• Fabrice Muamba collapses on field

Match off after Muamba collapse

Match abandoned by referee Webb after midfielder collapses

Last Updated: March 17, 2012 6:44pm

Sky Bet

Tottenham's FA Cup quarter-final against Bolton has been abandoned after Bolton midfielder Fabrice Muamba suddenly collapsed and had to be carried off on a stretcher.
    With the game locked at 1-1, Muamba collapsed near the halfway line and play was suspended after 41 minutes.
    Amid worrying scenes, six paramedics raced across the pitch and appeared to try to resuscitate the former England Under-21 international.
    Referee Howard Webb made the decision to cancel the game after the incident.
    Bolton boss Owen Coyle also joined the paramedics as they tended to Muamba and players from both sides looked visibly upset as the midfielder received treatment.
    Muamba, 23, was carried off on a stretcher after receiving six minutes of treatment.
    He was wearing an oxygen mask and was flanked by a number of paramedics and Bolton medical staff as he left the pitch. The player was then taken to hospital.
    Commentating on ESPN, John Barnes said: "From the players' reaction on both sides it seemed that things were pretty serious."
    Kevin Keegan added: "Jermain Defoe seemed absolutely distraught.
    "The fans are in a state of shock. I've never seen anything like that on a football pitch before.
    "Our hearts go out to his family."

I wish him well, i hope and pray the lad will be ok.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
      I wish him well, i hope and pray the lad will be ok.

Shades of Man City Midfielder Marc-Vivien when he collapsed on the pitch. Remember thinking at the time the physical demands of Premier league football is literally killing players with the amount of running required, and especially if yr in midfield.
      Hopefully he'll will recover from this and be doing the business back on the pitch again.
      Suh get well soon Patrice.

Yeah ... wish him a speedy recovery. Soccernet said he is stable, hope his condition improves from there.

Muamba 'critically ill'

Midfielder in intensive care after collapsing at White Hart Lane

Last Updated: March 17, 2012 9:53pm

Bolton have announced that Fabrice Muamba is 'in a critically ill condition in intensive care' after collapsing at White Hart Lane on Saturday.
          The 23-year-old collapsed to the turf during the Trotters' FA Cup quarter-final contest with Tottenham.
          Medical staff spent 10 minutes tending to Muamba on the field as they attempted to resuscitate him.
          He was stretchered off and rushed to hospital, with the game abandoned after 41 minutes.
          Muamba, a former England U21 international, was taken to the London Chest Hospital in Bethnal Green - just nine miles from White Hart Lane.
          Players, coaching staff, match officials and supporters were visibly shaken by the events, with concern expressed from all corners of the sporting community.
          Bolton have confirmed that Muamba suffered a heart attack on the field of play and is currently being cared for by specialists.
          "Bolton Wanderers can confirm that Fabrice Muamba has been admitted to the heart attack centre at London Chest hospital where he is currently in a critically ill condition in intensive care," read a statement on the club's official website.
          "No further information will be issued at this stage. The club has requested the media to respect his family's privacy at this time."

sad indeed. Wish him and family all the best.

I was watching the game and went to deal with something around the 39' mark. When I came back 10 mins later, I saw the hullabalu...bwoy...what a ting. Hope the youth will stay alive and come back to play again. Wish him well.

I wish him a speedy recovery and my heart goes to him and

his family. It was was one of the saddest things I've ever witnessed.

I was almost in tears when I saw what was happening, him shaking on the ground while the medical crew was trying to roll him over. The faces on the fans said it all. It was a relief when I saw on twitter sometime later that he was breathing again.

I read that the reason the camera did not focus on the medics...was that they were doing mouth to mouth--and did not want to startle the audience.

But this may be my third time seeing this type of incident during a match.

I recall a similar incident during the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Trinidad. Also, (I forget the competition) but an African player succumb to the same mishap.

It was really sad to watch. At first I thought he was have siezure and swallowed his tongue.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Just a month after his heart stopped on the pitch, Muamba heads home from hospital with a smile on his face

By Sportsmail Reporter
                      PUBLISHED: 15:58, 16 April 2012 | UPDATED: 17:32, 16 April 2012
                      Fabrice Muamba has paid tribute to the doctors who saved his life after being discharged from hospital on Monday afternoon.
                      The Bolton midfielder has been recovering since suffering a cardiac arrest on the pitch during his side's match with Tottenham at White Hart Lane on March 17.
                      Muamba said: 'I am naturally very pleased to be discharged from hospital and would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to every single member of staff at the London Chest Hospital who have played a part in my care.

Recovery: Fabrice Muamba with Dr Andrew Deaner (left) and Dr Sam Mohiddin as he is discharged

'Their dedication, professionalism and expertise is simply amazing and I will forever be in their debt. I also wish to say thank you to all the many well-wishers who have sent thousands of messages of support.
                      'Now I am out of hospital, I am looking forward to continuing my recovery and spending precious time with my family.'
                      Muamba's discharge is the next step in what has so far been a remarkable recovery for the former England Under 21 international, who effectively died for 78 minutes after his heart stopped beating.

