• Cantona: USA's Barcelona-like talent will win World Cup

Cantona Tips U.S. for World Cup Glory - Soon

18:55 08/03/2012
    BARCELONA, March 8 (RIA Novosti)

French football star Eric Cantona on Thursday likened the talent coming through in the United States to that of FC Barcelona, boldly stating the country will have a World Cup-winning team within 20 years.

The former Manchester United striker made the prediction at the Global Sports Forum in the Catalan capital.

"In 20 years this country is going to win the World Cup," said Cantona, 45, the director of football for the New York Cosmos whose rolls include guiding talented youngsters into the game's top echelons.

"If in 15 years this country gets to the quarterfinals or semifinals, we will be very proud of that," he said. "I have seen nine-year-olds here do incredible things, they are really exceptional."

Footall is making popularity inroads in America but still lags far behind the national sports of American football, basketball and baseball.

Team U.S.A. has qualified for every World Cup since 1990 after a barren 40 years century devoid of even moderate success.
    Cantona scored 64 goals in 144 appearances between 1992 and 1997 for Manchester United, whose fans voted him their greatest-ever player in a subsequent United program poll.
    Last edited by Don1; March 11, 2012, 06:49 PM.

yeah yeah yeah...heard it all before...

Cantona did involve in a bad heading accident ?

It is not that far-fetched especially for a WC held outside Europe or South America which would be at the earliest (after russia and qatar) in 2026. If that WC or WC 2030 is in the US, Canada (slim chance), Asia, Australia or even Mexico, the US would have a decent chance. Twenty years from now, we are going to see a very different US soccer team than the one we see today...and it will be better...much better. All that said, the US could be a surprise in Qatar. Still, you will never hear me chanting USA! USA! I jus' cyan bring me-self fi dweet like HL an' Zeppo.

Yuh tink is suh winning World Cup guh ?

Steeuups..

Yuh tink is suh winning World Cup guh ?

Steeuups..
            Of course not...but 20 years is a long time from now, and playing outside SA and Europe are major factors. The point is that the US are getting better, not worse. When athletes that now play American sports like basketball and American football chose soccer instead, there will be an impact on America's standing on world football -- lord knows they have an amazing infrastructure.

How many teams have won the World Cup ?

You really believe USA could be #1 in the World for say 2 years going into a World Cup.. 20 years from now ?

What the other teams going to be doing over those 20 years ??

Steeups..

It is not that far-fetched especially for a WC held outside Europe or South America which would be at the earliest (after russia and qatar) in 2026. If that WC or WC 2030 is in the US, Canada (slim chance), Asia, Australia or even Mexico, the US would have a decent chance. Twenty years from now, we are going to see a very different US soccer team than the one we see today...and it will be better...much better. All that said, the US could be a surprise in Qatar. Still, you will never hear me chanting USA! USA! I jus' cyan bring me-self fi dweet like HL an' Zeppo.
                Agreed! (..on all points! ) ...said it before the talent is there in the USA to produce team to compete at the TOP OF THE WORLD. That talent is presently being ignored...could be a class, fren-fren/money connection ting?

Jurgen Klinsmann may just have started to fast-forward the process of using the best available talent? ...paying no attention to class or finanacial status from which the talent originates...?

Aside: Having said that TALENT ABOUNDS (in Jamaica) and we can also do it! Quality Leadership and Quality teachers/coaches required!!!