jose...how well will a 40 goal a season man adapt ?
                  Then the EGO's gonna be mad tripping...Balotelli wants to take every penalty and free kick, do you think Ronaldo will let him ? I think not.
                  Since Ronaldo moved to Real he has become a very savy self promoting marketing machine which suprisingly Murinho has no problem with because he will produce on the pitch when asked, Mancini keeps everybody and I mean everybody in check.

At the end of the day Ronaldo wants to win as many titles as he can, if Real wins the Champions league and La Liga this year he will have nothing else to prove in Spain just like he did with Boy U and wearing Sky Blue may be very tempting while he is still at the peak of his career.

Now an even better story would be "CR7 sings with the New York Red Bulls"

Yow ScalyDread yuh want a slap inna yuh headback for even suggesting such blasphemy. You mussi want Manchester bun down. He would have to have a clause in his contract that he cannot play against the Empire. He would have to live like a hermit in Manchester.

The fact that he was at Boy U and then $ity would be a temporary issue, yes he will be booed when they play each other but that's one game. Sol Campbell, Peter Crouch and many other players survived moves to cross town rivals...I don't see that a a big issue.

Originally posted by Scaly Spurs View Post
                        The fact that he was at Boy U and then $ity would be a temporary issue, yes he will be booed when they play each other but that's one game. Sol Campbell, Peter Crouch and many other players survived moves to cross town rivals...I don't see that a a big issue.
                        As a MU fan, I'd have no problem with him going to the Ediat stadium .... dem still not winning the league.

Great synopsis Scaly! Your submission would really make good reading for any newspaper.

You have the business aspect figured out. And it sound workable!!

I am still adjusting to Mancini's coaching style. I like when a coach stick to a core group of players. Mancini seems all over the friggin place. He I think is the weakness.

What if both Madrid and City keep all it's players--and they simply swap coach.

I firmly think Jose Mourinho would do a better job at City than Mancini.

I and that this happens.

Quit now! Aguero urged to swap City for Madrid by father-in-law Maradona

By Sportsmail Reporter
                            PUBLISHED: 13:46, 3 April 2012 | UPDATED: 14:13, 3 April 2012
                            Sergio Aguero's father-in-law, the great Maradona, has urged the Manchester City striker to quit England for Real Madrid at the end of the season.

'Kun' has only been at the Etihad since last summer when Roberto Mancini paid a club record £38million to Atletico Madrid for his services.

Aguero has enjoyed a better-than-expected debut campaign in the Premier League, scoring 17 times despite a series of niggling injuries.

Wanted man: Sergio Aguero was a target for Real Madrid before choosing Manchester City

Go that way: Diego Maradona think Aguero made a mistake and should move to Madrid soon

The latest of those resulted a public telling off by boss Mancini after it became known the striker was suffering with blisters as a result of an anaesthetic freeze spray, applied after a knock against Chelsea.

And now, after City's shortcomings in Europe (they failed to escape the group stage in the Champions League), Aguero has been urged Maradona to jump ship for Spain.

Maradona told Radio de la Red: 'Kun has to play for Real Madrid. Even though he is flying at City, the best thing would have been to sign for Madrid. He made a mistake.

'Now, as he is doing so well, it will be difficult to get him from City. However if Madrid want someone, they get them. Florentino [Perez, the club boss] has no limits. It's a question of convincing City - but not with money because they have plenty of that.'

Spanish newspaper AS reported on Tuesday that the La Liga leaders were considering a swap deal that would involve sending Gonzalo Higuain plus £8.5m the other way.

The striker, who is an international team-mate of Aguero, has been heavily linked with a move to Chelsea as well as clubs in Italy, including Juventus.

Better together: The striking pair are international team-mates with Argentina

AS claim Aguero has already discussed a potential move back to the Spanish capital with team-mates, and that there is a growing feeling a move will materialise this summer.

Real manager Jose Mourinho, though, has dismissed the story, claiming that the country's media are trying to destabilise his team as they chase a domestic and European double.
                            The Portuguese, speaking at a press conference ahead of Wednesday's Champions League quarter-final second leg against APOEL Nicosia, said: 'You (the press) want to destabilise the squad. Last week I had signed for (Manchester) City, (Iker) Casillas was going to Schalke, Higuain to Malaga...'

Dismissed: Jose Mourinho has launched an attack on the Spanish media

On the Higuain-Aguero story, he added: 'The front cover of (newspaper) AS is false. If you want me to comment on false front covers then forget it.'

Meanwhile, the club's director of institutional relations Emilio Butragueno also dismissed the suggestion of selling Higuain.
                            'Rumours seem to be inevitable,' he told the club's official website. 'But we are delighted with Higuain. He's scored 24 goals in 20 league games and just remember I was the league's top scorer with 19.

'He is a world-class striker and we intend for him to stay here many years. He arrived here very young and we regard him as a club player. He has always behaved impeccably, whether he plays or not.'

Dutch of class: Roberto Mancini has made no secret of his wish to sign Robin van Persie

The report in AS added that a strong relationship between Real and City's owners - Perez and Sheikh Mansour - enhances the chances of a deal going through, while Mancini falters on his own prime target, Arsenal's Robin van Persie.

The Italian has made no secret of his admiration for the Dutchman - who is the Premier League's leading marksman - but has been met with resistance from Arsenal and the player's family.

Mancini, meanwhile, will listen to offers for Edin Dzeko and Carlos Tevez.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1r18300hy

Maradona is a loose cannon. He should just sit down and shuddup!!

This is the crap he is into:

Al Wasl have apologised to manager Diego Maradona after he confronted fans who verbally abused his partner and friends during his side's UAE Pro-League match at the weekend.

GettyImagesAl Wasl have issued an apology to Diego Maradona over the abuse he received

The club described Maradona's actions as "what any honourable person would do" after the former Argentina captain and coach stormed into the stands during the 2-0 defeat at Al Shabab.

Maradona left the touchline after noticing the altercation in the VIP area before he had to be restrained by several police in a match shown live on UAE television. Maradona, 51, later labelled the fans "cowards" on Gulf News.

"The management of Al Wasl Football Company denounce the harassment suffered by the family and guests of Diego Armando Maradona, head coach of Al Wasl Football Club in Al Shabab's stadium during the last match of the professional league," a statement on the club's website read.
                              "A few irresponsible fans verbally abused Maradona's wife and his guests during the match."

Al Wasl's acting chief executive officer, Abdullah Al-Bishr, also backed Maradona's "understandable" actions in the same statement.
                              "Al Wasl Football Company finds Maradona's behaviour understandable, when he went into the stands to protect his wife and guests; it is what any honourable person would do," he said. "We offer our sincere apologies to Maradona for what took place on behalf of the few who offended UAE culture by their actions.

"This is a society, which by its very nature, does not insult women by cursing and harassing, but is brought up to treat them with respect