Battle: Doctors fought to save Muamba on the pitch at White Hart Lane

The picture we all wanted to see: This was the first photo of Muamba sitting up in hospital during his recovery

Muamba collapsed in the 41st minute of the match, which was subsequently abandoned, and medical staff desperately worked to save the player's life on the pitch before he was rushed to hospital.
                      The former Arsenal and Birmingham midfielder received 15 defibrillator shocks.

Bolton manager Owen Coyle said: 'It is absolutely fantastic news that Fabrice has been discharged from hospital and everyone at the club is delighted.
                      'We would also like to add our thanks to the staff at The London Chest Hospital for their care and treatment of Fabrice, which has been outstanding.

Football family: Muamba received messages of support from all over the world

Support: Bolton players wore Muamba shirts before facing Blackburn last month

'It is important that Fabrice and his family are now given time and space to be together, and we would ask the media to continue to respect their privacy.'
                      A spokesman for Barts Health NHS Trust said: 'Barts Health can confirm that Fabrice Muamba has now been discharged following several weeks of treatment. All our staff wish him the very best in his ongoing recovery.'
                      Muamba's recovery has previously been described as 'miraculous' by Dr Andrew Deaner, the cardiologist who leapt from his seat among his fellow Tottenham fans to assist him on the pitch at White Hart Lane.
                      It is still not known, though, whether he will ever play again.
                      Messages of support and goodwill flooded in for Muamba after the shocking incident, while moving tributes were held at games across the country.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1sE03UJvS

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                        Just a month after his heart stopped on the pitch, Muamba heads home from hospital with a smile on his face

By Sportsmail Reporter
                        PUBLISHED: 15:58, 16 April 2012 | UPDATED: 17:32, 16 April 2012
                        Fabrice Muamba has paid tribute to the doctors who saved his life after being discharged from hospital on Monday afternoon.
                        The Bolton midfielder has been recovering since suffering a cardiac arrest on the pitch during his side's match with Tottenham at White Hart Lane on March 17.
                        Muamba said: 'I am naturally very pleased to be discharged from hospital and would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to every single member of staff at the London Chest Hospital who have played a part in my care.

Recovery: Fabrice Muamba with Dr Andrew Deaner (left) and Dr Sam Mohiddin as he is discharged

'Their dedication, professionalism and expertise is simply amazing and I will forever be in their debt. I also wish to say thank you to all the many well-wishers who have sent thousands of messages of support.
                        'Now I am out of hospital, I am looking forward to continuing my recovery and spending precious time with my family.'
                        Muamba's discharge is the next step in what has so far been a remarkable recovery for the former England Under 21 international, who effectively died for 78 minutes after his heart stopped beating.

Battle: Doctors fought to save Muamba on the pitch at White Hart Lane

The picture we all wanted to see: This was the first photo of Muamba sitting up in hospital during his recovery

Muamba collapsed in the 41st minute of the match, which was subsequently abandoned, and medical staff desperately worked to save the player's life on the pitch before he was rushed to hospital.
                        The former Arsenal and Birmingham midfielder received 15 defibrillator shocks.

Bolton manager Owen Coyle said: 'It is absolutely fantastic news that Fabrice has been discharged from hospital and everyone at the club is delighted.
                        'We would also like to add our thanks to the staff at The London Chest Hospital for their care and treatment of Fabrice, which has been outstanding.

Football family: Muamba received messages of support from all over the world

Support: Bolton players wore Muamba shirts before facing Blackburn last month

'It is important that Fabrice and his family are now given time and space to be together, and we would ask the media to continue to respect their privacy.'
                        A spokesman for Barts Health NHS Trust said: 'Barts Health can confirm that Fabrice Muamba has now been discharged following several weeks of treatment. All our staff wish him the very best in his ongoing recovery.'
                        Muamba's recovery has previously been described as 'miraculous' by Dr Andrew Deaner, the cardiologist who leapt from his seat among his fellow Tottenham fans to assist him on the pitch at White Hart Lane.
                        It is still not known, though, whether he will ever play again.
                        Messages of support and goodwill flooded in for Muamba after the shocking incident, while moving tributes were held at games across the country.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1sE03UJvS

Good news to read bout Muamba leaving hospital. What i'll be interested in seeing is how long it will take the club Dr/medics to give the green light for him to play again. Thinking about it i have some reservations, but wait and see.

credit to the FA for having in place the means to have saved his life ... another footballer died from cardiac arrest this weekend ...

What i dont get is if you have heart failure/problems during the rigorous exertions of a game, how you can hope to return to do the same level of physical exertions without risking a repeat of the same heart problem occurring.

Muamba might not play again... for that reason (speculation on my part).