Update...

• Update...

Bolton midfielder Fabrice Muamba is showing "small signs of improvement" but remains "critically ill", according to the London Chest Hospital.

FABRICE'S FIGHT

Follow the worldwide support for Bolton's midfielder Fabrice Muamba.

It is now almost 48 hours since the 23-year-old collapsed during his side's FA Cup quarter-final with Tottenham at White Hart Lane after suffering a cardiac arrest.

Medical staff took two hours to get Muamba's heart working again, but in a statement this afternoo
    n, it was revealed there have been further small reasons for optimism.

"Fabrice Muamba remains in intensive care at the London Chest Hospital, where today he is showing small signs of improvement,'' read a joint statement, released by Barts and the London NHS Trust and Bolton.
    "His heart is now beating without the help of medication and he is also moving his arms and his legs.

"However, his long-term prognosis will remain unclear for some time.
    "He is still critically ill and will continue to be closely monitored and treated by staff in The London Chest Hospital's intensive care unit."

This is good news, any improvement is good

I really hopes he comes through this.

I can't get his name or the pics of him on the ground out of my head.
    A friend told me today Owen Coyle is thinking of forfieting the game, he says it would be too much for his players to go back to Spurs and face them again with all that has happened.

Originally posted by Scaly Spurs View Post
      I really hopes he comes through this.

I can't get his name or the pics of him on the ground out of my head.
      A friend told me today Owen Coyle is thinking of forfieting the game, he says it would be too much for his players to go back to Spurs and face them again with all that has happened.
      Well, let me tell you...thank God it happened to him in England; imagine if that happened to a player in a NPL game in Jamaica? He has a fighting chance, let's hope he comes through this and continue with his career.

not be a prophet of doom here, but I cant see him playing again, based on simliar experiences with other players.

Agreed
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Stap dissin Jumaica Marin................................

Muamba up and talking now. Can recognize family members.

Heard that a fan (in attendance) who is a cardiac specialist...ran out on the pitch to help!!!

I just heard on BBC he's downgraded to "serious".. good sign

Muamba calls for his son after words offer family hope over miracle recovery

• Joint statement from the hospital and Bolton confirms 'signs of progress'
                  • Michael Essien reveals he spoke with Muamba at his hospital bedside
                  • Emmanuel Adebayor, Ashley Cole and Shaun Wright-Phillips also visit
                  • Flowers and shirt tributes laid at Reebok Stadium as fans forget rivalries

By Matt Lawton and Ian Ladyman
                  PUBLISHED: 23:00, 19 March 2012 | UPDATED: 11:35, 20 March 2012

Stricken Bolton midfielder Fabrice Muamba has spoken to family and friends, raising hopes the 23-year-old may recover from the cardiac arrest he suffered at Tottenham on Saturday.
                  Muamba asked about his son in his first words since waking from a coma.

The Bolton star turned to his fiance Shauna Magunda, recognised her, and said: 'Where's Josh?', a friend told the Daily Mirror.
                  His delighted fiance then tweeted: 'All your prayers are working people thank u so so much. To God be the glory.'

Progress: Michael Essien confirmed that Fabrice Muamba had spoken to family and friends as he recovers from a cardiac arrest suffered on Saturday at White Hart Lane

Support: A simple message for Muamba attached to flowers at the Reebok today

Muamba remains gravely ill in the London Chest Hospital, where he had been kept in a coma since collapsing at White Hart Lane.
                  But on Monday night a statement released by Bolton and the hospital confirmed Muamba was breathing on his own and had communicated with his family.
                  'He is now able to breathe independently, without the aid of a ventilator and he is able to recognise family members and respond to questions appropriately,' said the statement. 'These are positive signs of progress.
                  'However, his condition remains serious and our medical staff in intensive care will continue to monitor and treat him. His family and club would like to thank the media for continuing to respect their privacy at this time.'
                  Chelsea midfielder Michael Essien revealed Muamba had spoken to him in both English and French.
                  Earlier, Bolton said Muamba had moved his arms and legs but warned ‘his long-term prognosis will remain unclear for some time.’ Given that Muamba’s heart stopped for two hours after his collapse, there remains fear he may have suffered brain damage.

Visit: Shaun Wright-Phillips and Ashley Cole went to see Fabrice Muamba on Monday afternoon

Old pal: Johan Djourou arrives at the London Chest Hospital to visit his former Arsenal team-mate

The news came shortly after a friend of the player, Curtis Codrington, revealed Muamba had spoken ‘minimal words in English and French, which is better than nothing’.

