and i am saying it ought not to be if for no other reason than because the black stars was not controversial.
Suppose a team from let's say
Here goes:
Flag of GhanaFrom Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaJump to: navigation, search
Ghana
Use National flag and state ensign
Proportion 2:3
Adopted 1957 (readopted 1966)
Design Horizontal tricolour of red, gold, and green, with a black star in the center
Designed by Theodosia Okoh
Variant flag of Ghana
Use Civil ensign
Design A red field with the national flag, fimbriated in black, in the canton
Variant flag of Ghana
Use Naval ensign
Design Red St. George cross on white ensign, with the national flag in canton.
Ghana flags flying in AccraThe flag of Ghana was designed to replace the flag of the United Kingdom upon attainment of independence in 1957. It was flown until 1959, and then reinstated in 1966. It consists of the Pan-African colours of red, yellow, and green, in horizontal stripes, with a black five-pointed star in the centre of the gold stripe. The Ghanaian flag was the first African flag after the flag of Ethiopia to feature these colours.
The black star was adopted from the flag of the Black Star Line, a shipping line incorporated by Marcus Garvey that operated from 1919 to 1922.,[1] and gives the Ghana national football team their nickname, the Black Stars.
The red represents the blood of those who died in the country's struggle for independence, the gold represents the mineral wealth of the country, the green symbolises the country's rich forests and natural wealth, and the black star stands for "the lodestar of African freedom".[citation needed]
The flag's design influenced that of the flag of Guinea-Bissau (1973).
Originally posted by Gamma View Postand i am saying it ought not to be if for no other reason than because the black stars was not controversial."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
There is a very esteem club in Toronto called the Serbian White Eagles.. Nothing racist about it ! but when they play against Croatia or any of the Yugoslavian breakaway countries it matters culturally.... The name in of intelf is not racist to the general public but culturally to the people who been warring in that home country it has meaning. But I dont see how that to do with your defense of your position... I tell you, you are reaching.. What happen Mo jump ship... x left you in it..
I am half Polish (mother's side of the family.) I think "The Polka Boyz" would be more appropriate.
The Polish FA uses a falcon for its logo. www.pzpn.pl
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostWell, this article says they are called "The Black Stars" to "specifically to reflect the aspirations of the black race". Would that be okay then, for the Polish team to be named "The White Stars" to "specifically to reflect the aspirations of the white race"?
http://ghanaian-chronicle.com/news/l...tells-its-own/
Originally posted by OJ View PostThere is a very esteem club in Toronto called the Serbian White Eagles.. Nothing racist about it ! but when they play against Croatia or any of the Yugoslavian breakaway countries it matters culturally.... The name in of intelf is not racist to the general public but culturally to the people who been warring in that home country it has meaning. But I dont see how that to do with your defense of your position... I tell you, you are reaching.. What happen Mo jump ship... x left you in it..
It was just a question OJ. Nothing more."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Rockman View PostShould there be a black history month?Last edited by Paul Marin; February 14, 2012, 02:08 PM."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
of course... so far it's been all "white history" so to speak, and black people especially those of us who (man would seh mi not all black racially but politically I have to be) live on this side of the world have very little real appreciation of black history. It is an attempt to put things right. Ultimately, we shouldn't need it... hopefully.Peter R