Liverpool's Pepe Reina caught up in race row

• Liverpool's Pepe Reina caught up in race row

Liverpool keeper Reina caught up in race storm after offensive Spanish TV ad is pulled

By Ian Ladyman
    Last updated at 10:32 PM on 29th February 2012

Liverpool were unwittingly linked to another race issue last night when a television advert featuring their goalkeeper Pepe Reina was taken off the air in Spain.

Spanish multinational insurance company Groupama has been forced by British pressure group Operation Black Vote to pull the advert that showed Reina seemingly being inducted into a black jungle tribe.

In the advert, the Liverpool goalkeeper — whose surname means ‘Queen’ in Spanish — is chosen as a partner by the tribal chief.

OBV director Simon Woolley said: ‘I’m shocked on so many levels.’

Though the advert has nothing to do with Liverpool and was made without their consent, input or knowledge, its timing is unfortunate, coming so soon after the Luis Suarez/Patrice Evra affair.

Reina: In action for Liverpool in their recent clash with Spurs at Anfield

In a statement on OBV’s website, Woolley said: ‘How would the Spanish feel if the English stereotyped Spanish people as backward, stupid and animalistic homosexuals?

‘What does this say about Pepe Reina? (He) has lived and worked in the UK for nearly a decade, does he think it’s ok to characterise black people this way?

‘Does he think his black team-mates will laugh at his joke?’

Liverpool declined to comment last night.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1nqngOSsX

Here is the group of all adverts in the series Pepe participated in. The one that they are talking about here is at the very end. Koptalk.com claims the ad was NOT pulled as suggested by the British media.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdoHlxcbyDU

Don't see racism...I see gayness...

This is probably another plot by SAG to discredit Liverpool. Don't fall for it guys. The tentacles of those out to get Liverpool spread far and wide.

Don't see racism...I see gayness...
          The point of the commercials is that no matter what the situation, he is safe with that bank, so to me, this is much ado about nothing except I am not gay, so I can't speak to whether the commercial is offensive to a gay person or not. On the racism front, would white people see it as racist if the tribe was a bunch of white cave men eating meat off a bone as big as your leg?

On the racism front, would white people see it as racist if the tribe was a bunch of white cave men eating meat off a bone as big as your leg?
            By making a point like that you have missed the historical context of black people being depicted in a demeaning manner. A white student association can not be viewed in the same light like a black student association.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              By making a point like that you have missed the historical context of black people being depicted in a demeaning manner. A white student association can not be viewed in the same light like a black student association.
              And when will we ever have parity? I would rather have it now than after I am dead. History should never be forgotten or ignored, but history can also deter progress.

When I was in Canada in University in 1982, I joined - simultaneously - both Hillel (the Jewish Students Organization) and the Arab Students Association. I think I was the first person in the history of that school to have done that. It was clear to me that I was not welcomed in one of these clubs, even though school rules forbid discrimination (i.e. anyone can join any club). But I showed up to all the meetings anyway, and made friends little by little.

Still, the majority of the members of that organization were so burdened by their own harsh history that they viewed me with great suspicion (maybe they were all Mancs!!) and were unable or unwilling to accept someone different amongst them (me) who meant no harm and was simply trying to learn their perspective on a troubling conflict. Membership in the other club made it clear that the problems would not be solved easily, as both sides were unable to move past their perspectives on "history".

So while I agree that depicting any group of people in a demeaning manner is not cool, regardless of the context - present or historical - I also believe I cannot be offended unless I allow people to "get to me". To my way of thinking, I have a choice as to whether I will let someone offend me or not, regardless of their intentions and regardless of context. Maybe this is why I am not easily put off by things like this and give people the benefit of the doubt, which - right or wrong - gives me parity (or maybe the illusion of parity, but it works for me). Now, dealing with Jangle - that's truly offensive!! You only have to look at this board to see the "historical context". :johncrowvomit:

Peace.

I am now convinced that you a bi-polar or just plain schizophrenic. Dem shoulda juss kick yuh out a dem club as a spy.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am now convinced that you a bi-polar or just plain schizophrenic. Dem shoulda juss kick yuh out a dem club as a spy.
                  If they had done that, I would have disguised myself and comeback anyway ...LOL!!! To the simpletons, such actions are no question unconscionable, maybe a bit crazy...but such is the burden of brilliance! And of course, I did accomplish my objective, simple understanding...something I have not been able to bring myself to when dealing with Mancs!!