He later Tweeted: 'I'm so happy I have seen hugged and kiss Muamba he remember me and spoke of our jokes of fellow Congo player chris samba this is so great' [sic].
                  Muamba's fiancee Shauna then wrote on Twitter: 'All your prayers are working people thank u so so much. Every prayer makes him stronger. To God be the glory.'
                  Bolton manager Owen Coyle — who has remained in London — said the former England Under 21 midfielder is going through a ‘brave fight’, adding that the club had been inundated with messages of support from players and fans, including one from David Beckham.
                  On Monday fellow professionals Shaun Wright-Phillips, Ashley Cole and Johan Djourou visited Muamba in hospital.

Update: Bolton boss Owen Coyle spoke off Fabrice Muamba continuing his 'brave fight' to save his life at the London Chest Hospital

‘There is real hope he can come through this,’ said Coyle.
                  He added: 'The message is the good will, the prayers from everybody, they are so thankful and they want to put that on record - to say "keep up the prayers, thanks for all the support".
                  'They have been inundated as we all have, both in the football community globally and family and friends. People are taking a genuine interest and a real concern with how Fabrice is doing.'

Fans' favourite: A small picture of Muamba is attached to flowers by tribute shirts

Well wishes: Muamba's collapse has seen messages flood into Bolton's home

Infectious smile: Muamba with fiance Shauna

'We all know he's such a wonderful lad, he's a young man and we all hope that will help in this brave fight which he is undergoing at the moment.
                  'It's a difficult situation but the family are bearing up as well as they can. They themselves are very positive people.
                  'You look at what Fabrice has been through in life already and you can tell that he is a fighter. He has such a fantastic smile and that's what we all want to see again.'
                  Bolton skipper Kevin Davies also described Muamba as a 'fighter'.
                  He said: 'Fabrice is fighting and we are all hoping he will pull through. I spoke to the manager and the doctor this morning and his condition remains criticial. I have been speaking to the manager and I have travelled back with the chairman. He went back down to support Fabrice and his family.
                  'It was optional to come into training today and decisions will have to be made but my immediate thoughts are with Fabrice and his family. The club will take a stance on (the next game) in the next couple of days. But at the minute we want to just try and help Fabrice.'

Vigil: Jermain Defoe and his mother Sandra visited Muamba at the hospital in east London

Premier League officials have advised the club to take each day as it comes before deciding whether to fulfil their home fixture with Blackburn this Saturday.
                  But at some point the Premier League, who are planning to review their medical testing policies, will join forces with the FA in discussing what can be learned from the incident. One possibility is the introduction of mandatory annual heart examinations for all players.
                  Muamba’s emergency medical care on Saturday owed much measures implemented in the wake of Petr Cech’s head injury at Reading in October 2006.
                  And it was as the result of a tragedy in 1995 that heart examinations were made mandatory for all scholars, aged between 16 and 17, signing for professional Premier League academies.

Shock: Owen Coyle and players from both sides show their concern for Fabrice Muamba

John Marshall, a 16-year-old England schoolboy international, died from a heart attack the day before he was due to join Everton. It transpired he suffered from arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy and only last year his sister Hayley called for testing to be introduced for young people.
                  ‘Twelve people a week die of these cardiomyopathies,’ she said in support of the charity, Cardiac Risk in the Young.
                  On Monday FIFA president Sepp Blatter wrote to Bolton chairman Phil Gartside to offer support, while the Sunderland squad stopped at the Reebok Stadium en route to Blackburn for Tuesday's Barclays Premier League match to look at tributes to Muamba.

Critical condition: The London Chest Hospital, who released a joint statement with Bolton Wanderers FC (below), in east London where Muamba remains under care

Bolton’s game against Aston Villa has been postponed, while no decision has been made about Saturday’s match or about the club continuing in the FA Cup.
                  But Spurs boss Harry Redknapp confirmed his side’s league clash at home to Stoke on Wednesday would go ahead as planned.
                  He said: ‘They need to play. I think they are OK. The best thing for them is to get back on the pitch and play.’
                  Some of his players had ECG tests when a cardiologist made a routine visit to the training ground.
                  Referee Howard Webb, praised for his handling of the situation at White Hart Lane, is set to return on Wednesday as QPR host Liverpool.

Comfort: Gareth Bale gives Jermain Defoe - a close friend of Muamba's - a show of support

Stunned spectators: White Hart Lane emptied in

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1pgFAiP8f

Stap dissin Jumaica Marin................................
                    Wait? Is lie me a tell? Plus me nah dis Jamaica, jus' pointing out an unfortunate state of affairs for our proud but materially challenged country. I have a friend who passed away back in the mid-90's, he was only 26 at the time. He was a very big youth - 6'2" and over 300lbs. He was driving back to Kingston from a function in Ocho Rios and had a brain aneurysm just outside Spanish Town and crashed. He was alone and it was in the early evening but the other motorists and people in the area stopped to help him. It took over an hour for an ambulance to come for him and by then it was too late. Things are hard in Jamaica, it is especially hard for those of us who have lived abroad for so long to really comprehend it.

