• Costa Rica, Panama friendlies for Reggae Boyz

Costa Rica, Panama friendlies for Reggae Boyz

Published: Tuesday | February 14, 2012

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

The Reggae Boyz are set to enter their Brazil 2012 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign on a high, after it was revealed yesterday that they will play Costa Rica and Panama at the National Stadium on March 21 and May 27.

The matches, which were secured by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) President, Captain Horace Burrell, earlier this week, will see the Boyz thus competing in five friendly internationals before opening their campaign on June 8 against Guatemala at the National Stadium.

The other matches that were previously confirmed are two home fixtures against Cuba - next week Wednesday and Friday at the National Stadium and the Montego Bay Sports Complex, respectively - and an away game against potential play-off challenger New Zealand on February 29.

"As we continue our preparations for the start of our World Cup campaign, it gives us great pleasure to announce that we have confirmed another two friendlies," said Burrell at a JFF press conference yesterday, where it was also announced that Digicel would renew their sponsorship of the national football programme.

"The hope is that stemming from these games, we will be well rehearsed for our opener against Guatemala," he added.

Jamaica and Guatemala have been drawn in Group A of CONCACAF's semi-final round qualifying stage along with the United States and Antigua and Barbuda.

The top two teams from the group will advance to the six-team final round from which the top three teams will advance to Brazil.

The team finishing fourth will enter into a play-off with the winner of the Oceanic region, which was represented at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Meanwhile, it was also announced yesterday that overseas-based Ryan Johnson, Jevaughn Watson, and Jermaine Taylor will join the Boyz squad on February 19 for the February 22 Cuba friendly.

The trio will join members of a local-based cadre of players who returned to a training camp yesterday.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports2.html

Very good practice matches. It would be good if we could get two more matches with two South American teams - Venezuela and Colombia or Ecuador
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Will we ever see Claude Davis, Damion Stewart, Ricardo Fuller, Devon Hodges, Jamal Campbell-Ryce and all those others suit up for Jamaica again?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jangle a wha year we inna, 2012 or 2002?

Good games indeed & Panama almost always beats Jamaica and owns us, and Costa Rica will let us know how much we need fi improve to be competitive.

Indeed!!!

Get past Costa Rica and Panama before begging for South American teams.

When is Tappa going to take a look at all the Euro-based players (most in England and Scotland, one in Germany (LOL) that have never played for The Reggae Boyz?

Good move. The only problem I have with Jamaica in the past is the fact that they play these quality exhibition games with a bunch of local jokers, who usually play below par and that invariably results in decrease support for the team at home and abroad. Given that Panama and Costa Rica play better ball than we do, I think that a "full" Jamaican team could get great experience playing against these teams in preparation for WC qual.