Kean ready to fight for Hoilett

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/st...oilett?cc=5901

March 22, 2012
    Email Print
    By ESPN staff
    Blackburn Rovers manager Steve Kean is determined to keep star forward Junior Hoilett out of the clutches of Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur.

GettyImages
    Junior Hoilett grabbed two goals as Blackburn won 2-0 at Wolves
    Hoilett, 21, has inspired Blackburn's climb up the table in recent weeks, with Kean's men now five points above the relegation places - although they have played a game more than Bolton, who hold 18th spot.

Hoilett is out of contract at the end of the season and there is no sign of a new deal being agreed, leading to links with the top teams. But Kean remains hopeful he can persuade Hoilett to stay if Blackburn can preserve their Premier League status.

"We hope we can get ourselves to a position of safety and make him an offer," Kean said in the Metro. "We want him to stay here. He is playing out of his skin."

Hoilett, who has been moved from the wing to play in a central role behind striker Yakubu, has scored six Premier League goals this term.

Right and wi know how dat did guh

the impression I got was that there may have been dialogue with the player but they are leaving it to him to demonstrate commitment to the programme... it sounds like they are saying they have been "burnt" in the past by players who did not either come through for the RBZ or jumped off the bandwagon.

I agree with you that if there are quality players out there they should be targeted and actively recruited... and let the chips fall where they may.

the impression I got was that there may have been dialogue with the player but they are leaving it to him to demonstrate commitment to the programme... it sounds like they are saying they have been "burnt" in the past by players who did not either come through for the RBZ or jumped off the bandwagon.

I agree with you that if there are quality players out there they should be targeted and actively recruited... and let the chips fall where they may.
          Peter my problem with the recruitment process is the situation where we full up the squad with ordinary players from League 1 and League 2, that make no sense at all these guys are no better than what we have already. I would like to see 4 premiership class players to compliment what we already have, we have enough players playing professionally in the USA and Europe we just need 4 or 5 quality players down the spine of our team!!

As mi say we nuh want nuh quantity, we have that already, we need quality.

Get Junior Hoilet, Karl Henry and a good defender and we nuh nuh need nobody else. Ship tighten up.

Them need fi convince Hoilet fi come run out fi we.

As mi say we nuh want nuh quantity, we have that already, we need quality.

Get Junior Hoilet, Karl Henry and a good defender and we nuh nuh need nobody else. Ship tighten up.

Them need fi convince Hoilet fi come run out fi we.
              Hoilett would be ideal playing behind the strikers, especially with us struggling with creativity.

you got that right and Henry wearing his HEART on his sleaves in the right above the center halfs and doing the dirty work.

We could do with a quality finisher to make the same impact as Deon Burton did in the 98 campaign plus 1 quality centre half. Jermaine Beckford would be my choice for a finisher.

The thing is we have a good amount of decent finisher, not any clinical but decent ones with speed eg. Omar Cummings, Ryan Johnson. We can score on almost anybody in the region, it is creating the goals and defending I am worried about.

Don't forget Marlon King, who is our best finisher.

BUT BUT BUT .... they have to want to play for us and take those steps. whether or not they decide to play for us, the first step is getting a passport .....

somehow i do not think that it is a question for the JFF but for the players, do they want to play. makes no sense calling them if they don't want to play. what i am saying is that so far is pure "hearseh" which is dfferent from "hearsay" .... in other words i see them flying but they got no place to land ...

From the Toronto Sun:

Not qualifying for next year’s final round would be a disaster in any number of ways, including likely losing the chance of getting some valuable reinforcements in the years to come, most notably Queens Park Rangers star Junior Hoilett. If Jamaica, which is in tied with the U.S. and Guatemala for the lead in another CONCACAF group, advances and Canada does not, Hoilett will more than likely play for Jamaica — and that will have ramifications for Canada going forward.
                          http://www.torontosun.com/2012/09/13...-it-up-a-notch

As I stated 6 months ago in this thread: "He could very well end up sitting on the fence and waiting to see how things take shape for the Hexagonal." Which seems to be exactly what he's doing.

What will be interesting is to see what he does if both Jamaica and Canada advance to the Hex. (Or if neither of them should make it...)

if neither make it what DO you think he will do? DUH!

Now Hoilett as signed is 50,000 pounds per week conract at QPR and Canada have no chance of making the World Cup, will he now commit to the Reggae Boyz programme? Just asking!