'Dead' for 78 minutes with no response to 15 shocks... but now recovering Muamba tells his saviour: 'I'm fine, doc'

By Sportsmail Reporter
                      PUBLISHED: 15:31, 21 March 2012 | UPDATED: 16:26, 21 March 2012
                      Fabrice Muamba was given 15 defibrillator shocks and his heart stopped for 78 minutes - but he has now told Bolton's doctor: 'I'm fine.'

Jonathan Tobin has revealed details of the extraordinary efforts to save the midfielder's life after he collapsed on the pitch against Tottenham on Saturday.

Muamba remains in intensive care at the London Chest Hospital but there is now growing optimism that he will make a full recovery.
                      He was visited by Thierry Henry, who briefly played with him during their Arsenal days together, on Wednesday afternoon.

Life savers: The four doctors who treated Fabrice Muamba - heart specialist Dr Andrew Deaner, consultant cardiologist Dr Sam Mohiddin, Tottenham doctor Shabaaz Mughal and Bolton doctor Jonathan Tobin

Heroes: The four doctors chat outside the London Chest Hospital

Bolton have also confirmed that they will return to White Hart Lane next Tuesday to replay the cancelled FA Cup quarter-final match.

Tobin said: 'I'm glad to say that the early signs of recovery have continued. I went to see Fabrice last night. I went in and he said "Hi, doc".
                      'I asked him how he was and he said "Fine". I explained to him what had happened. That's the sort of level of communication I have had with Fabrice.'

Tobin - who gave mouth-to-mouth resuscitation to Muamba - also admitted he was left 'fearing the worst' after the player required 15 separate shocks - two on the pitch, one in the tunnel and another 12 in the ambulance on the way to the hospital.

Support: Bolton fans posted more messages for Muamba at the Reebok Stadium

Favourite: Dozens of messages were scribbled on this poster of the stadium

None of these worked as his heart failed to restart for 78 minutes in the frantic efforts to revive him.

After working on Muamba for 48 minutes before his arrival at hospital, Dr Tobin confirmed the player continued to receive treatment for 30 minutes before his heart showed signs of activity.
                      'In effect he was dead in that time,' Tobin said. 'Fabrice was in a type of cardiac arrest where the heart is showing lots of electrical activity but no muscular activity.

'It's something that often responds to drugs and shocks. Now heaven knows why, but Fabrice had, in total, 15 shocks. He had a further 12 shocks in the ambulance.'
                      Having such an intimate knowledge of Muamba, once he arrived at the hospital on Saturday, Tobin went to a corridor and broke down as he feared the consequences of what had happened.
                      It was the first chance he had to think. What happened previously was just a blur.

'I can't begin to explain the pressure that was there,' Tobin said. 'This isn't somebody that's gone down in the street or been brought into A&E.

'This is somebody that I know, I know his family. This is somebody I consider a friend. This is somebody I joke with on a daily basis. As I was running onto the pitch I was thinking "Oh my God, it's Fabrice".'
                      The feelings were just as acute when Muamba grasped Tobin's hand for the first time.

Backing from the stars: Lionel Messi wears a tribute t-shirt on Tuesday night after Emmanuel Adebayor's visit

Indeed, the Congo-born player's entire recovery has been described as 'miraculous' by Dr Andrew Deaner, the cardiologist and Tottenham fan who leapt from his seat in the crowd and rushed onto the pitch to help.
                      'If you're going to use the term miraculous, I guess it could be used here,' he said.
                      Dr Deaner went to visit the player after he had woken up and recalled that Muamba was able to make a joke even that early in his recovery process.

'I whispered into his ear "What's your name?",' he said before the answer 'Fabrice' came back.
                      Dr Deaner went on: 'I said "I understand you're a very good footballer". And he said "I try".'
                      All this news, following first-hand reports of Muamba's condition from Kevin Davies, Nigel Reo-Coker, Darren Pratley and Mark Davies, meant that when Coyle spoke to his players at training to see whether they wanted to face Blackburn this weekend, the response was unanimous.
                      Bolton will then return to Tottenham on Tuesday to replay the FA Cup match with the blessing of Fabrice Muamba's fiancee and family.

