• Tuffy' Anderson puzzled by Reggae Boyz omission

Tuffy' Anderson puzzled by Reggae Boyz omission
    Published: Sunday | February 19, 2012

Ryon Jones, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Jamaica Football Federation General Secretary, Horace Reid, has made it clear that the age of a player is not a deterrent for their inclusion in the national football programme.

"There is no such policy," Reid highlighted. "The national programme does not have a policy of restriction; you are never too young and you're never too old," he added.

Based on Reid's argument, selection for the football programme should be based on merit and performance. With this being the case, Waterhouse's top marksman Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson is left questioning why he is not in the current pool of players that features in the Reggae Boyz squad.

"I think they should give me my full chance right now, because everybody else gets their full chance, so give me my full chance," Anderson bemoaned. "When I lay down in the night, I have be asking God what else can I do, because I don't know what else to do right now."

He added: "(A lot of) players get called who are not performing more than me and I am performing and showing them that I can work for the country. I am really going through a hard time right now."

The 32-year-old player has been wondering if his age has anything to do with him not being drafted into the programme.

"In Europe, you have players playing who are 35, 38, and they play in even the World Cup," Anderson pointed out. "I am a good, strong player and I am in good form and ready to deliver the job," he added.

Consistent striker
    The centre forward is one of the most consistent strikers in local football and is currently tied with two other players for most goals scored in the league to date. Anderson, Tivoli Gardens' Romeo Parkes and Village United's Dino Williams have all netted 10 goals.

Parkes and Williams form part of a predominately locally based squad which has been convened to prepare for two international friendlies against Cuba on February 22 and 24.

Other locally based attacking players that play in forward roles that have been invited include Tramaine Stewart, Mitchily Waul and Navion Boyd, who have scored seven, five and four goals, respectively.

Anderson also netted eight goals in the Claro Cup to emerge as the leading scorer and lead Waterhouse to the final where they lost out to Arnett Gardens. He also managed one goal in two Jackie Bell games.

"When plenty of them in their beds sleeping, I have to be running up Queen's Hill in the morning, 5:30, because I have to be working harder than how the coach is working," Anderson revealed. "I can score in every match. I don't see any boy in the league to hold me right now, I don't see any defence to hold me right now," he added.

The robust striker has tasted international football before being called to the programme by coach Carl Brown back in 2002, where he scored on debut against India. John Barnes also gave the striker a look in when he was at the helm of the programme, but Anderson has been in the wilderness for the past four years.

Reid stated that the technical staff, headed by Theodore Whitmore, is in the best position to comment on the issue, but efforts to reach Whitmore proved futile.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports9.html

A pity he wasted his best years with his stupidity.

I can never understand how the president and the gen sec of an FA can comment about player selection. Isn't that the sole prerogative of the Manager or Head Coach.

isn't that what reid said in effect?

Nice guy

Originally posted by Me View Post
          A pity he wasted his best years with his stupidity.

Nice guy but no speed and plays single mind. Is good enough for the leagues in Jamaica and he'll stay there for awhile if he keeps his fitness. I know as I coached him at WFC last year in a few sessions when Baris Johnson was the coach.

He is now 32. When he was in his twenties, he wasted his opportunities with his nonsense. He had the physical ability to play at a higher level than the local league.

Niew to Know

Originally posted by Me View Post
              He is now 32. When he was in his twenties, he wasted his opportunities with his nonsense. He had the physical ability to play at a higher level than the local league.
              I heard that but never witness it. He told me he was from MoBay area and never really had the coaching to develop. Still a nice guy

it puzzles me that it puzzles him ....

LOL.

the player i want to know about is Dino Williams from Village... sickko Mo, lionespaw,,, any info?

ban the ANAL guy nuh