Support: Bolton team-mates Nigel Reo-Coker, Darren Pratley and Mark Davies visit on Tuesday

Bolton boss Owen Coyle said: 'We spoke together with the players as a group this morning and I talked with Fabrice's family last night.
                      'Fabrice's father Marcel and his fiancée Shauna were keen that we fulfil our fixtures. Once the players knew this, there was no doubt in our minds that we would play the matches.'
                      It comes as Muamba's amazing recovery from a cardiac arrest has raised hopes he could make a top-flight comeback.
                      Club sources admit they are ‘staggered’ by Muamba’s progress, while team-mates who visited him at the London Chest Hospital left feeling like they had witnessed a ‘miracle’.

Coyle, who has kept a bedside vigil since Muamba collapsed on Saturday evening, spoke to the player on Tuesday.

Although Coyle urged caution over Muamba, who is still in a serious condition in intensive care, he was sufficiently encouraged by the player’s recovery to suggest he could get back to the level at which he performed before the incident.
                      Leader: Bolton captain Kevin Davies arrives with his wife and child

Asked if the doctors believe he could make a full recovery, Coyle said: ‘They say that is something that has happened before. Every case is individual and on its own merits.

‘The two things that Fabrice have that can help him in this battle are that he is such a fit young man and the life he’s had. He’s had to fight every step of the way in his young journey, so those two things I am sure will stand him in good stead. Football pales into insignificance at this moment, as we know, but he’s an outstanding young individual and we pray that he gets back to that level again.’

Players who visited Muamba on Tuesday — including team-mates Kevin Davies, Darren Pratley, Nigel Reo-Coker and Mark Davies, and Tottenham striker Emmanuel Adebayor — were said to be amazed at the progress that he has made.

Back again: Bolton boss Owen Coyle paid another visit to his player Fabrice Muamba this morning

Couple: Fabrice Muamba with fiancee Shauna

Adebayor said: ‘He’s much better, he can talk, that’s the most important thing for me. We almost lost him, today he’s with us again. Glory be to God. We just have to see how he reacts when he gets back on his feet.’

One source told Sportsmail: ‘The players feel the progress Fabrice has made is nothing short of a miracle. After what happened on Saturday, seeing Muamba speak and move was not what they were expecting at all. The players were low after Saturday but those who have visited him feel a lot more upbeat.’

Coyle added: ‘It’s early days, but I’ve spoken to Shauna, his partner, and his dad Marcel about it and where we all were on Saturday night, I would never have envisaged the improvement that has come. I was fortunate to see Fabrice and had a brief conversation. He has still got a long way to go but it’s encouraging.’

According to one friend, Muamba’s biggest concern after waking from his coma was how his team had done in the FA Cup quarter-final in which he collapsed.

Aime Esalo revealed the Bolton midfielder asked his father Marcel: 'Did we lose?' Mr Esalo added: 'When he was told they were drawing, Fabrice asked why they had stopped the game and his father said, "Because of you".'

Muamba’s improvement did not stop Roberto Mancini hitting out on Thursday at what he believes are inadequate medical standards in English football.

The Italian, whose Manchester City side face Chelsea in the Premier League on Wednesday, said: ‘Here in England is the best championship in the world — it’s fantastic — but we need to improve the medical side for the players.

‘We need to screen the players more often, maybe twice a year and more accurately. When I saw our medical system, I was really worried when I arrived two years ago. I said that we had to do it better.
                      ‘It is better in Italy. The medicals for all players are fantastic. The medicals are really strong in Italy during pre-season, for every player, and they happen every six months.

Support: Football remained united behind Muamba as matches took place across the country

‘When I came here and saw all the players in pre-season for their medical, I said to the doctor, “This is not enough for the players”.

‘I felt it was a really light medical. It is not enough. For me, it is not good. It’s impossible that one young guy dies on the pitch because we didn’t do a medical accurately.

‘I want that our players and all the players in the Premier League can have a more accurate medical. Always, not just once a year.’

Under current regulations, players in England are given cardio checks as they work through the youth system. However, this tends to stop when they reach maturity.

Mancini added: ‘In 2012, it can’t be that something happens to a player like on Saturday. It is impossible. This guy is 23. I hope that it will go very well for him and I pray for him because this situation is impossible.’
                      Shock: Owen Coyle and players from both sides show their concern for Fabrice Muamba

Comfort: Gareth Bale gives Jermain Defoe - a close friend of Muamba's - a show of support

Stunned spectators: White Hart Lane emptied in silence

More...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1plmvZ2nd

What a ting. 78 minutes...he can make a post-football career on this incident alone. Good to see he's doing well.

Truly miraculous!!

Miracle Miracle I tell you

I am so happy for him and his family.....dead for 78 minuites and alive again. Stay strong Fabrice.